We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Waves Oceanfront Resort
Ranked #20 of 44 Hotels in Old Orchard Beach
KROOZ1
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful location”
Reviewed 10 October 2013

My wife and I recently took a road trip from the Boston area to enjoy the fall colors. We drove into New Hampshire on the 93 and eventually turned eastward into Maine, ending up at the picturesque town of Old Orchard Beach. Our second floor room had a balcony and view of the ocean. It was early October, the off-season, so there were no crowds, and the vista of the ocean here is spectacular. This is the most extensive white-sand beach in Maine, and it is pristine - you'd never guess there were thousands of sunbathers and swimmers here just a few weeks ago.

Our room was well-maintained, clean and comfortable, with a vaulted wooden ceiling, large flatscreen TV, and coffeemaker and refrigerator. When we checked in, the desk staff were very cheerful and welcoming, taking the time to explain the layout of the resort and its facilities. Ken, the manager, also went out of his way to make us feel like honored guests - he was very knowledgeable about the local area and its attractions. We will definitely come here again.

Room Tip: Try to get that ocean view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KROOZ1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wavesoceanfront, General Manager at Waves Oceanfront Resort, responded to this review, 18 December 2013
Dear guest, Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We do love Old Orchard Beach as well as all of Maine. Our mindset is to try and treat each one of our guests' as if they were staying in our own home. Please do not hesitate to stay with us again when you are in the area. We look forward to it!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

302 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    94
    101
    57
    25
    25
See reviews for
152
74
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Lisbon, New Hampshire, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 September 2013

we have been going here for the last three years tied out there oceanfront rooms and also have tried there cottages out does not matter were you stay wonderful place.Love the elephant and swan made out of towels and washclothes not every rooms have it but if you call and request it i am sure they will do it.

Room Tip: make sure you ask for the ocean view so nice to have the screen shut and listen to the ocean
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Crystal M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Cruces, New Mexico
Level Contributor
80 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2013

Stay here over the Labor Day week. It was a nice place. The staff were friendly and helpful and they seem to work all day keeping the resort area clean. The room I had was very basic, it had a two queen beds, it also had a large refrigerator, a small stove and a sink. Also there were some basic pots and pans and plates and silverware, if you decided to cook. The pool was different as it was a salt water pool, it was very nice. From the hotel it was less then the a 5 min walk to the beach, which made it easy to enjoy time at the beach. Also the hotel is about a 5 - 7 min to main street where the peir and amusment park is. If you are looking for the hotel in the style of the Marriott or Hyatt this is not it. But if you are looking for a nice place to stay within walking distance to most stuff in Old Orchard this is the place.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hondo1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2013

We had been travelling up through southern Maine looking for somewhere to stay, and were very pleased to find an ocean front room here, reasonably priced. The staff were very helpful and friendly and whilst this is not a luxury room it has a great view of the ocean with a deck and is close enough to hear the waves. There's a nice pool and hot tub and we were happy to find a laundry area so we could wash clothes.

The room itself would benefit from updating but has a microwave, stove, fridge and table etc so is pretty well equipped. Didn't notice the trains particularly but since the line runs parallel to the sea I would imagine most lodgings along this road have the same issue. Decent value.

Room Tip: Ask for ocean front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank S M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sherbrooke, Canada
Level Contributor
38 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2013

This was not our first stay at the waves, and it certainly won't be the last. We were off season, so we got a great deal on the room (about 1/3 of the peak season price). Even if we were 2 weeks after the end of the peak season, the pool was still heated, and the spa still heated and open. We enjoyed both, and thought it was amazing they kept heating them for so few customers. We were in building G, 2nd floor, and could watch the beach and the sea from our balcony. We were just above the grill, and patio area, and had a full kitchen. We ate amazing meals that we cooked ourselves on the grills, and/or the stove/ stovetop in the room. It seems they clean the grills everyday, as we used them a lot, and they were always clean. There was also a full size fridge in the room. The beds were comfortable, and although it was not decorated like the Ritz-Carlton, we thought the rooms were very adequate.

We WILL be back, and recommend it to anybody who wants a great location in OOB at a decent price (at least off/season)

BTW, everyone there was very helpfull, and everyone smilled, and greated you whenever you passed them. They go out their way to make sure everything is fine.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank QuebecFrank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2013

we spend 3 night in august at the waves on are way home from boston,first thing blood on the bed cover,smell in room,not very clean room,staff empty the coffee pot in the morning and leave guests waiting,i send 3 e mail to complain was told it was send to regional manager still waiting for reply,i don't understand why anybody would give this place a 5 rating, I hunt and my hunting cottage is a lot cleaner then those room.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank claude s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wavesoceanfront, General Manager at Waves Oceanfront Resort, responded to this review, 1 November 2013
These comments are not correct. Our rooms are among the cleanest in Old Orchard Beach. I would never suggest anyone but myself respond to complaints about our hotel. I personally address each and every issue that occures at my property. I would never suggest a "regional manager" would contact you as I am on property all the time. Please feel free to contact me directly at the Waves at 207-934-4949 if there are any questions comments or concerns.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Old Orchard Beach hotels

Louisville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
116 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2013

I found this hotel through the Maine vacation guide. It was more reasonably priced for the accommodations than anything else in Old Orchard Beach. Somehow, however, I missed others' comments on the noisy trains. The positives about the hotel are completely overshadowed by the noise of the trains at night. The train tracks are literally across the street from this hotel (and nearly every other hotel along the main road) and the first night we awoke at least six times to train whistles as they came through town. Very frustrating.

As for the room itself, we chose the "relaxation room" because I have back problems and the kingsize tempur-pedic mattress and massaging chairs sounded like a good deal. Well, it's hard to relax when your room and private balcony face the aforementioned railroad tracks and main road through town. As already mentioned, you get to wake up every time a train rolls through town during the night, as well as whenever noisy people walk below your room. Also, there is no privacy curtain over the large glass sliding doors which face the street and rooms right across the street. So you must be fully dressed at all times if you have the curtains open. By the way, the tempur-pedic mattress is not all it's made out to be. Much harder than I expected and none of us felt they were very comfortable to sleep on.

Positive of the room/hotel is proximity to the beach. Just a few steps and you're there. Also, there is a heated outdoor pool which other guests said was quite comfortable. We never used it but did take advantage of the on-sight laundry facilities. Cost was $2.00 per wash and $1.00 for over an hour of drying. Very reasonable, especially compared to the town laundromat down the street and convenient to have on the premises. Having a kitchenette was good, but it was small with only a two-burner stove and small refrigerator - too small for anything tall to fit, but for just three nights it worked. They do provide ample toiletry supplies, as well as a hair dryer. The front desk was also very helpful in providing a large pot for us to cook our own lobster in in our room!

Cons not already listed: the rooms are dated, even with the modern chair and bed. The bathroom is small with little area to put out toiletries as you are using them. Towels are plentiful but quite thin. Room could be configured a bit better by hanging the TV and having more table/desk area since the room is meant for four. The kitchenette is extremely small and not conducive to any kind of meal preparation. Really only good for snacks.

Not sure we would stay here again if we came to OOB again. Really loved the beach but not the noisy trains at night!

Room Tip: If you can afford an ocean-view room, get one so you are as far away as possible from the railroad t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FarmRescueVolunteer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wavesoceanfront, General Manager at Waves Oceanfront Resort, responded to this review, 25 October 2013
We appreciate your review but feel as though it is very unfair to give such a low rating when your big complaint is about the location of the railroad tracks and not with our hotel. As you stated the train tracks do run down the entire length of Old Orchard Beach. There is not a hotel in town that is on the Ocean that can avoid that fact. For people coming to Old Orchard for the first time it is defiantly something that they notice. As for your room not having privacy curtains. That is unbelievable. All of our rooms have curtains and unless yours were taken down to be laundered and forgotten about; it just seems like a strange thing to be missing. Obviously, with a single call to the front desk we would have replaced the drapes. Our guests comfort including their privacy we take very seriously. We are sorry you did not enjoy the new massage chair and brand new Tempurpedic beds. Again, we do not understand why you would suggest these are outdated as they are the brand new. The towels we purchase new as well and will confidently put their quality up against any other hotel in Old Orchard Beach. The 42-inch flat screen TV could be put on the wall but we do not believe that it would save on any space. The kitchenette was described as being too small for meal preparation yet you boiled lobster in the room. We suggest that description is confusing. Again, we feel your review is unfair. We are confident that the quality of our rooms match anything else in Old Orchard and invite you to come back and try us again. However, we can also recommend Lafayette’s Oceanfront Resort in Wells Maine, or the Norseman Oceanfront Resort in Ogunquit Maine both towns do not have train tracks running down the length of the beach so your sleep will be more peaceful.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Old Orchard Beach hotels
0.1 mi away
Old Colonial Motel
Old Colonial Motel
#18 of 44 in Old Orchard Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 160 reviews
1.0 mi away
Alouette Beach Resort
Alouette Beach Resort
#10 of 44 in Old Orchard Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 427 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Edgewater
The Edgewater
#6 of 44 in Old Orchard Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Ocean Walk Hotel
Ocean Walk Hotel
#11 of 44 in Old Orchard Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 199 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sea Cliff House Motel
Sea Cliff House Motel
#24 of 44 in Old Orchard Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 181 reviews
0.7 mi away
Crest Motel
Crest Motel
#8 of 44 in Old Orchard Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waves Oceanfront Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waves Oceanfront Resort

Property: Waves Oceanfront Resort
Address: 87 W Grand Ave, Old Orchard Beach, ME 04064-2641
Region: United States > Maine > Old Orchard Beach
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Old Orchard Beach
#7 Romantic Hotel in Old Orchard Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Waves Oceanfront Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 139
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Priceline so you can book your Waves Oceanfront Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waves Oceanfront Hotel Old Orchard Beach
Hotel Waves Oceanfront
Waves Oceanfront Resort Old Orchard Beach, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing