We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, dirty room.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Alouette Beach Resort
Ranked #14 of 44 Hotels in Old Orchard Beach
Reviewed 20 March 2012

We stayed at the Beach Walk Oceanfront Inn, in the Windsong building, for a few days in August 2011. (I had been to Old Orchard a number of times prior to this trip.)

PROS:
-The location was great, right on the beach.
-There was guest parking right outside our door.
-There was a pool, right beside our building.
-Breakfast at the Alouette was good.
-The room had a kitchenette.
-Double sliding doors in our room and two little chairs outside the room, so you could sit outside with an oceanview.

CONS:
-The room was extremey outdated (which is what to expect for a beach-town), but this place needs some TLC.
-The room was very small. We were only 2 in the room, and I don't know how the room could comfortably fit more.
-The room was very dirty upon checking in. Somebody else's used contact lenses were on the bathroom floor, there was used broken up soap bar bits caked to the bathroom floor and wall / foods crumbs all around the base of the bed / ripped comforter on the bed.
-Whenever someone would use the outdoor shower by the pool we could hear the pipes vibrate with a loud sound ('moaning'? -for lack of a better desciptive word) the entire time we were there. At first it was laughable, but that got old really fast.
We called front desk about the state of the room and the pipes. We were told someone would be sent to clean the room or we could check-out. (We were told by another guest that the pipes were an ongoing problem for this motel and that they were not able to fix them in the past.) Seeing as though we wouldn't have had much luck finding another beachfront place to stay at a moment's notice in August, and we were only there for 3 days, we stayed put. Also, we spent our days at the beach, so we weren't going to be spending much of our time awake in the room.

If I were to return to Old Orchard I would stay elsewhere.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HoneyB1809
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (459)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

254 - 260 of 459 reviews

Reviewed 15 February 2012

My husband, 3 children, and I had the best vacation ever while visiting Old Orchard Beach, Me. We stayed at the Alouette Beach Resort, and it suited us perfectly. The location is absolutely perfect. I loved waking up to the sound of the ocean waves first thing in the morning, their cafe, which we ate at least 2 meals at daily, and the bar-b-q in located in their parking lot. We are definitely returning there in 2012!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jessica M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2012

and what makes it even more special, is that its a Pet Friendly hotel. We get to bring our little dog with us, take her for walks on the beach (which is right outside of uour room !!!), go for walks around town and the many Nature Trails in the area. Very clean rooms and very friendly staff.....and I've recommended it to my friends as well.

Room Tip: Ask for the rooms CLOSEST to the beach !!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rhonda b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 December 2011

We went in early august 2011, and couldn't believe that we paid over $200/night for our room! It was an ocean view with a private balcony. When we first got there, both beds in the room were covered in sand. Our closet door was broken, the outlet covers didn't cover the electrical wires behind them. We had 2 children, so this was a concern. Housekeeping was horrible! We stayed a week, and didn't ask the housekeeper to clean our room until the 3rd day, and one of my children accidentally got chocolate on the sheet and pillowcase, so we figured when the maid serviced our room, we would have clean linens... WRONG! Our same dirty wet towels were still in there, as were the stained sheets.... For your money, you can get a better motel, I promise!

Room Tip: I don't think there are ANY acceptable rooms here!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Mishel L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2011

I started off cranky with this place as the web prices were misleading. Check if you are traveling with a party of more than two because the "extra" per person for kids soon adds up.
The room was average, but clean. The bed was awful, we sank into the middle (great for getting close). But we had been staying in much better organised properties, so perhaps this place is more geared to summer holiday makers who just need a beach spot.
The location is amazing, we loved being only steps to the water, and we were at the properties furthest away. Some of the rooms are spitting distance from the sand.
The breakfast was average, but the couple running the restaurant were lovely.
The pool was nice to have, and the owner kept it open a little later for us which was nice.
We only stayed a night, but I imagine it would be a good option if you are looking for a simple summer vacation spot where you need the beach.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank meljup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2011

We have visited Old Orchard Beach many times over the years but this is the first time that we stayed. We had a room in Windsong overlooking the beach. It was small but adequate for our few days. As it was off season it was quiet on the beach and most businesses had shut down for the winter. We knew this and appreciated the peace and quiet but it may not suit everybody. It was wonderful to lie in bed and hear the waves roll and then watch the sunrise from our balcony over a deserted beach. We wanted to book a package which was not available, however the gentleman taking the booking made it happen for us. The staff were all wonderful and extremely helpful with recommendations and even booking tickets for a show for us. I would definitely recommend this resort to other travelers.

Room Tip: Travel off season for great views and peace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank paypay7575
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2011

OK so I suppose this is all about expectations, and granted we were there on a holiday weekend so the price was probably higher than usual... But for what we paid, I was expecting something a little more robust. The floor was crooked and the decorations were from another decade gone by. The staff were pleasant enough and the beach is right there, so I don't mean to totally dismiss our experience, but I think my parents and I were all shocked that this was the place that had such high reviews on trip advisor. You could stay here, and maybe for Old Orchard Beach this is one of the top destinations, I can't say, but don't be expecting some kind of amazingly modern accommodations. you're paying for the proximity to the beach. period.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank heavans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Old Orchard Beach hotels
0.9 mi away
Old Colonial Motel
Old Colonial Motel
#19 of 44 in Old Orchard Beach
200 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Edgewater
The Edgewater
#4 of 44 in Old Orchard Beach
232 reviews
1.3 mi away
Sea Cliff House Motel
Sea Cliff House Motel
#20 of 44 in Old Orchard Beach
198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Friendship Oceanfront Suites
Friendship Oceanfront Suites
#8 of 44 in Old Orchard Beach
174 reviews
0.9 mi away
Sea View Inn
Sea View Inn
#26 of 44 in Old Orchard Beach
138 reviews
0.1 mi away
Normandie Oceanfront Motor Inn
Normandie Oceanfront Motor Inn
#3 of 44 in Old Orchard Beach
571 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alouette Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alouette Beach Resort

Address: 91 E Grand Ave, Old Orchard Beach, ME 04064-2932
Region: United States > Maine > Old Orchard Beach
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Old Orchard Beach
#10 Romantic Hotel in Old Orchard Beach
Price Range: £51 - £138 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Alouette Beach Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Alouette is a beachfront destination with a variety of accommodations and levels of ameneties that fit the needs and tastes of both vacationers and business travelers.Ameneties include in season indoor and outdoor heated pools, a fun and casual cafe serving probably the best breakfast in town. Beachfront and ocean view vistas, many accommodations with kitchen facilities.The Alouette Sunrise Suites are brand new luxury suites -- they feature first class concierge level beachfront and oceanview suites, fireplaces, fantastic views from private balconies, soaking tubs, free long distance calls, free wifi, sauna and guest membership in a quality private health club.The Alouette also offers a selection of rooms that are "pet friendly" -- these accommodations includes beachfront and kitchenettes, Jacuzzi suites and economy offerings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Alouette Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alouette Beach Hotel Old Orchard Beach
Alouette Beach Old Orchard
Alouette Beach Resort Old Orchard Beach, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing