We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's a roof over your head, nothing more”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Americas Best Value Mt. Royal Inn
Ranked #34 of 44 Hotels in Old Orchard Beach
Reviewed 16 August 2013

Don't expect much other than a room to sleep in. When we first arrived, we found that 1 of the 2 double beds lying on it's side up against the table and the sheets were thrown on top of the other bed. The room had not been cleaned from the previous guests. There was sand in the beds and on the floor of the bathroom which also had ants. There were no towels or soap in the room as well. All of this was brought to the attention of management when we arrived. All they did was give us towels and soap. If it wasn't for the fact that every other hotel was booked, we would have left. They only silver lining was that it was 1/2 a block to the beach. I now know why it was the only hotel not booked. Within 4 blocks in any direction, there was at least 15 other hotels that were all completely booked.

Room Tip: If you want a nice room, don't book here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Richard C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (169)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

81 - 87 of 169 reviews

Reviewed 14 August 2013

Low frills high value. Clean rooms, convenient to the entire strip with a great deck for people watching. I've been patronizing this motel for 20+ years and have never been disappointed. Friendly and helpful staff.

The only potential gotchas is the rail line that runs behind the rooms which is really not bad at all but those with sensitivity to such things may have a problem with it. Parking can be a little tight for those with larger vehicles but very manageable.

Room Tip: Rooms closest to the office have best WiFi reception.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PfMonaco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2013

We arrived with somewhat lowered expectations since we had read some bad reviews but were pleasantly surprised by the motel. The rooms were quaint albeit somewhat dated but you could say it was retro. The staff was quite friendly and when we needed extra towels they brought them to us right away! Couldn't be any closer to the activities and the close proximity to the beach made it very convenient. We didn't even have to pay for parking which saved a bit of money. The train did rumble by a few times but it seems all the motels have the train close by.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ben C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2013

We had a room with 2 double beds and small refrigerator and was charged $209.00 for the room that was supposed to have a jacuzzi, 2 double beds and refrigerator. Also during our stay the pool was down and got fixed the day we left which was just in time for the weekend guest!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sherry M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2013

This hotel was really a throw back to the type of motel / hotels you see in old Miami Vice shows! it had cheap old paneling, the comforters did not match, the tv was ancient, and the stand it sat on was wobbly. The bathroom was tiny, and barely had room to wash or do other personal service to yourself. BUT, it was a mere stone throw from the beach, you could sit out front in those funky weird 70's chairs and watch the carnival rides, walk to any beach store for a suit, or a souveneir, or right across the road for great fried clams...the pool,was okay, not great, but who expected great?

When I want high end, I go high end. when I want a place to put up my feet, and be close to the action, and just relax...then so be it. This place was fun, simply in it's 70's disrepair, and we hope to stay there again this summer. It was just across from the sand, the restaurants, and the rides. What more could you want...Quiet relaxation? well, Old Orchard is not the place to be...

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Esther A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2013

Stayed here in August 2012 with some girls. It was a great location. Right on the strip. Close to everything. Staff were accomodating. Only bad things were the rooms were outdated, staff did not stay at the front desk overnight, wifi did not work unless we were out on the front steps, and there was alot of drunken rowdiness. We did not mind, but I wouldn't recommend this hotel for young families or those who can not tolerate that. Overall, it was a fun vacation, and the hotel was everything it needed to be for us. Also, the Amtrak train runs directly behind the hotel. Is very loud at 6am.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank peinurse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2012

Oh my where to begin? The mattress was that of a prison mattress, seriously. The room looks to be stuck in the 60's motor lodge theme with old wood panels comprising of the walls, and not very clean. The bedding had a 'grandmothers house' feel to it, mismatched sheets, pillow cases and blanket. It appeared from the outside, some of the other rooms were newly remodeled (and boy do they need it), however I didn't receive such a room and no guarantee you will either. The breakfast was a sugar rush, nothing but jelly rolls, powdered doughnuts, muffins and such. Only positive was the excellent service we received from the night desk clerk handling a late night arrival.

Room Tip: Ask for a newly renovated room!!!!!!!!!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TravelinChimp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Old Orchard Beach hotels
0.1 mi away
Inn at Soho Square
Inn at Soho Square
#33 of 44 in Old Orchard Beach
35 reviews
0.3 mi away
Seabreeze Motel
Seabreeze Motel
#41 of 44 in Old Orchard Beach
108 reviews
0.5 mi away
Beau Rivage Motel
Beau Rivage Motel
#20 of 44 in Old Orchard Beach
243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Concorde
The Concorde
#27 of 44 in Old Orchard Beach
40 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Copley LaReine Motel
The Copley LaReine Motel
#25 of 44 in Old Orchard Beach
98 reviews
0.4 mi away
Crest Motel
Crest Motel
#7 of 44 in Old Orchard Beach
200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Americas Best Value Mt. Royal Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Americas Best Value Mt. Royal Inn

Address: 30 W Grand Ave, Old Orchard Beach, ME 04064-2624 (Formerly Best Value Inn Mt. Royal Motel)
Region: United States > Maine > Old Orchard Beach
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 44 Hotels in Old Orchard Beach
Price Range: £79 - £196 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Americas Best Value Mt. Royal Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Americas Best Value Inn in Old Orchard Beach, Maine is a two-story outdoor corridor horizontally shaped property with 55 comfortable Guest rooms. Some guest rooms are furnished with a kitchenette, jacuzzi, and 27 inch LCD TV. All guest rooms are furnished with high-speed Internet access, microwave, mini-fridge, cable TV, iron, ironing board, free local calls, and free newspaper. Relax in our ocean-view lounge overlooking the famous Old Orchard strip, or sit on the balcony and enjoy the refreshing ocean breeze. We are conveniently located near the center of town across the street from the Beach and Amusement Park. We are also close to the pier, restaurants, and bars with live entertainment. We welcome you to enjoy our crystal clear outdoor Pool. We have a courteous and experienced Staff. Come stay with us and enjoy the value of staying with Americas Best Value Inn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Booking.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Americas Best Value Mt. Royal Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Americas Best Value Mt. Royal Hotel Old Orchard Beach
Americas Best Value Mt. Royal Inn Old Orchard Beach, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing