We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for young kids”
Review of Crest Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Crest Motel
Ranked #7 of 44 Hotels in Old Orchard Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 July 2010

Just got back from 4 nights at the Crest and we had a blast. This year was our third year in a row and I just love the simplicity of this family centered motel. The kids love the play area and the pool and hot tubs. Its great being right on the beach with small kids and not having to lug your beach stuff. Its easy enough to run to the room if you forget something or to make lunch. We just left all of beach stuff in the car in the parking lot which is right at the path to the beach so no sandy toys ever made it to the room. The staff is very friendly and the kids love the free popcorn in the lobby. Its also great being so close to the Pier which is just a short walk away. We came with a group of 6 adults and 3 kids under age 6 and everyone was pleased. At night the adults were able to sit outside on the patio and listen to the waves crashing after putting the kids to bed which was a nice treat. The room and the grounds were kept clean and there are grills to cook on which is handy for hot dog lunches. I think the key to remember here is this is Old Orchard Beach....dough boys and Pier fries, cotton candy and ice cream. It is not a fancy high rise condo and there are no chandeliers or room service which is what makes me love it even more. The Crest and Old Orchard are classic and brings you back to simpler times.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cjacko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (200)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

169 - 175 of 200 reviews

Reviewed 25 July 2010

This is the 3rd year in a row that my family has stayed at the Crest and we always have a great time. There is a swing set and a play area for the kids. The rooms are always clean and the staff is very helpful. They have grills if you want to cook out and plenty of tables to eat outside. Each room has an outside sitting area so when the kids go to sleep you can sit outside your room and enjoy the night. The best part is you are right on the beach so there is no walking 2 to 3 blocks with all your beach stuff. They are also only a few blocks from the downtown pier and attractions. Every year I am there I meet someone that has been been staying at the Crest for 5,10,15 years and loves it. If you are planning to stay at Old Orchard Beach stay at the Crest Motel.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jtjacko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2010

The Crest Motel is great, very clean, family oriented motel. The motel located on East Grand Avenue is a stone throw from the beach and surf (no crossing of busy streets to get to the beach). The staff is always willing to help out. Owner Paul and his sons are on premise daily to be sure that everthing is in order, when Paul is enjoying some family time, his assistant John will be glad to assist. We have stayed in a variety rooms and the cottage. The Crest Motel has a room for any size family and some with kitchenettes.

The motel is within walking distance to many great restaurants like the Barefoot Boy (Roger , Jason and his staff are very friendly and accomodating) the Landmark and many others along the strip. Palace Playland is within walking distances for some rides and arcade fun after a day in the sun.

My family has been coming to this motel for the last 8 years, we tried a few others on East Grand Avenue but what sold us was the indoor (if you have children its a must on rainy days) the cleanliness and the staff. We make two trips a year to the Crest once in late June and the other in October and enjoy every minute we are there.

Stayed: June 2010, travelled with family
Thank dingmom0145
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2010

We have stayed here for about 7 consecutive years now..... And it's fantastic!

It's located RIGHT on the beach. just a few yards or so, depending on where your room is. The rooms are not fancy, but always clean. They have made some upgrades over the past few years, including new flooring (vinyl in the baths, and carpeting in the room itself). The staff and maid staff are always courteous and accomodating!

We go before peak season starts, and you really cannot beat the price. Its a great deal.

This year, we seemed to experience a lot more kids than usual, which was fine. They are in bed long before we were, so it wasnt an issue.

They also have a public computer in the office, and offer free wi-fi, which worked very well!

Someone mentioned hearing the amtrak train... it is true - however, it is NOT a deal breaker. All the hotels on the beach will have this same issue. And it's not a constant thing.

It takes about 5-7 minutes to walk to the pier/downtown area. there are a couple decent restaurants in walking distance, and tons of lunch places. Hooligans Landing (on the PIer), and The Brunswick both offer decent places to grab a low key drink at night. As the season progresses, both of these places get a bit more of an edge to them!

On a side note, it appears that most of the people that dont like The Crest, just dont like Old Orchard. Old Orchard is kind of a 'different' town, as far as Maine goes. Its not like Ogunquit, Kennebunport, etc. It has a pier with bars, and an amusement park and arcade right on the beach essentially. It has a bit more of a party/beach town flavor. There are not a lot of high end resorts or hotels here either.... Most are just plain ol' motels. Some (like the Crest), are just nicer than others! All in all - OOB isnt a hgih end, pretentious spot. There are typically a good amount of kids, and some party seekers too! There are no Mariotts, or Hyatts here!

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jasejase
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2010

My wife, 3yo daughter and I stayed here for Memorial Day Weekend 2010. We'd never been to Old Orchard Beach before and were looking for a getaway. This is one of the only places I could find in OOB that has suites, which is what we wanted so we could put out daughter to bed and still be up in the evenings. The room was clean and had a full kitchen. The staff was very attentive and knowledgeable of the area.

The motel is right on the beach so we could just walk out and be on the beach whenever we wanted instead of having to pack up for the day and take everything we might need. We could go back and forth as much as we wanted without it being a hassle.

The best part for us was the play area that kept our daughter entertained. Our vacation wouldn't have been the same without the play area.

Its only a short walk to the Pier and Palace Playland which has great kiddie rides that our daughter enjoyed. Its also a very short walk to Cong Beth Israel, the local Orthodox Jewish synagogue.

Other reviews have mentioned the trains that go through OOB but you will have that noise no matter where you stay along Grand Ave and being on the beach side the noise is not so bad. It didn't wake our daughter who is a very light sleeper.

We plan on staying there again next year and would definitely recommend it to friends.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PaulHMA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2010

awesome extremly awesome and i wasnt to go back so here we go

Stayed: August 2009
Thank MadisynB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2009

The hotel wasn't a very clean place. It looked better in the pictures then it did for real. The location was a 5min. walk to the beach. It had a playground right outside the room and a pool.

  • Stayed: July 2006
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank caxxandraax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Old Orchard Beach hotels
0.6 mi away
Old Colonial Motel
Old Colonial Motel
#21 of 44 in Old Orchard Beach
199 reviews
0.3 mi away
Echo Motel & Oceanfront Cottages
Echo Motel & Oceanfront Cottages
#2 of 44 in Old Orchard Beach
243 reviews
0.3 mi away
Alouette Beach Resort
Alouette Beach Resort
#17 of 44 in Old Orchard Beach
449 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Edgewater
The Edgewater
#4 of 44 in Old Orchard Beach
229 reviews
0.6 mi away
Friendship Oceanfront Suites
Friendship Oceanfront Suites
#8 of 44 in Old Orchard Beach
174 reviews
1.0 mi away
Ocean Walk Hotel
Ocean Walk Hotel
#13 of 44 in Old Orchard Beach
213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crest Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crest Motel

Address: 35 E Grand Ave, Old Orchard Beach, ME 04064-2820
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maine > Old Orchard Beach
Amenities:
Beach Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Old Orchard Beach
#11 Family Hotel in Old Orchard Beach
Price Range: £102 - £205 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Crest Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family oriented beachfront motel with indoor pool, children's playground, gas grills & picnic area. Walking distance to downtown attractions. 15 Minutes to Portland & Kennebunk attractions ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Crest Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crest Motel Old Orchard Beach, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing