We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Location, location, location!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Alouette Beach Resort
Ranked #11 of 43 Hotels in Old Orchard Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Plainville, Connecticut
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Location, location, location!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2014

My wife and I stayed here for Memorial Day weekend. It was our first trip to Maine and Old Orchard Beach. Before selecting the Alouette we did our homework, checking multiple sites and scouring through reviews before settling on a place. The Alouette as seen on the internet is NOT what you get when you arrive. There are 2 sets of buildings here, the new beach facing suites and the old prison like dated rooms. The descriptions and glowing reviews from other posters are all coming from people who have stayed in suites in the new building. This is also what is widely depicted on the internet. The rest of the rooms are old, the beds are uncomfortable, the bathrooms are tiny, the linens are worn and the lighting is just plain bad. On most vacations you end up out of the hotel all day doing various things, but on this trip my wife and I are looking for things to do that will keep us out of the room. The only positive thing I have to say is the hotel is near the beach and is walking distance to the pier.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Wahid C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

426 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    189
    100
    57
    33
    47
See reviews for
180
133
6
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2014

After reading the glowing reviews of others, we wondered if we were staying in the same place. The room appeared to be clean but the coffee maker/ carafe and refrig were gross. The room was dated; dimly lit; looked like a throwback to the 1950's. Needs paint and new carpets. The A/C was a noisy window-type unit. The green velour blanket had holes in it that were patched with thread. Wifi did not function; no phone to call front desk. Outdoor pool was well maintained. An Amtrak train across the street blows it's whistle all day but it did not disturb our sleep. Unless you are staying in their "new" suite bldg, forget this place- it was not worth the approx 250/night.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Nowad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
120 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2014

We used to stay to the right of the pier but decided to take a chance on the Alouette Beach Resort. Smiles all around. We hadn't been to OOB in 12 years, and nothing has changed. People who love OOB, love OOB, and many of the people you meet here have been coming for years if not decades or generations. We brought our kids for the ocean and pier, and they are the fourth generation on my wife's side to do so.

Let me say, the new building is wonderful. The rooms are spacious and contemporary. We stayed in a suite with a side-view of the ocean, two bedrooms (one murphy bed, a pull out bed, and a king size bed). The showers had weird futuristic handles that took a minute to understand, but the hot water ran forever. The cleaning staff was wonderful - I have to point out, we had dirty dishes in our sink and they actually cleaned them. I felt terrible about that, but also very surprised. There is an indoor pool which isn't heated but isn't freezing. There is also an outdoor pool outside one of their other buildings next door. We skipped the outdoor pool.

The hotel is probably a ten minute walk to the pier (fifteen on the beach), which is nice because you avoid all the commotion, traffic and pier noise – especially at night. There is a variety store just down the street on the opposite side, but I'd avoid it for groceries because it charges tourist prices.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Brad C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vERY HOT aRIZONA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2014

We drove to Old Orchard Beach to check it out and just spend the day. We ended up have a great day and decided to have a few drinks and which time we started looking for a place to stay. This was a great location. Everyone there was friendly and helpful. Rooms were clean and for last minute we did not regret our choice :) About 10pm we grab a slice of pizza and a six pack and headed to the beach with our towels. it was right down the walkway and again we could not have been more pleased with our choice.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sunshiney71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lewiston, Maine
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2014 via mobile

We stayed at Windsong, 12. It was perfect for my husband & I & our 3yo. Queen & daybed/twin. Yes. Tiny room OOB style which means outdated & some would say rundown if they don't understand the OOB way. That is, your room is to sleep, not to hang out in.
From our porch, we had an ocean view (not direct) There is a pool out of the ocean breeze.
I give extra kudos to our maid. She was super friendly & went the extra mile.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Bridget L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2014

We bring our family every year and have been for several years now. Found it by chance online!!! We love it here. Far enough away from the pier to have a less crowded beach but close enough for an easy walk! We love our beachfront room and have our children and grandchildren in a 3 bdrm apartment in the building just behind us! Already made our 2015 summer reservations. We also came this past February for a valentines special weekend and that was fabulous as well!!! Thanks Fred and Ann and staff! Keep up the good work!

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roxireuls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Massachusetts
Level Contributor
105 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

This was my first trip to Old Orchard Beach with my family and another family. Stayed 2 nights. The Alouette was not our first choice but it was where we could get two rooms only in the "old" section.
Location: Right on the beach and the beach was a lot less crowded then down by the pier. Proximity to pier was great, probably about a 15 min walk.. doable with the kids. Great location.

Room: DATED. I expected it would not be in wonderful shape from reading other reviews on Trip advisor, but Wow.. I felt like I was in the 50's. Extremely dated bed spreads, furniture, rug, bathroom tiny and old. Linens on beds and towels awful. I've traveled a lot and this was the first time I woke up with back and shoulder pain. I will say that the room appeared clean and it was nice to have a refrigerator. Wifi spotty. For the amount of money we spent on this room I would have expected something nicer. I'm surprised that the owners don't spend a little bit of money to update these rooms a bit. I would have loved to have seen the new updated suites.

Pool: Indoor pool, small but the kids enjoyed it.

Overall For the money I spent and the condition of the furnishings I can't give this more than a fair. Again.. great location.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
5 Thank tuliplvr22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Old Orchard Beach hotels
0.9 mi away
Old Colonial Motel
Old Colonial Motel
#18 of 43 in Old Orchard Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 159 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ocean Walk Hotel
Ocean Walk Hotel
#10 of 43 in Old Orchard Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 195 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Edgewater
The Edgewater
#7 of 43 in Old Orchard Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Marvin Gardens Motel
Marvin Gardens Motel
#31 of 43 in Old Orchard Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 38 reviews
0.3 mi away
Crest Motel
Crest Motel
#8 of 43 in Old Orchard Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 179 reviews
1.3 mi away
Sea Cliff House Motel
Sea Cliff House Motel
#22 of 43 in Old Orchard Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alouette Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alouette Beach Resort

Property: Alouette Beach Resort
Address: 91 E Grand Ave, Old Orchard Beach, ME 04064-2932
Region: United States > Maine > Old Orchard Beach
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Old Orchard Beach
#10 Romantic Hotel in Old Orchard Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Alouette Beach Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Alouette is a beachfront destination with a variety of accommodations and levels of ameneties that fit the needs and tastes of both vacationers and business travelers.Ameneties include in season indoor and outdoor heated pools, a fun and casual cafe serving probably the best breakfast in town. Beachfront and ocean view vistas, many accommodations with kitchen facilities.The Alouette Sunrise Suites are brand new luxury suites -- they feature first class concierge level beachfront and oceanview suites, fireplaces, fantastic views from private balconies, soaking tubs, free long distance calls, free wifi, sauna and guest membership in a quality private health club.The Alouette also offers a selection of rooms that are "pet friendly" -- these accommodations includes beachfront and kitchenettes, Jacuzzi suites and economy offerings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Booking.com so you can book your Alouette Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alouette Beach Hotel Old Orchard Beach
Alouette Beach Old Orchard
Alouette Beach Resort Old Orchard Beach, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing