We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best in beach so far”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Americas Best Value Mt. Royal Inn
Ranked #35 of 44 Hotels in Old Orchard Beach
Haverhill, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Best in beach so far”
Reviewed 21 May 2012

Great room last weekend located in downtown area. Room standard but very clean LCD tv whirlpool tub. Trains station is next door which runs all day. One block to the pier. Had excellent weather and beach is across the street. Very clean soft sand. Excellent sub shop across the street. Try in July as town is just opening up. Motel has free muffins juice coffee in am. We paid 79 bucks.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Admiralkittlemeyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Manager at Americas Best Value Mt. Royal Inn, responded to this review, 23 June 2012
Thank you so much for your kind review. We do have many repeat guests who enjoy returning to the Mt Royal every summer! It is our goal to provide a clean, inviting, enjoyable stay. Thank you for letting us know how we are fulfilling our guest's expectations!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

156 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    49
    30
    23
    17
    37
See reviews for
63
37
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2011

I have stayed in many hotels throughout my life, and I have never stayed at one this atrocious. I booked the hotel on-line for two nights, and was actually quite excited after reading some comments about it being newly renovated and my room said it would have an ocean view. I opened the door to my room, and immediately I saw a thick, red shag carpet. I knew from that point forward is was going to be interesting. I turned the light on, and the walls were wooden panel from probably the seventies with many holes punched in them. Also nice aspect of the wall is, they're paper thin. There is nothing like the luxury of being able to hear the person on the other side of the wall snoring and having great conversation. When I walked into the bathroom, there was hair in the sink, and I felt like the floor was going to collapse underneath me. I went to turn the heat on, no go. So, sleeping cold all night it was. At 11:30PM at night, I figured I'd just go to bed and it be whatever. I woke up a few times throughout the night, there is a lovely Amtrak track right behind the hotel. Wish I would have know about this sooner.The sheets weren't white, which means no bleach, which naturally, means no guarantee of cleanliness, not to mention the disgusting rug.

The next morning I decided to go take a shower. I pulled the shower curtain open, and I was horrified. There was mold growing in between the tiles in the shower, and what I assume was soap scum built up on the tub. This, I was disgusted by, but I could deal with it. When I saw the shower curtain however, that was it. It was the most disgusting thing I have ever seen. Oh, and a quick comment on the ocean view, just because the door to the hotel points towards the ocean, doesn't make it an ocean view, especially when it is blocked by an amusement park. Luckily, I did get to cancel my second night of the stay, and get it refunded to my credit card.

Room Tip: Just don't stay here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ryan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Old Orchard Beach hotels

Dover, New Hampshire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 September 2011

My friends and i stayed here during the month of July. We had a great time and enojoyed ourselves. The location was great, very convenient beach access and local food. The hotel staff and mangement were very polite and helpful with any questions or directions we had. The rooms were very clean and had enough space for us and our lugage. I am sure we will be back next year. Thanks again for everything!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Melony M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 September 2011

i am very pleased with my stay at the mount royal motel ; couldnt of been better. I came up from vermont on the weekend of labor day . Absolutely loved the rennovated room my kids and i stayed in . The beach was right across the street it was very convient there also there is a pool located right at the motel. My children had a blast at the arcade and amusement park. The services were very good.We all needed the get away for a while now the mount royal was reasonable for price esp. For the location i would highly reccommend this hotel to my family and friends ; also i will be going back next summer.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank malamau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oobmtroyal, General Manager at Americas Best Value Mt. Royal Inn, responded to this review, 11 September 2011
Thank you for your comments. We do strive to provide all of our guests with the best experience possible! We look forward to having you and your family stay with us again! Thank You!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
portland maine
1 review
Reviewed 8 September 2011

This is my families third trip to Old Orchard Beach, for an end of the summer vacation. Now granted the property is slightly dated, but for the price and service I dont see why anyone whould dream to go elsewhere. The girls at the front desk made me feel so welcome and cofortable on check in. My room was spotless and my family and I were well taken care of by the two nicest housekeepers i ever met. The only bumer was that the music on the tv didnt work and in past years there were tons of music channels to listen to :( over all though The service was aamzing and so quick to help. other than that it was an amazing trip the pool was sparkeling and bright i loved it and i couldnt have asked for a better time with my family. Thanks seel Y'all next year

Room Tip: Have AAA and be polite they will do what ever they can :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gregggportlandmaine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oobmtroyal, General Manager at Americas Best Value Mt. Royal Inn, responded to this review, 11 September 2011
We appreciate your feedback! We do strive to accomodate the needs of all of our guests. We will investigate the wifi troubles you experienced. Thank you again, and we look forward to seeing you again next year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
Reviewed 6 September 2011

I recently stayed at the MT. Royal and I had a blast! My husband and I wanted to take our kids on vacation but wanted some down time of our own, well with the convenience of their location and the list of things to do our kids NEVER got bored which doesn't happen often. The hotel has a wonderful staff who was clean friendly and very helpful. The pool is beautiful and I have to say Really Really clean I don't think I saw one bug or leave for that matter, during our whole stay! and I'll tell you it was hot and the pool was the place to be. The only downfall would be that the rooms look as though the haven't been updated ion years, but as I spoke with the manager I found out that some rooms have been renovated and have already booked my stay for next year. All around This hotel is one of my new favorites and I can't wait to go back for some more fun in the sun next summer!

Room Tip: ask for renovated room if avilable
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Liliana Rosalie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oobmtroyal, General Manager at Americas Best Value Mt. Royal Inn, responded to this review, 11 September 2011
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. We appreciate all comments, and look for areas where we can improve. We do have many renovations plans in place, and we hope to implement them soon. Please call us at -----, and we will gladly provide updates, and look forward to planning your return stay with us! Thank You!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 3 September 2011

my family and I spent a weeknight in one of the top floor rooms. The location of the mount royal waz perfect for our beach day and downtown shopping. The service and managment were incredibly helpful with all of my questions. I was impressed with the housrekeepers promptness on getting everything we asked for. Definitely going to come back next summer

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Judithdudy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Old Orchard Beach hotels
0.2 mi away
Old Colonial Motel
Old Colonial Motel
#17 of 44 in Old Orchard Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 160 reviews
0.3 mi away
Seabreeze Motel
Seabreeze Motel
#42 of 44 in Old Orchard Beach
3.0 of 5 bubbles 104 reviews
0.4 mi away
Crest Motel
Crest Motel
#8 of 44 in Old Orchard Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Marvin Gardens Motel
Marvin Gardens Motel
#32 of 44 in Old Orchard Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 38 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Edgewater
The Edgewater
#6 of 44 in Old Orchard Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 201 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Copley LaReine Motel
The Copley LaReine Motel
#29 of 44 in Old Orchard Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Americas Best Value Mt. Royal Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Americas Best Value Mt. Royal Inn

Property: Americas Best Value Mt. Royal Inn
Address: 30 W Grand Ave, Old Orchard Beach, ME 04064-2624 (Formerly Best Value Inn Mt. Royal Motel)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maine > Old Orchard Beach
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 44 Hotels in Old Orchard Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Americas Best Value Mt. Royal Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Americas Best Value Inn in Old Orchard Beach, Maine is a two-story outdoor corridor horizontally shaped property with 55 comfortable Guest rooms. Some guest rooms are furnished with a kitchenette, jacuzzi, and 27 inch LCD TV. All guest rooms are furnished with high-speed Internet access, microwave, mini-fridge, cable TV, iron, ironing board, free local calls, and free newspaper. Relax in our ocean-view lounge overlooking the famous Old Orchard strip, or sit on the balcony and enjoy the refreshing ocean breeze. We are conveniently located near the center of town across the street from the Beach and Amusement Park. We are also close to the pier, restaurants, and bars with live entertainment. We welcome you to enjoy our crystal clear outdoor Pool. We have a courteous and experienced Staff. Come stay with us and enjoy the value of staying with Americas Best Value Inn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and Hotel.de so you can book your Americas Best Value Mt. Royal Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Americas Best Value Mt. Royal Hotel Old Orchard Beach
Americas Best Value Mt. Royal Inn Old Orchard Beach, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing