We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“nice camp ground”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Old Orchard Beach
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Powder Horn Family Camping Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Fort Edward, New York
Level Contributor
83 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“nice camp ground”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2012

very clean, there are plenty of things to do , movies , rec hall , play ground for the kids, two pools and a jacuzzi , right on the trolly line to the beach so you don't have to drive in and find aplace to park .

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank katydid8181
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

386 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    271
    85
    20
    5
    5
See reviews for
280
42
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Canada
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2012

Just returned from Powder Horn and loved every minute of our stay. Great location, clean facilities and everything we needed was on site. This is our second year at Powder Horn travelling from Canada and I would not hesitate to return. We did pay and book our site in advance of the trip and the email from Powder Horn made their cancellation policies clear.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Bruce M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Terrebonne, Oregon
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2011

We were traveling across country and made reservation at this resort. They took the whole three day payment. Because of something that happened in the family we couldn't stay there. I called them 4 to 5 days ahead. The kept $20 of our money. That was fine but we live 3000 miles away and they sent me a coupon good for only me for the remainder. My family who live in the area could not use it. No one on the whole trip from coast to coast did that to us. So if you are traveling from far away, I would not use them. Think how many $44.20 they make a year.

Room Tip: Always ask questions if they take the whole fee
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank joyce d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DanielleO207, Front Office Manager at Powder Horn Family Camping Resort, responded to this review, 30 May 2012
Our Cancellation Policy is Stated Below:

A $20.00 service fee will be applied to all cancellations before any refunds will be issued. Reservation cancellations require 14 days advanced notification for a deposit refund to be issued. Cancellations made 13 to 1 day(s) prior to arrival date are eligible for Powder Horn Camp Credit (minus $20.00 service fee); valid for one year from date of issue. Cancellations made less than 24 hours prior to arrival time (1:00 pm) will forfeit all deposits. Failure to check in on the scheduled arrival date, without notice, will forfeit your site and deposit as of 11:00am the following day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Billerica, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2011

we arrive later in the day, and set up in the dark, which is hard for camping. when we check in we did not recieve all the material for the weekend activities. during our set up, a seasonal personal came out and ask if we not shine our lights in to his trailer. we said we understood, and complied. then the seasonal person proceed to ask us to move the fire pit and chair more to the street, and that would help with anyone complaining. we accomodated. the next day we went to the pool, and it was clear about the rules, but when swimming in one of the two pools, finding a pot cigerattees (drugs),
specially when a staff meember on duty was sitting, to prevent that, make me concern about the people working at camp site. then that night a campground staff member had medical emergency at the comfort station, in pine grove section of campground. the staff brought the rescue crew, and ambulance in, but unfortunnately. the supervisor on that night left with 4 other staff behind, but none of the staff member bother helping the ambulance out. the driver stop, and ask me how to get out. when the person that was i chage was ask about this, she said that she had notify the persons parents. when ask if would better to make sure her staff member, got out of the campground to the hospital,before contacting the parents. she said she left other staff member behind. i ask who was charge that night, and she said i was. i ask her if she think was a good idea that she left before the ambulance was off the campground, and she reponded that she felt like i was being threaten. i ask how so? she that she been there 11years, and that by give a bad review on internet, as i stated was threaten. she ask if i would come down and fill out a complaint at the office. i told her i would be down in morning. i filled out the complaint, with 2 other people. the person who handles the complaints. called and left a message, and i called back, and got. the central answer machine shortly after that. they never falled up after that. so unfortunately i have to respond with this.

Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
Helpful?
4 Thank Paul K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2011

We just recently returned from a week long tenting stay and we absolutely loved it. We couldn't believe how quiet the campground was a night time. We were in a tent in pine grove near the playground. The kids had plenty to do there. The only downfall is they charge extra for all of the activities including mini golf. My 4 and 6 year old loved the 3 ft pool in front. It worked out great when they wanted to swim and it was too cold for us. I'm not sure if because it was so late in the season or not but none of the heaters were on in the pools. The bathrooms very extremely clean as well as the entire campground. The trolley was convenient and much cheaper then paying for parking. We will absolutely be returning next year and would recommend this place to everyone.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank finallyfree2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yardley, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2011

They took a 50% deposit. 12.5 days before trip, family member diagnosed with cancer. Tried to cancel and get refund. Offered doctors letter. They were miserable. Told me only give a credit to use within next year because we were 30 hours late. Needed 14 days notice. No exceptions and just too bad. Bad policies. Avoid at all costs

Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
Helpful?
6 Thank Moppet12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DanielleO207, Front Office Manager at Powder Horn Family Camping Resort, responded to this review, 30 May 2012
All sites come equipped with a picnic table and a fire ring. The site fee includes TWO ADULTS, ONE CAMPING UNIT, and ONE VEHICLE. Any additional people, tents, or vehicles are subject to additional charges. Limit 6 people per site. A maximum of one camping unit and one tent allowed per site. An additional fee of $37.00 per night (includes 1 tent, 2 adults, and 1 vehicle) will be added to any reservation of 3 or more adults that will be setting up an additional tent on the site.

We are a family campground that caters to only families and couples. To better accommodate those who do not have children, we only include 2 adults in our rates.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bethlehem, NH
Level Contributor
66 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2011

Nickel and dimed to death. They charge for your own bikes to be brought in. Tried to over chrage me and when I asked for an explanation the girl got upset and didn't even say sorry. Very crowded sites.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank wlhsl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Old Orchard Beach
2.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Saco / Biddeford
7.2 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Portland
1.4 mi away
Wild Acres RV Resort and Campground
Wild Acres RV Resort and Campgro...
#4 of 21 in Old Orchard Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Wagon Wheel RV Resort and Campground
Wagon Wheel RV Resort and Campgr...
#8 of 21 in Old Orchard Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 42 reviews
1.0 mi away
Marvin Gardens Motel
Marvin Gardens Motel
#31 of 43 in Old Orchard Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 38 reviews
1.2 mi away
Alouette Beach Resort
Alouette Beach Resort
#11 of 43 in Old Orchard Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 427 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Powder Horn Family Camping Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Powder Horn Family Camping Resort

Property: Powder Horn Family Camping Resort
Address: 48 Cascade Rd, P.O. Box 366, Old Orchard Beach, ME 04064-1524
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maine > Old Orchard Beach
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 21 Speciality Lodging in Old Orchard Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 480
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For family vacations that will offer something for all ages, a trip to Powder Horn Family Camping Resort in Old Orchard Beach, Maine is a great choice. We are a full service Family Camping Resort just minutes from beautiful, seven mile, Old Orchard Beach. Our facilities can accommodate all your camping needs, from tenting to full-hookup 50AMP service camping. We cater to families and couples, always striving to create and maintain a family friendly atmosphere, in all aspects of our operation.We have four swimming pools, two hot tubs, and plenty of possibilities for activities and recreation, including: horseshoe pits, mini-golf, volleyball, and basketball. We have a full children's activities program, and events during the summer that are fun for the whole family! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Powder Horn Family Camping Hotel Old Orchard Beach
Powder Horn Family Camping Resort Old Orchard Beach, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing