We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“staff & view from deck was excellent”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sea Cliff House Motel
Ranked #22 of 43 Hotels in Old Orchard Beach
East Haven, Connecticut
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“staff & view from deck was excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2014

we our back from our stay this weekend at Seacliff House.. Room 101 was beautiful with the view of the beach from every part of the room..we been coming here for 10 yrs now .The staff & room went up from Good to above excellent.. the young man at the front desk in the morning was very nice..we had a excellent time & will be going back again

Room Tip: room 101 beautiful view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank maryjane28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

182 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    64
    52
    26
    10
    30
See reviews for
64
76
5
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Connecticut
Level Contributor
94 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2014

We enjoyed our stay here with our two children because the hotel is located right on the beach. While our room was on the ground with no view (which was ok with us) we did hear noise above us late at night we would recommend staying on the second floor. Nice pool and spa, close to downtown area but far enough away from the hustle and bustle which we liked. Staff was helpful at check in. Only suggestions to make this place even better would be to have a continental breakfast and better Wi-Fi connection.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sweetchic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2014

This hotel is in the perfect spot, walking distance to the pier and a stone's throw from the beach. We had 3 adults and 2 children and it was pretty cramped in the Kitchenette room. I would recommend that you book your room early to get the room that you want. The staff was friendly and attentive.

We have stayed here several times over the last couple years. We enjoyed our stay but would have chosen a bigger room had it been available. Also the cleaning team came by pretty early a couple of days which made us feel rushed. The room had updated TVs in the living room and pretty dated one's in the bedroom.

I didn't give it five stars because we didn't get a change of sheets during our stay, the hotel beds were not comfy, and the service could have been a little better, especially on check out day. Let's face it, this is not the Hilton.

But even with that, it was a very good experience, and we will be back next summer.

Room Tip: Book early and book online. Call if you want to know which rooms are on the lower floors and closer...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Noelle L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lake George, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2014

We chose to stay at the Sea Cliff despite the reviews of "Alex" and his anger issues. After all how bad could he be. As it turns out - the young man does indeed have anger management issues. He picked a fight with us in the office before we could even check in! He said he was uncomfortable with us staying there because of the conversation his staff had with one of our acquaintances over the phone. Just when we thought cooler heads could prevail his mother joined the conversation and stoked things back up again. I was looking around for a hidden camera! Certainly the most bizarre group of people I have encountered - and my wife and I both work in retail!
The good news is there are several other great motels in the immediate area and they all were quick to sympathize with our apparently rather common experience and offer us a nice stay.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank Peter C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fran P, Owner at Sea Cliff House Motel, responded to this review, 2 September 2014
The individuals in question (a couple and their friend) approached our establishment in an irregular manner, initially through a telephone call made by the friend, who proceeded to make seemingly deceptive payment arrangements for her and the couple, which were clearly outside of our accepted payment terms. When the on-duty office manager (not Alex) explained that their proposed idea was not an accepted method of payment, the caller responded in an unusual and irrational manner making inappropriate and incomprehensible comments referencing her very intimate and personal medical issues. Naturally, this telephone call generated significant concern, making the office manager extremely uncomfortable and suspicious of the caller’s intent.

Subsequently, when the couple visited the office in person, the on-duty office manager (female) addressed the issue with them discussing our payment policies and their friend’s inappropriate behavior during the telephone call. The wife became immediately offended by our concerns and became verbally combative making references to the derogatory and inaccurate reviews about Alex, who was not initially in the office when most of this transpired, but later arrived. The “mother” as referenced in this review, my wife and co-owner of the Sea Cliff House was in the office at the time and attempted to address their concerns. However, they apparently were already tainted by the slanderous portrayal of Alex on this review site and continued to behave offensively in front of a baby in the office. As a result, we made a collective decision that the inappropriate behavior of their friend and her attempt to circumvent our payment system in conjunction with their ensuing dissension and confrontational conduct was already problematic and would be a disturbance to our other guests. We were not willing to take that chance by providing service to them.

Again, because the General Office Manager, Alex, represents the firm voice of authority against disruptive behavior by problematic guests – he has been a target and has been inaccurately depicted and slanderously attacked by those guests, who choose to abuse the online review system in an attempt to vilify Alex, disparage our exemplary reputation, and deflect attention away from their inappropriate behavior. Brazenly threatening to post unfavorable reviews for refunds, discounts, preferential treatment, and exoneration for combative, disruptive, and illegal behavior is clearly extortion and it seems that there are several professional refund seekers in our world today, comparable to ambulance chasers, who are specifically targeting and provoking members of the hospitality industry through online review services to extort refunds.

The Sea Cliff House Motel is a 30-year family owned and operated beach house style lodging that caters to a family oriented clientele base with years of satisfied and annually returning guests. Our primary goal is to ensure that every guest enjoys his or her stay. However, we have a zero-tolerance policy for any violations of motel policies, combative or illegal behavior, harassment of any kind, or any disruptive conduct toward or at the expense of any other guests and staff. While it is not our preference – after verbal reasoning, we will not hesitate to refuse service or request the removal of problematic individuals, if they refuse to conduct themselves in an appropriate manner. This is standard among many other hospitality establishments, because the universal goal is to ensure the peaceful enjoyment and satisfaction of all guests.

We are most certainly willing to accept responsibility and rectify any legitimate issues, as we continue to strive for improvement to maintain the continuity of excellence that our customers are accustomed to receiving. However, we will not stand quiet, as professional refund seekers fraudulently attempt to cause economic harm to our business for their own financial gain.

Further, we can only hope that visitors of this review site will see that Alex is simply doing his job and doing it well, and we hope that the abundant number of positive comments made by our satisfied customers are a clear representation of the Sea Cliff House Motel and staff – and far outweigh the unsubstantiated negative remarks made by those with less than honorable intentions.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Old Orchard Beach hotels

Plainfield, Vermont
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2014

We recently booked a 3 night stay in Room 1 for our honeymoon. Upon arrival we were quite pleased with our room. We later discovered that the carpet in front of the door was soaking yet from what we assumed was the previous nights rain. The next morning we arose and went into town to do some shopping and as the office wasn't yet open figured we would stop when we returned from getting food and drinks for the weekend. Upon returning to the hotel my husband saw one of the staff going by and calked out to him to let him know of the wet for and to see if we could get a fan to dry it out. The staff member immediately got defensive and stated that they had thought they had gotten the floor dry from the previous occupants leaving the door open to enjoy the storm. He then said that he didn't feel comfortable with us being in that room and would refund our money and we could find another place to stay. All we wanted was a fan not to be kicked out of our room! Another staff member did find a fan and offered to give us a refund for the previous night but by that time my husband was pissed about the way the male staff member reacted that we left and drove to York. Customer service is what brings people back and we sure will bot be going back here!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
14 Thank Kim K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fran P, Owner at Sea Cliff House Motel, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
The room in question was in fact, inundated with water the previous night, as a result of Mother Nature and a few unusual circumstances. While we appreciated the customer’s willingness to remain and simply use a fan to dry out the carpet – we determined that there was significantly more water underneath causing the continual dampness. Consequently, this room was no longer within appropriate standards for occupancy. We needed to take invasive and labor intensive measures in an expeditious manner, to preclude any risk to the customer’s well-being or further damage to the room.

We were disappointed that we could not better accommodate the customer by offering another room, because the Sea Cliff House was completely booked that day and there were not any other rooms available. We had hoped that a full refund would have enabled the customer to find suitable lodging elsewhere to minimize any inconvenience that they had endured. It is unfortunate that the customer misinterpreted our disappointment for defensiveness. However, the customer’s departure was the only option available under these regrettable circumstances. It was not a punishment by any means – it was simply in the customer’s best interest.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plattsburgh, New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2014

This is our 5th visit to Seacliff we love it here the staff is great and the views are great we stayed this time in room 5 very nice, we had a private balcony plus use of balcony on other entrance. Very relaxing we already booked are room for next year can't wait to go back great vacation. You can't get much closer to the ocean then this place.

Room Tip: It all depends on your needs they have a variety of options from kitchenettes to suites to rooms wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank prdriver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax, Nova Scotia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2014

We drove into Old Orchard Beach without a hotel reservation on a busy Monday. We walked in to Sea Cliff looking for a room for 4 or 2 rooms. They only had one vacancy for one night which was their 2 bedroom penthouse suite. We booked it for my husband and I, his mother and 14 year-old. It was really beautiful. The view was amazing. The suite was clean, well-appointed and overall very nice. The only complaint that I would have is the hot tub. There was a sign above it that said no children under 12 allowed in spa - strictly enforced. The first day there were parents and two young girls in the hot tub all day - if they were 12, I am 20 haha. The next day again a girl who was around 9 years old sat and waited for me to get out of the hot tub and then got in. They were not strictly enforcing that rule at all.

Room Tip: The penthouse was beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lxs255
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Old Orchard Beach hotels
0.4 mi away
Old Colonial Motel
Old Colonial Motel
#18 of 43 in Old Orchard Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 159 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Edgewater
The Edgewater
#6 of 43 in Old Orchard Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 196 reviews
1.3 mi away
Alouette Beach Resort
Alouette Beach Resort
#11 of 43 in Old Orchard Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 427 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Marvin Gardens Motel
Marvin Gardens Motel
#31 of 43 in Old Orchard Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 38 reviews
1.9 mi away
Ocean Walk Hotel
Ocean Walk Hotel
#10 of 43 in Old Orchard Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 196 reviews
1.0 mi away
Crest Motel
Crest Motel
#8 of 43 in Old Orchard Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sea Cliff House Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sea Cliff House Motel

Property: Sea Cliff House Motel
Address: 2 Seacliff Ave, Old Orchard Beach, ME 04064
Region: United States > Maine > Old Orchard Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Old Orchard Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sea Cliff House Motel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sea Cliff House Motel is a beachfront property that has been under the same ownership for over 30 years. We have recently renovated the 3rd floor of our main house building and are proud to announce 2 new suites! (2012) We now have 3 luxury suites on our property. The Grand Suite, The Penthouse Suite and the Saco Bay Suite. Our property also has kitchenette units, jacuzzi rooms and of course ocean view rooms that will take your breath away. We are beachfront, offer a swimming pool and outdoor hot spa. Bring your hamburgers and hot dogs because the grills are located poolside for your convenience. All rooms have a mini fridge, microwave and coffee maker. Free wifi and nationwide calling. The suites and kitchenettes are fully appointed. Just bring your clothing and food. NOTE: Only adults 18 & over can enter the hot tub spa ... no children are allowed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Odigeo so you can book your Sea Cliff House Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sea Cliff House Hotel Old Orchard Beach
Sea Cliff House And Motel
Sea Cliff Hotel
Sea Cliff Motel
Sea Cliff House Motel Old Orchard Beach, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing