We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So Much Potential in this Historic Beach Front Property”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Old Orchard Beach
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Ocean House and Motel
Ranked #36 of 44 Hotels in Old Orchard Beach
Reviewed 16 August 2012

We stayed in a small room in the original building. As some other reviewers have noted, the hotel was once a small grand dame of summer resorts. The architecture is fascinating and the layout is wonderful: expansive parlors and sitting rooms, wonderfully shaded porches with ample shade and rocking chairs. Many guests can enjoy working on puzzles or playing board and card games that the hotel provides. The original property does not have AC or TV in the rooms or in the parlors either. Since they do provide large window fans and the hotel faces the beach, it is easy to fill the room with the cool ocean air and it feels and smells divine! You just can't beat the location, view, or the price! There is also free wifi (not in the rooms though).
The hotel is also kept clean and we did have an updated shower with good pressure. Only two small towels are provided per day and they don't always make the bed up -- we were told that "after you've been there a while they stop doing that" ---- hmmm.... Our room was very small, however, with little space to move around the double bed. A torn curtain served as the "door" to the closet. The dresser was also old and stuck when you tried to open it. The mattress was just okay but the pillows were very good.
Nevertheless, the property is in extensive need of updating and repair. The plaster is cracking on the first floor and looks terrible. Also, even though the place is filled with antique furniture, it is getting musty and many of the pieces are uncomfortable. Either the furniture should be reupolstered or sold and the funds used for new chairs and sofas. The rugs are practically threadbare as well and have faded. I think the owners would do well to research getting one of those historic restoration grants to make improvements on the property in order to restore it to its original beauty.
The desk staff is very friendly and helpful with recommendations about dining and attractions. A clean pool faces the ocean with nice lounge chairs. Of course, the gorgeous beach is just steps away.
We came to the Ocean House knowing what to expect and so we enjoyed ourselves.

Room Tip: Try for an ocean view -- if in the original house opt for second floor rather than third since there...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank We'reReady!!
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (57)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

24 - 30 of 57 reviews

Reviewed 9 July 2012

Ocean House, room 9 was situated along the pool area; as the TripAdvisor rating was pretty high so were my expectations. However, first off was the parking... very tight and hard to maneuvering leaving parking area. The room itself was of a reasonable size but in need of some upgrades. Pots & pans badly pitted, bedspreads were threadbare and the plumbing was horrible. Whenever someone turned on the shower the pipes in the kitchen would make a horrible noise and we constantly needed to turn on the hot water and let it drip for a while. Mattresses slipped off boxspring to the point we thought we would fall out of bed each night. On the other hand A/C was great. The old hotel area with its spacious reading / games rooms were fabulous... the pool was clean, very family-oriented. Not sure I would stay here again as the inconveniences outweighed the perks. I only rated the value as a 3 bcuz of all the problems with the room.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Mary D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2011

Room 36. Very pleasant and would stay again. On the beach and clean.

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank 123bag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2011

We went for a family vacation (6 of us, three generations). Rented two motels and one room in the hotel. Everything is clean. Just a few steps from the beach. Nice pool, but a bit crowded. The house offers many different lounges where you can read or where you can get together to chat. This made our stay very enjoyable.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Jo_Qc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2011

Nice place directly on the beach and near the pool. Perfect with children. However, the kitchenette was not very well equipped. We have already seen much better. Pots should be replaced. The water has boiled after 2 hours (the bottom of the cauldron was lumpy). Ish... Coffee may be provided. No shampoo in the bathroom. The motel and the hotel could be renovated, but we were there for the beach and we had the sun all stay. It could also be games for children at the pool or play structure. People were very nice.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank boisvertmc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2011

I was invited to go with a friend and her children as her husband could not make it due last minute work scheduling. So I gladly agreed as I'm an ocean junky. unfortunately being used to the ocean in Cuba, Old Orchard sure pales in comparison. I had heard so many stories of Old Orchard from my mother when she would reminisce about her family outings to Maine. It's really a bit of a hick town....one hotel/motel one on top of the other all facing the beach. never seen so many dirty diapers on a beach in my life!! Gross.

The people are friendly as in most places that depend on tourism. The food is okay...there is a reason where there is a weight problem in North America... Trying to find something healthy was a stretch....we went to the grocery store and bought our own.

The room was okay. Two double beds, a kitchenette and paper thin walls. One neighbor fought all night and kept the baby up and screaming at the other side of us. Earplugs a must.

The main house itself is interesting...in its heyday it must of been quite spectacular! The boardwalk is kitch.

I found it so over priced! She ended up paying more for a couple of days there than she would of for one full week in Cuba - air and hotel all in!! CRAZY!

We drove down to Hampton Beach which was nicer.

My friend was also disappointed with the place, location etc. Next time we'll try Martha's Vineyard.

The ocean was great though!

All in all if you are going for an ocean break try to go outside of the big tourist season and you won't be disappointed with the price and hopefully you'll less tourists and diapers on the beach.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank pinamimi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2010

I found the room to be clean, simple and comfortable for my stay. The motel is located steps away from the beach so it was easy to grab my stuff and be on the sand in seconds. The help was willing to go the extra mile despite the busy conditions. I will be staying here again in the future!

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank popsfiedler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Old Orchard Beach hotels
0.3 mi away
Sea Cliff House Motel
Sea Cliff House Motel
#21 of 44 in Old Orchard Beach
197 reviews
1 mi away
Alouette Beach Resort
Alouette Beach Resort
#17 of 44 in Old Orchard Beach
455 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Copley LaReine Motel
The Copley LaReine Motel
#25 of 44 in Old Orchard Beach
98 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Americas Best Value Mt. Royal Inn
Americas Best Value Mt. Royal In...
#34 of 44 in Old Orchard Beach
169 reviews
0.5 mi away
Atlantic Birches Inn
Atlantic Birches Inn
#2 of 25 in Old Orchard Beach
103 reviews
0.4 mi away
Pine View Lodge
Pine View Lodge
#14 of 23 in Old Orchard Beach
34 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean House and Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean House and Motel

Address: 70 W Surf St, Old Orchard Beach, ME 04064-2643
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maine > Old Orchard Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 On the Beach Hotel in Old Orchard Beach
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A family enterprise for over 50 years. Our unique hotel is located directly on the beach. We're within easy walking distance of many good restaurants and Old Orchard's famous boardwalk pier and amusement park. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Ocean Hotel Old Orchard Beach
Ocean House And Motel Old Orchard Beach, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing