We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“WOW”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Americas Best Value Mt. Royal Inn
Ranked #35 of 44 Hotels in Old Orchard Beach
Groton, Connecticut
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“WOW”
Reviewed 14 July 2014

Wow, what a find !!!
We stayed at room #246 . The room was on the 2nd floor overlooking the ocean. Very clean !! Our housekeeping girl was great.
The location of this place is great. 2minute walk to everything !!
We will be back next year for sure !!!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MellissaSmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

155 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    49
    30
    23
    17
    36
See reviews for
62
37
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Worcester, Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2014

Hello, everyone !

My husband and i stayed at the Mt royal last weekend and were very happy with everything.
The room was very clean, had everything we needed. A little small , but still worked out perfect for us.
We were at room # 127. It is on the 1st floor which was great for us because my husband had a hip replacement and going up and down the stairs can be challenging . We parked our car right in front of our room .
The room was all tiled, had 2 full size beds- very comfortable, microwave which we did not even use, coffee maker, small refrigerator , A/C.
The location is great - just in the middle of everything. Everybody was very friendly and accommodating .
We made reservation for August 15th and can not wait to be back !
Viki and Doug Shirley

Room Tip: Ask for room closer to the pool because amusement park across the street can get loud at times
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Viki S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
massachusetts
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2014

I cannot recommend this motel. We had a pretty terrible experience--maybe it was an off night or we got a bad room--but our room lacked the cleanliness one would minimally expect at even the cheapest motel on the block. If you've got $200, which is pretty much what you'll shell out for one of these rooms, you're better off going somewhere else. I don't like to write bad reviews, but was really compelled to do so.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank sighclub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oobmtroyal, Manager at Americas Best Value Mt. Royal Inn, responded to this review, 12 July 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to review our property !

Here at the Mt royal we strive to provide our customers with the best service and the cleanest rooms. Each and every of our rooms are being inspected daily by our head housekeeper and myself . All of our housekeepers went through special 20 day training and only the ones that passed the test were hired . With that being said it is very hard to believe that the room was as dirty as you claimed it to be .
Our wonderful front desk personnel is always here and ready to help and accommodate every guest. You should have reported any problems to them and it would have been taken care of immediately. You did not address the issue therefor it could not have been a real issue .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Old Orchard Beach hotels

Mystic
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2014

I was on vacation in OOB we were so pleased with the level of customer service, we did not expect some of our request to be met but just a quick phone call to the front desk and they made it happen and did not make us feel unreasonable about our needs! Great place for couples to reconnect the location is unbeatable and we will be staying at the Mt. Royal again & again. Thanks Brad!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CaryJason
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oobmtroyal, Manager at Americas Best Value Mt. Royal Inn, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Thank you very much for your kind review !
We work very hard to provide the best customer service to all of you ! Very glad we helped making your weekend better ! Looking forward to seeing you again !
Enjoy the rest of your summer !

Mt royal management !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NH
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2014

Stayed here for a girls wknd recently. The location is the best thing about the place. Easy walk to everything. If your a light sleeper ask for a room away from the roller coaster across the street. Traffic on the street can be loud as well.

Rooms have been sort of updated...a coat of paint and new linens. Rest of it is tired. Suspended ceiling...dirty. Old paneling. Bathrooms are tight, leg of sink broken so it was crooked, toilet clogged all wknd, bath tub was old old old. Looked under the bed...shouldn't have done that...can you say dirty and scary? Staff is not helpful what so ever.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Chatteybox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2014

When I saw some of the older reviews, I was hesitant to book my reservation, but I was glad I did! The front desk staff was great and very kind, Brad was very friendly and helpful. The room was nothing like the old pictures on this site, it was very fresh and clean! The sheets and beds were brand new and the new keurig machine was awesome! The view from the 2nd floor was great and the location?! How can you beat being right across the street from the beach and right in the middle of everything Old Orchard Beach has to offer. It was a great time and the Mt Royal definitely made the trip worth it.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank dizzydrizzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2014

What do I start with.. Well the staff, no one there at 4pm to greet us or check us in for over 20min. To then find out he had no reservation for us that we booked with Hotwire and had our confirmation email. Newly renovate ? Ok new linen, decor and paint don't make a difference it was disgusting and I felt like the stairs and porch we're going to collapse plus the bathroom was archaic and decrepit ! Go to check out and once again no one around but a note we had to leave at 7am can't wait till they show up to work at 9am ? So you dint have a staff member there over night? That's scary... Other than a great location that's the only reason I would give one star, we will be lucky if we don't get double charged by them for there mix up on our booking or be lucky to not have a disease from the room..

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank stylistld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Old Orchard Beach hotels
0.2 mi away
Old Colonial Motel
Old Colonial Motel
#18 of 44 in Old Orchard Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 160 reviews
0.3 mi away
Seabreeze Motel
Seabreeze Motel
#42 of 44 in Old Orchard Beach
3.0 of 5 bubbles 104 reviews
0.4 mi away
Crest Motel
Crest Motel
#8 of 44 in Old Orchard Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Marvin Gardens Motel
Marvin Gardens Motel
#32 of 44 in Old Orchard Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 38 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Edgewater
The Edgewater
#6 of 44 in Old Orchard Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 201 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Copley LaReine Motel
The Copley LaReine Motel
#29 of 44 in Old Orchard Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Americas Best Value Mt. Royal Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Americas Best Value Mt. Royal Inn

Property: Americas Best Value Mt. Royal Inn
Address: 30 W Grand Ave, Old Orchard Beach, ME 04064-2624 (Formerly Best Value Inn Mt. Royal Motel)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maine > Old Orchard Beach
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 44 Hotels in Old Orchard Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Americas Best Value Mt. Royal Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Americas Best Value Inn in Old Orchard Beach, Maine is a two-story outdoor corridor horizontally shaped property with 55 comfortable Guest rooms. Some guest rooms are furnished with a kitchenette, jacuzzi, and 27 inch LCD TV. All guest rooms are furnished with high-speed Internet access, microwave, mini-fridge, cable TV, iron, ironing board, free local calls, and free newspaper. Relax in our ocean-view lounge overlooking the famous Old Orchard strip, or sit on the balcony and enjoy the refreshing ocean breeze. We are conveniently located near the center of town across the street from the Beach and Amusement Park. We are also close to the pier, restaurants, and bars with live entertainment. We welcome you to enjoy our crystal clear outdoor Pool. We have a courteous and experienced Staff. Come stay with us and enjoy the value of staying with Americas Best Value Inn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and Hotel.de so you can book your Americas Best Value Mt. Royal Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Americas Best Value Mt. Royal Hotel Old Orchard Beach
Americas Best Value Mt. Royal Inn Old Orchard Beach, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing