We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“SLAMMIN Grinders”
Review of Moby Dick Motel

Moby Dick Motel
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Moby Dick Motel
Ranked #34 of 44 Hotels in Old Orchard Beach
Jewett City, Connecticut
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“SLAMMIN Grinders”
Reviewed 13 June 2014 via mobile

We visited OOB and stopped in the variety store to get some water and decided to get a grinder for dinner. Well, let me tell you it was one of the "BEST" we had in a long time. We did not stay at the hotel but grinders are Slammin and the gentlemen that made was very very nice!!

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Dena B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

14 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    6
    2
    2
    2
    2
See reviews for
Families
0
6
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Newfoundland
Level Contributor
33 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2012

Stayed here summer 2012 for 4 nights. Hotel room looked clean at first glance. Upon getting settled in the room, we noticed that all around the window was mold. The air conditioner didn't work as good as it should have. Go in store to check in, owners are very nice and helpful. Hotel has wifi, depending on the room you are staying in. We had to take the laptop and sit on bench outside store to get connection. Hotel is in a great location, less than 5 minute walk to the beach. Had a patio with table and chairs that overlooked the main street which was nice. Free parking, although there isn't much room! Train tracks are immediately behind the hotel which means that every couple of hours, even through the night you will hear the train going through. It is loud enough we could actually feel the room vibrate as it went through and was blew the horn the whole while. Would stay here again if stuck but would prefer somewhere else.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TravelL0ver69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Old Orchard Beach hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2010

I used to always visit the store when in the area as they have "everything" with awesome food. Their subs are huge and put Subway to shame. I thought they were just expensive at first until i tried one. I finally decided to stay there and even though the rooms are about average/above average, they definitely made improvements from when my friends stayed there about 6 years ago. I would say average rooms with nice decor and people who run the store (and motel) are very nice and funny (especially if they get to know you). I would recommend this to someone who just wants a decent place to crash and spends most of their time at the beach.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RelxnLife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston
Level Contributor
41 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2010

I did not stay at this hotel however i did walk in motel area and it seemed like i place i would not want to stay in. This hotel was very very run down not a bad area and it would be a great investment to remodel the whole motel!

The food downstairs in the variety store was delicious! They had a great selection of anything you would ever need that you may have forgotten while packing for your vacation. The food makes up for everything else that"s wrong here.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TrdThunder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dfr
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2010

This was unreal.. This motel had a smell in the room that you could not get rid of
Even after opening up windows. There was no maid service. The towels were like
Worn out rags. I would never stay there again......

Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank DfrDfr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Old Orchard Beach hotels
0.6 mi away
Americas Best Value Mt. Royal Inn
Americas Best Value Mt. Royal In...
#35 of 44 in Old Orchard Beach
3.0 of 5 bubbles 156 reviews
0.7 mi away
Old Colonial Motel
Old Colonial Motel
#19 of 44 in Old Orchard Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 160 reviews
0.1 mi away
Green Dolphin Motel
Green Dolphin Motel
#20 of 44 in Old Orchard Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 71 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Alouette Beach Resort
Alouette Beach Resort
#10 of 44 in Old Orchard Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 427 reviews
0.3 mi away
Seabreeze Motel
Seabreeze Motel
#42 of 44 in Old Orchard Beach
3.0 of 5 bubbles 104 reviews
0.8 mi away
Marvin Gardens Motel
Marvin Gardens Motel
#32 of 44 in Old Orchard Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 38 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Moby Dick Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moby Dick Motel

Property: Moby Dick Motel
Address: 74 E Grand Ave, Old Orchard Beach, ME 04064-2810
Region: United States > Maine > Old Orchard Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#18 On the Beach Hotel in Old Orchard Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Moby Dick Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda, Evoline ltd, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Moby Dick Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moby Dick Motel Old Orchard Beach, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing