We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love this place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Waves Oceanfront Resort
Ranked #19 of 44 Hotels in Old Orchard Beach
Reviewed 27 May 2014

We love The Waves. Right on the beach, clean rooms, salt water pool and it's warm, clean comfortable rooms . Staff are very friendly and helpful. Would not go anywhere else.
Teresa and Jeff
New Hampshire

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank redlillys6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (331)
There are newer reviews for Waves Oceanfront Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

164 - 170 of 331 reviews

Reviewed 27 April 2014

Went back to Waves to stay in Old Orchard Beach while visiting family. The kids couldn't get enough of the new pool. The location is right on the beach and the private balconies are great. The room had a kitchenette and was very clean.

Room Tip: Try the Beach street cafe for a great breakfast
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lovealltravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2013

This hotel could be really something, being in a fantastic location on Old Orchard Beach, but it was only adequate. It was clean and the staff helpful and friendly. We had a ground floor room, and when the people in the room above walked about it sounded like a herd of elephants were tap-dancing up there. Mercifully they weren't up late! There's not much more I can say about this – it wasn't fantastically cheap, but was a clean, comfortable and basic room for the night.

Room Tip: Where the hotel is situated isn't busy, so I should think all rooms are quiet. We had a ground f...
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Cathy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wavesoceanfront, General Manager at Waves Oceanfront Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 18 December 2013

Dear guest thank you for taking the time to review our property. We are glad you found Old Orchard Beach as a great destination for your vacation. We are very sorry if there was another room that made more noise than you are comfortable with. Please keep in mind that many times our security will not hear interior noise unless we are notified at the front desk. We can resolve those issues immediately and with desecration. We hope you stay with us again in the future if you find yourself back in Maine.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2013 via mobile

we were looking for a room on the strip without stripping the wallet. after checking 3 or 4 hotels we were about to go home due to the outrageous prices or 2 night minimum. we stopped at the Waves and I think it was around 100 so I was a little Leary since everyone else was 200 +. The room was very clean and had a balcony with partial ocean view. The pool looked new but we didn't get a chance to use it. All the staff was extremely helpful and showed us some houses we were thinking about renting. We definitely will be back if we stay for a night out two. Its a great location too.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cjo269
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wavesoceanfront, General Manager at Waves Oceanfront Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 28 October 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review our resort. Keep in mind that The Waves Oceanfront Resort is the largest hotel in Old Orchard Beach. This means we have many rooms at many different rates and options. We are glad we found one to fit your needs. Making reservations ahead of time can always insure you get the room you wanted. We look forward to your return and yes our 7 cottages are very popular so give us a call soon so we can set one aside for you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2013

I live in Northern Maine and always stay at Waves when traveling south. It is the best place to stay in OOB in my opinion. Well appointed clean rooms. I usually get an Efficiency with a balcony in Buidling E. Steps from the beach. Just a short walk to a very good restaurant. Ocean views. Excellent customer service. Wifi. Who could ask for more?

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mary R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wavesoceanfront, General Manager at Waves Oceanfront Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 18 December 2013

Thank you so much for your kind words. We truly appreciate being recognized as doing our jobs right! We look forward to your return next year!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2013

My wife and I recently took a road trip from the Boston area to enjoy the fall colors. We drove into New Hampshire on the 93 and eventually turned eastward into Maine, ending up at the picturesque town of Old Orchard Beach. Our second floor room had a balcony and view of the ocean. It was early October, the off-season, so there were no crowds, and the vista of the ocean here is spectacular. This is the most extensive white-sand beach in Maine, and it is pristine - you'd never guess there were thousands of sunbathers and swimmers here just a few weeks ago.

Our room was well-maintained, clean and comfortable, with a vaulted wooden ceiling, large flatscreen TV, and coffeemaker and refrigerator. When we checked in, the desk staff were very cheerful and welcoming, taking the time to explain the layout of the resort and its facilities. Ken, the manager, also went out of his way to make us feel like honored guests - he was very knowledgeable about the local area and its attractions. We will definitely come here again.

Room Tip: Try to get that ocean view!
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KROOZ1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wavesoceanfront, General Manager at Waves Oceanfront Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 18 December 2013

Dear guest, Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We do love Old Orchard Beach as well as all of Maine. Our mindset is to try and treat each one of our guests' as if they were staying in our own home. Please do not hesitate to stay with us again when you are in the area. We look forward to it!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2013

we have been going here for the last three years tied out there oceanfront rooms and also have tried there cottages out does not matter were you stay wonderful place.Love the elephant and swan made out of towels and washclothes not every rooms have it but if you call and request it i am sure they will do it.

Room Tip: make sure you ask for the ocean view so nice to have the screen shut and listen to the ocean
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Crystal M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Old Orchard Beach hotels
0.1 mi away
Old Colonial Motel
Old Colonial Motel
#21 of 44 in Old Orchard Beach
199 reviews
1.0 mi away
Alouette Beach Resort
Alouette Beach Resort
#20 of 44 in Old Orchard Beach
445 reviews
1.6 mi away
Ocean Walk Hotel
Ocean Walk Hotel
#13 of 44 in Old Orchard Beach
212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Edgewater
The Edgewater
#4 of 44 in Old Orchard Beach
221 reviews
1.3 mi away
Friendship Oceanfront Suites
Friendship Oceanfront Suites
#9 of 44 in Old Orchard Beach
169 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sea Cliff House Motel
Sea Cliff House Motel
#17 of 44 in Old Orchard Beach
195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waves Oceanfront Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waves Oceanfront Resort

Address: 87 W Grand Ave, Old Orchard Beach, ME 04064-2641
Region: United States > Maine > Old Orchard Beach
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Old Orchard Beach
Price Range: £56 - £73 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Waves Oceanfront Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 139
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Waves Oceanfront Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waves Oceanfront Hotel Old Orchard Beach
Hotel Waves Oceanfront
Waves Oceanfront Resort Old Orchard Beach, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing