We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice place, nice people”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Waves Oceanfront Resort
Ranked #17 of 44 Hotels in Old Orchard Beach
Reviewed 16 October 2013 via mobile

we were looking for a room on the strip without stripping the wallet. after checking 3 or 4 hotels we were about to go home due to the outrageous prices or 2 night minimum. we stopped at the Waves and I think it was around 100 so I was a little Leary since everyone else was 200 +. The room was very clean and had a balcony with partial ocean view. The pool looked new but we didn't get a chance to use it. All the staff was extremely helpful and showed us some houses we were thinking about renting. We definitely will be back if we stay for a night out two. Its a great location too.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cjo269
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wavesoceanfront, General Manager at Waves Oceanfront Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 28 October 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review our resort. Keep in mind that The Waves Oceanfront Resort is the largest hotel in Old Orchard Beach. This means we have many rooms at many different rates and options. We are glad we found one to fit your needs. Making reservations ahead of time can always insure you get the room you wanted. We look forward to your return and yes our 7 cottages are very popular so give us a call soon so we can set one aside for you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (337)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

173 - 179 of 337 reviews

Reviewed 11 October 2013

I live in Northern Maine and always stay at Waves when traveling south. It is the best place to stay in OOB in my opinion. Well appointed clean rooms. I usually get an Efficiency with a balcony in Buidling E. Steps from the beach. Just a short walk to a very good restaurant. Ocean views. Excellent customer service. Wifi. Who could ask for more?

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mary R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wavesoceanfront, General Manager at Waves Oceanfront Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 18 December 2013

Thank you so much for your kind words. We truly appreciate being recognized as doing our jobs right! We look forward to your return next year!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2013

My wife and I recently took a road trip from the Boston area to enjoy the fall colors. We drove into New Hampshire on the 93 and eventually turned eastward into Maine, ending up at the picturesque town of Old Orchard Beach. Our second floor room had a balcony and view of the ocean. It was early October, the off-season, so there were no crowds, and the vista of the ocean here is spectacular. This is the most extensive white-sand beach in Maine, and it is pristine - you'd never guess there were thousands of sunbathers and swimmers here just a few weeks ago.

Our room was well-maintained, clean and comfortable, with a vaulted wooden ceiling, large flatscreen TV, and coffeemaker and refrigerator. When we checked in, the desk staff were very cheerful and welcoming, taking the time to explain the layout of the resort and its facilities. Ken, the manager, also went out of his way to make us feel like honored guests - he was very knowledgeable about the local area and its attractions. We will definitely come here again.

Room Tip: Try to get that ocean view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KROOZ1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wavesoceanfront, General Manager at Waves Oceanfront Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 18 December 2013

Dear guest, Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We do love Old Orchard Beach as well as all of Maine. Our mindset is to try and treat each one of our guests' as if they were staying in our own home. Please do not hesitate to stay with us again when you are in the area. We look forward to it!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2013

we have been going here for the last three years tied out there oceanfront rooms and also have tried there cottages out does not matter were you stay wonderful place.Love the elephant and swan made out of towels and washclothes not every rooms have it but if you call and request it i am sure they will do it.

Room Tip: make sure you ask for the ocean view so nice to have the screen shut and listen to the ocean
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Crystal M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2013

Stay here over the Labor Day week. It was a nice place. The staff were friendly and helpful and they seem to work all day keeping the resort area clean. The room I had was very basic, it had a two queen beds, it also had a large refrigerator, a small stove and a sink. Also there were some basic pots and pans and plates and silverware, if you decided to cook. The pool was different as it was a salt water pool, it was very nice. From the hotel it was less then the a 5 min walk to the beach, which made it easy to enjoy time at the beach. Also the hotel is about a 5 - 7 min to main street where the peir and amusment park is. If you are looking for the hotel in the style of the Marriott or Hyatt this is not it. But if you are looking for a nice place to stay within walking distance to most stuff in Old Orchard this is the place.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hondo1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2013

We had been travelling up through southern Maine looking for somewhere to stay, and were very pleased to find an ocean front room here, reasonably priced. The staff were very helpful and friendly and whilst this is not a luxury room it has a great view of the ocean with a deck and is close enough to hear the waves. There's a nice pool and hot tub and we were happy to find a laundry area so we could wash clothes.

The room itself would benefit from updating but has a microwave, stove, fridge and table etc so is pretty well equipped. Didn't notice the trains particularly but since the line runs parallel to the sea I would imagine most lodgings along this road have the same issue. Decent value.

Room Tip: Ask for ocean front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank S M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2013

This was not our first stay at the waves, and it certainly won't be the last. We were off season, so we got a great deal on the room (about 1/3 of the peak season price). Even if we were 2 weeks after the end of the peak season, the pool was still heated, and the spa still heated and open. We enjoyed both, and thought it was amazing they kept heating them for so few customers. We were in building G, 2nd floor, and could watch the beach and the sea from our balcony. We were just above the grill, and patio area, and had a full kitchen. We ate amazing meals that we cooked ourselves on the grills, and/or the stove/ stovetop in the room. It seems they clean the grills everyday, as we used them a lot, and they were always clean. There was also a full size fridge in the room. The beds were comfortable, and although it was not decorated like the Ritz-Carlton, we thought the rooms were very adequate.

We WILL be back, and recommend it to anybody who wants a great location in OOB at a decent price (at least off/season)

BTW, everyone there was very helpfull, and everyone smilled, and greated you whenever you passed them. They go out their way to make sure everything is fine.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank QuebecFrank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Old Orchard Beach hotels
0.1 mi away
Old Colonial Motel
Old Colonial Motel
#19 of 44 in Old Orchard Beach
200 reviews
1 mi away
Alouette Beach Resort
Alouette Beach Resort
#14 of 44 in Old Orchard Beach
459 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Edgewater
The Edgewater
#4 of 44 in Old Orchard Beach
232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Sea View Inn
Sea View Inn
#26 of 44 in Old Orchard Beach
138 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sea Cliff House Motel
Sea Cliff House Motel
#20 of 44 in Old Orchard Beach
198 reviews
1.7 mi away
Ocean Walk Hotel
Ocean Walk Hotel
#13 of 44 in Old Orchard Beach
213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waves Oceanfront Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waves Oceanfront Resort

Address: 87 W Grand Ave, Old Orchard Beach, ME 04064-2641
Region: United States > Maine > Old Orchard Beach
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Old Orchard Beach
#7 Romantic Hotel in Old Orchard Beach
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Old Orchard Beach
Price Range: £53 - £62 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Waves Oceanfront Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 139
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and Expedia so you can book your Waves Oceanfront Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waves Oceanfront Hotel Old Orchard Beach
Hotel Waves Oceanfront
Waves Oceanfront Resort Old Orchard Beach, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing