We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place for family”
Review of Crest Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Crest Motel
Ranked #8 of 44 Hotels in Old Orchard Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Troy, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Great place for family”
Reviewed 16 July 2014

This is the best motel in OOB beach we have ever stayed at. You are right on the beach so you dont have to pay for parking. They have an indoor pool that can really come in handy if it rains. The staff have always been great . The rooms are nothing fancy but they are not bad either. My wife will not come to maine unless we stay here.

Room Tip: The ocean view room is awesome
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chris c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

179 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    115
    41
    12
    7
    4
See reviews for
121
17
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Massachusetts
1 review
Reviewed 15 July 2014

We've been staying at the Crest for 5 years. Paul and his family are so welcoming and friendly. The housekeeping staff is great. We look forward to our stay there every year.

We book Room 103 - 1 bedroom and kitchen. It is perfect for our family of 4 for the week. The room hasn't been updated in a few years (which is the only reason for the 4 vs 5 stars), but it has everything we need - toaster, oven, full fridge, plates, utensils, dish soap, etc. - and it is nice to have the separate bedroom for the kids.

The indoor pool/hot tub are awesome to have on days when it's not beach-weather and is also a great place for the kids to hang out after a long beach day. On nice days, the roof is open, so it has an outdoor feel. Plus, there are tables and hightops around the pool room outside. My kids love the playground and all the toys and cars. We use the grills and picnic tables a lot to save on going out for lunch/dinner. They keep the grills clean and in great shape.

The location can not be beat - right on the beach. Far enough away from the pier so the beach is not crowded. Yet, close enough to the pier so you and the kids can walk down for lunch and go to the amusement park.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joy143dh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shrewsbury, Ma
Level Contributor
45 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2014

First the 'cons': The TV is tiny, the free wifi is so slow as to be useless, too much noise comes the basketball court and there is wear and tear that should have been fixed-up long ago. As for 'pros', the staff is friendly, the bathroom was updated and very clean, the pool and jacuzzi are indoors and very clean. The ocean is close, but only two rooms in the motel have ocean views. My wife and daughter selected this motel party based on the TripAdvisor rating. We were expecting a great place, but in reality Crest Motel is an older, average motel. They ask you to write a review on TripAdvisor, thus the rating which is higher than it should be. It really should be 3 1/2 stars, but we are giving it 4. While there, we liked the arade and amusement park near the pier. We spent an afternoon in Portland's Old Port(10 miles away) checking out the many cute shops and had dinner on a floating restauant there(Dimillos) which was our best meal of the trip(and most expensive).

Room Tip: Even though the motel is on the sand, only two rooms have ocean views. Request the one on the secon...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SteveWhiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 July 2014

The rooms were okay, nothing great, nothing horrible. I was disappointed in the noise from other guests well after quiet time. I did go to the office twice to let them know and they did nothing. Teenagers running up and down and even adults making noise until 3 am. I was not happy. Probably won't stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tara M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
creoob, Owner at Crest Motel, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
We are sorry you did not have an enjoyable stay with us over the 4th of July weekend. We try our best to control noise levels, there are 3 weekends a year which are always difficult, Memorial Day, 4th of July and Labor Day. On these dates the celebration is difficult to control. We hope you will give us another try but understand your frustration and wish you nothing but enjoyable future vacations where ever you choose to stay. Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orange, Massachusetts, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 4 July 2014

We recently stayed here for the first time and were very impressed with it. People were extremely helpful and friendly. Room was very nice, full bath, comfortable beds, clean. Only thing missing was a coffee pot, although they do offer free coffee (and Popcorn!) in the office. Ice machine and soda machines available also. The Crest has a great pool, hot tub, and is located on the beach side of the street. Plenty of parking space too. We plan on going back in the fall, as they offer some rooms where you can stay with your pets. We have a 3 yr old Lab that would love the ocean, we hope! It is within walking distance of the pier also! The Crest also boasts a play yard for small children, swings, slides, cars, sand pit, etc. and also has 5-6 grills available for your use! We were only able to stay one night this time, but would like to bring back our 2 married daughters and families next summer or fall as a family get away... it is the perfect place for all of us to stay. If you want a comfortable, affordable, beach stay... check them out, I think you'll love them too!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rbsb87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 2 July 2014

I stayed with my family here for a week, and it was fantastic. Nice rooms with room service, located on the beachside, it's a really sweet place. The staff is VERY friendly, and free coffee, and popcorn in the lobby! :) Hot tub and pool are amazing. Loved it, for sure coming back!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emma B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Hampshire
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2014

Just love the Crest! Front Desk is always helpful and willing to go out of their way to help you. Room was perfect, had a nice view of the ocean. It was my husbands first visit here but not mine as it is where I have been coming for our Girls Weekend for the last three years. Pool is clean and hot tub is large enough for a large group. Hotel location is great walkable to the night life and pier. I found it quite even though the hotel is a definitely family oriented. There is no question I will stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dee1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Old Orchard Beach hotels
0.6 mi away
Old Colonial Motel
Old Colonial Motel
#18 of 44 in Old Orchard Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 160 reviews
0.3 mi away
Alouette Beach Resort
Alouette Beach Resort
#10 of 44 in Old Orchard Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 428 reviews
1.0 mi away
Ocean Walk Hotel
Ocean Walk Hotel
#11 of 44 in Old Orchard Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Edgewater
The Edgewater
#6 of 44 in Old Orchard Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 203 reviews
0.7 mi away
Marvin Gardens Motel
Marvin Gardens Motel
#32 of 44 in Old Orchard Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 38 reviews
1.0 mi away
Sea Cliff House Motel
Sea Cliff House Motel
#24 of 44 in Old Orchard Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crest Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crest Motel

Property: Crest Motel
Address: 35 E Grand Ave, Old Orchard Beach, ME 04064-2820
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maine > Old Orchard Beach
Amenities:
Beach Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Old Orchard Beach
#11 Family Hotel in Old Orchard Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Crest Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family oriented beachfront motel with indoor pool, children's playground, gas grills & picnic area. Walking distance to downtown attractions. 15 Minutes to Portland & Kennebunk attractions ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Crest Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crest Motel Old Orchard Beach, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing