We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Super Motel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sandpiper Beachfront Motel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Old Orchard Beach
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Sandpiper Beachfront Motel
Queensbury, New York
1 review
“Super Motel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2013

I just want to thank the Sandpiper motel for such a great visit. The owners and their son were so friendly and very helpful. We had 3 rooms and all of them were clean and updated. We have stayed there before and we will stay there again. We were so blessed to be right on the ocean.

Room Tip: Rooms at the end have apartments.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ddecker2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    45
    13
    4
    4
    3
See reviews for
31
20
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2013

What a wonderful place to stay right on the beach . I read the other comments it's a family run motel very warm and courteous .The rooms very clean , the owner will do anything to accomodate his guests, we asked for a toaster -no problem ,wine glasses etc etc .The patio overlooking the beach is great . We were thoroughly satisfied and booked for next year.The owner Mr.Rioux speeks French a bonus for people from Quebec !!!!There is a private little bridge to the beach so it is less crowded in front of the motel.All in all a fantastic place so close to the beach .!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Room Tip: All rooms are fine .
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank artistesh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Haven, Connecticut
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2013

Went St. Pattys weekend last year and going again this year! Clean rooms, stocked kitchette. Staff was great! Picked up a lobster dinner & ate while looking out at the ocean. Quiet area and easy access to anything you need. Looking forward to staying again!

Room Tip: Your staying in a clean room, right on the beach. Its not the MGM Grand but its great for a beachsi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank donna c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
68 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2012

The Sandpiper motel is in a great location, right on the beach, and within easy walking distance to the pier area and amusements. Our room was basic, but clean, and the bed comfy. The parking is tight but manageable. The place has a nice family feel, and the staff is friendly and helpful. The only thing that keeps this from five stars is that the room was small, and not so new. They also have bistros and picnic tables outside each room, and gas grills for anyone to use.....and they have a very nice patio area overlooking the beach. Did I mention that it's in a great location....!

Room Tip: They are hard to come by, but try to get one of the two rooms facing the beach. The others are fine...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank beak49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hooksett, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
50 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2012

Stayed here back in June and was very happy with the accommodations. The staff is extremely friendly and helpful. The room was clean and resonable. The location is right off OOB and walking distance to most things at the beach.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank polaris185
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hilo, Hawaii
Level Contributor
35 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2012

My daughter and I headed to Maine as an escape from Boston for Memorial Day weekend. We were visiting New England from Hawaii to attend a graduation. While in the car from Boston, we found Sandpiper in a brochure, called, and got a reservation with no problem. It was an excellent choice. The owners were wonderfully friendly and helpful, even with such a last-minute request on a busy holiday weekend. The location is terrific - right on the beach, within easy walking distance of town center, yet far enough from the pier that the beach was not crowded even on the hot, sunny days we were there. The owners knew the area well and recommended good, affordable places to eat, We had planned to stay only one night and then move on, but we liked Sandpiper so much we ended up staying there all three nights of our Maine get-away and just did excursions from there. The owners were very good about accommodating our day-to-day decision about whether we'd be staying or not.

The room itself was not luxurious, but everything worked well and was comfortable. The wireless internet connection was free, stable and clocked in at about 1.5 Mbps. We didn't watch tv so can't say how reception is. We wanted a base near the beach, and for this Sandpiper was perfect. Those who demand a reception area with polished marble floor and and room service on a silver tray will not be happy here, but then again they will not be happy anywhere in Old Orchard Beach. If you want clean and comfortable accommodation with friendly and helpful service in a relaxing environment, you can't do much better than Sandpiper.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jeffrey P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bradford
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2012

A friend and I went just got back from a night away at OOB where we stayed at the Sandpiper. The location was amazing (right on the beach)! The room was super clean and having the mini-fridge was a bonus. A lot of other motels in the area charge an arm and a leg and the rooms are only "meh." This motel was great and the rate was very reasonable. The owners were also super friendly. I will definitely stay at this motel again :)

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hope C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Old Orchard Beach hotels
0.7 mi away
Old Colonial Motel
Old Colonial Motel
#14 of 43 in Old Orchard Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 158 reviews
0.5 mi away
Americas Best Value Mt. Royal Inn
Americas Best Value Mt. Royal In...
#34 of 43 in Old Orchard Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 155 reviews
0.2 mi away
Alouette Beach Resort
Alouette Beach Resort
#11 of 43 in Old Orchard Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 426 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The Edgewater
The Edgewater
#6 of 43 in Old Orchard Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 196 reviews
0.1 mi away
Crest Motel
Crest Motel
#8 of 43 in Old Orchard Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 179 reviews
0.2 mi away
Atlantic Ocean Suites
Atlantic Ocean Suites
#5 of 26 in Old Orchard Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 38 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandpiper Beachfront Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandpiper Beachfront Motel

Property: Sandpiper Beachfront Motel
Address: 2 Cleaves St, Old Orchard Beach, ME 04064-2809
Region: United States > Maine > Old Orchard Beach
Amenities:
Beach Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in Old Orchard Beach
Number of rooms: 22
Also Known As:
Sandpiper Beachfront Motel Old Orchard Beach, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing