We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Back Again!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sea Cliff House Motel
Ranked #24 of 44 Hotels in Old Orchard Beach
Plattsburgh, New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Back Again!!!”
Reviewed 12 August 2014

This is our 5th visit to Seacliff we love it here the staff is great and the views are great we stayed this time in room 5 very nice, we had a private balcony plus use of balcony on other entrance. Very relaxing we already booked are room for next year can't wait to go back great vacation. You can't get much closer to the ocean then this place.

Room Tip: It all depends on your needs they have a variety of options from kitchenettes to suites to rooms wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank prdriver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

183 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    65
    53
    26
    10
    29
See reviews for
66
75
5
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Halifax, Nova Scotia
Level Contributor
47 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2014

We drove into Old Orchard Beach without a hotel reservation on a busy Monday. We walked in to Sea Cliff looking for a room for 4 or 2 rooms. They only had one vacancy for one night which was their 2 bedroom penthouse suite. We booked it for my husband and I, his mother and 14 year-old. It was really beautiful. The view was amazing. The suite was clean, well-appointed and overall very nice. The only complaint that I would have is the hot tub. There was a sign above it that said no children under 12 allowed in spa - strictly enforced. The first day there were parents and two young girls in the hot tub all day - if they were 12, I am 20 haha. The next day again a girl who was around 9 years old sat and waited for me to get out of the hot tub and then got in. They were not strictly enforcing that rule at all.

Room Tip: The penthouse was beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lxs255
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Hampshire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2014

I don't travel much, but was thoroughly disappointed with the Sea Cliff House. It wasn't the actual motel itself, but more the staff and management. The room itself was small but cozy, very clean and super close to the beach. I wish I had thought to check reviews before hand. If I had, I'd see all the warnings about Alex. I feel like if you can avoid Alex completely during your stay, you may actually have a wonderful time. BUT, if you have the displeasure of having any sort of conversation with him, be prepared to have your trip ruined. All for the low, low price of $200+ per night! If you are looking to be mentally abused (and physically threatened), this is the place for you. Absolutely no customer service skills at all. I can't believe the owner has let this kid continue employment for so long (the reviews indicate he's been a problem for a long time!). So disappointed as we don't get many opportunities to get away! Never, ever going back here!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
15 Thank Needtogetaway123456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fran P, Owner at Sea Cliff House Motel, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Unfortunately, because the Office Manager, Alex, represents the firm voice of authority against disruptive behavior by problematic guests – he has been inaccurately depicted and slanderously attacked by those guests, who choose to abuse the online review system in an attempt to disparage Alex and cause our establishment economic harm, while deflecting attention away from their inappropriate behavior.

The Sea Cliff House Motel is a 30-year family owned and operated beach house style lodging that caters to a family oriented clientele base with years of satisfied and annually returning guests. Our primary goal is to ensure that every guest enjoys his or her stay. However, we have a zero-tolerance policy for any violations of motel policies, combative or illegal behavior, harassment of any kind, or any disruptive behavior at the expense of the other guests. While it is not our preference – after verbal reasoning, we will not hesitate to request the removal of problematic guests, if they refuse to modify their behavior. This is standard among many other hotel and motel establishments, because the universal goal is to ensure the peaceful enjoyment and satisfaction of all guests.

We stand behind this policy and we stand behind Alex. The hospitality business is always a work in progress and we are always willing to accept responsibility for anything that needs legitimate improvement. However, we can only hope that visitors of this review site will see that the positive comments made by our satisfied customers are a clear representation of the Sea Cliff House Motel and staff – and will far outweigh the negative remarks made by those with less than honorable intentions.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Old Orchard Beach hotels

Portland, Maine
Level Contributor
73 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2014

My husband surprised me with two nights away for our anniversary, and he chose the Sea Cliff House. It was divine. Our own private stairway from our side deck down to the pool area. It's immediately apparent the hotel is locally owned and family operated. Well-maintained, clean everywhere. Any contact with the managers resulted in immediate, gracious help. Our room was quiet, clean, and modern. The hotel was excellently located, mid-way between quieter Ocean Park and honky-tonk Old Orchard, and on a quiet neighborhood street. We would definitely return here.

Room Tip: Our room, #5, had a private side deck and our own stairway down to the pool/hot tub area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank HappyQuilter40827
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bear Creek Twp., PA
Level Contributor
115 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014

My wife and I, and two children (4 & 7), Stayed at the Seacliff house hotel this past weekend. We had a wonderful weekend. The rooms are very clean. They were a bit smaller then I had expected, but we fit just fine. We had a kitchenette room (Room 34, 2nd floor at the far end). There is a small table, futon, and twin bed in the back room. Plenty of hot water for showers. We used the grills out by the pool area to cook our lunches, but there is also a stove and microwave in the room. Staff was very friendly, and helpful helping us find a few places to have dinner. JJ's at the Pier was okay, and Jimmys by the Sea was a nice place.

The beach was very nice. Not over crowded, and only a short walk over the dune. The ocean water was cold (57 degrees F), but the kids enjoyed jumping waves and riding boogie boards. The Pier, Palace Playland, and Pirate Cove (Miniature Golf) are about a mile north of the hotel, and are all within walking distance. We drove to the lighthouse at Cape Elizabeth, which was very nice area, and only a 20 minute ride. We also had a great time trying Candlepin Bowling at the Big 20. "Lobstah" rolls each day were good, but I didn't have a favorite. Fries near the pier were VERY good, but we forgot to try the Poutine.

The kids really enjoyed the pool (heated to 80s). I didn't use the hottub but my wife said it was nice and warm. There were a few covered tables near the pool area that could be used for lunch, card playing, etc.

Overall, we had a great time at the SeaCliff House Motel, and would recommend it to anyone.

Room Tip: If you are traveling with more than 4 people, you will not want to choose the Kitchenette room. May...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank savakirc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burlington, Vermont
Level Contributor
96 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2014

We loved the Sea Cliff so much 20 months ago, we decided to come back. This was a spur-of-the-moment trip, so we had to "settle" for a room without an ocean view. Honestly, it really doesn't matter, because you just use the room to sleep and shower. This hotel really is the perfect home base in OOB. Rooms are clean and beds are comfy. The pool and spa are awesome. The customer service was great. The access to the beach is the major feature, along with walking accessibility to both Old Orchard Beach pier area and the much quieter and charming Ocean Beach area. We will be back!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VTtraveler4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canterbury
Level Contributor
69 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2014

Anyone who comes to Old Orchard Beach will tell you that rooms are rustic. Sea Cliff works very hard to ensure that the room here are SPOTLESS and have been updated and kept up with as much as possible in a seasonal Maine location.

The management and staff works hard to be friendly and be there for you when you need them.

Stayed here for 2 nights and wanted a nice room. Saco Bay suite was available for one night only. AWESOME room with great view and a bit of privacy in a very crowded beach. Next went to hot tub room. Not as nice, but certainly nice enough.

Impressed with hot tub area and pool on grounds, as well as walkway to the beach. Pristine.

Great job, Sea Cliff!

Room Tip: Choose a suite if you can fit into your budget. Alternatively, a hot tub room is fabulous. I have mi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank beachdoll_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Old Orchard Beach hotels
0.4 mi away
Old Colonial Motel
Old Colonial Motel
#17 of 44 in Old Orchard Beach
166 reviews
0.5 mi away
Americas Best Value Mt. Royal Inn
Americas Best Value Mt. Royal In...
#36 of 44 in Old Orchard Beach
158 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Edgewater
The Edgewater
#5 of 44 in Old Orchard Beach
208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Alouette Beach Resort
Alouette Beach Resort
#12 of 44 in Old Orchard Beach
430 reviews
1.9 mi away
Ocean Walk Hotel
Ocean Walk Hotel
#11 of 44 in Old Orchard Beach
202 reviews
1.0 mi away
Crest Motel
Crest Motel
#8 of 44 in Old Orchard Beach
183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sea Cliff House Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sea Cliff House Motel

Property: Sea Cliff House Motel
Address: 2 Seacliff Ave, Old Orchard Beach, ME 04064
Region: United States > Maine > Old Orchard Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Old Orchard Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sea Cliff House Motel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sea Cliff House Motel is a beachfront property that has been under the same ownership for over 30 years. We have recently renovated the 3rd floor of our main house building and are proud to announce 2 new suites! (2012) We now have 3 luxury suites on our property. The Grand Suite, The Penthouse Suite and the Saco Bay Suite. Our property also has kitchenette units, jacuzzi rooms and of course ocean view rooms that will take your breath away. We are beachfront, offer a swimming pool and outdoor hot spa. Bring your hamburgers and hot dogs because the grills are located poolside for your convenience. All rooms have a mini fridge, microwave and coffee maker. Free wifi and nationwide calling. The suites and kitchenettes are fully appointed. Just bring your clothing and food. NOTE: Only adults 18 & over can enter the hot tub spa ... no children are allowed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Sea Cliff House Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sea Cliff House Hotel Old Orchard Beach
Sea Cliff House And Motel
Sea Cliff Hotel
Sea Cliff Motel
Sea Cliff House Motel Old Orchard Beach, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing