We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not Friendship”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Friendship Oceanfront Suites
Ranked #9 of 44 Hotels in Old Orchard Beach
Certificate of Excellence
A TripAdvisor Member
“Not Friendship”
Reviewed 18 September 2005

When I stay at an oceanfront motel, the only noise I want to hear is the ocean, not the people next door or outside the room. There should be some kind of noise insulation put in this motel.
A footnote to my stay there.
We paid for 2 nights. On the 1st night my wife and I received a call that there was a death in the family. My wifes mother was distraught, so we wanted to be by here side, so we checked out the next morning.
At that time we were told that there would be no refund.
Is this friendship from the Friendship Inn. You would think that in certains situations, there would be some kind of a refund policy. From now on I will pay for one night at a time, and it will never be a a Friendship Inn.
Shame on you!

  • Stayed September 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
4 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

163 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    79
    55
    19
    7
    3
See reviews for
81
36
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Pittsford, NY
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 August 2005

Great hotel for families with young kids. People come back year after year, and there are lots of grandparents present as well. This is not a singles environment. But if you're looking for a place to bring little kids, with a safe clean pool and set back far enough from the ocean, this is it. Managers were very nice. We'll be back next year. Thanks!

  • Stayed August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank spinnakerjoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 16 August 2005

This was our 5th year staying here. The view and beach are incredible! The property grounds are impeccably clean as so is the rooms! We are a family of 5 and will be going back years too come!

  • Stayed August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 29 July 2005

First time at the Friendship and we loved it. Very clean rooms and a great pool. We really enjoyed sitting out on our balcony and watching the ocean. It is a great family place with a very friendly staff. Our kids cannot wait to come back next year.

  • Stayed July 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 21 July 2005

Lets just say that I would've paid the same money to sleep on the beach with a sleeping bag. Unfortunately our plans were last minute so we were forced to stay at one of the "less desirable" of our lodging choices. To be honest I may book tonight for next year just so we get our first choice. The room smelled of smoke and liquor, and more than just a little, the beach was right there, but I nearly got splinters walking back from the beach, due to their unkept motel.

As I said in the caption I wish I would've stayed in the car or bribed a nicer motel for a last minute room closer to the pier. Although the staff was very nice, the friendship is definitely not my friend. They were far from the pier, the rooms were old, smelly and not what I wanted during my stay in old orchard, next time it will be west grand for me!

  • Stayed July 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 18 July 2005

We had originally booked elsewhere and checked out within 4 hours...and lost over 500.00 in the deal....we drove down the beach and found this place...it was clean, bright and well maintained...the owners showed us a room before we checked in and offered me an aspirin since it was obvious that I had had a terrible day with the "other place"...the rooms were bright and cheery, clean and comfortable...we were happy...the beach was clean and uncrowded and the pool and patio area are well-kept....plenty of seating. plus with a guest laundry as an added bonus...it is a family atmosphere with many repeat-customers... the daily maid service is a bonus..the staff is friendly....I would whole heartedly recommend this place....we ended up extending our vacation two days and they accomodated us with no problem...we are already planning on returning next year......and we will be staying here.....

  • Stayed July 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 18 May 2005

I've taken my family to the Friendship Motor Inn for 4 summers now, and I'm definitely planning on going back as many times as possible. Even during busy July my stay was enjoyable. The staff was friendly and helpful, and were truly happy to have us as their guests. The rooms were great. Two room suites, which is great if you have any little ones with you. Maid service everyday was very helpful. Everyone there seemed very family-oriented and glad to be in Old Orchard for the summer. Great view. Right on the beach. Very relaxing. I highly recommend the Friendship if you are in the Old Orchard Beach area.

Stayed July 2004
Helpful?
5 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Old Orchard Beach hotels
1.2 mi away
Old Colonial Motel
Old Colonial Motel
#16 of 44 in Old Orchard Beach
171 reviews
0.3 mi away
Alouette Beach Resort
Alouette Beach Resort
#12 of 44 in Old Orchard Beach
436 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ocean Walk Hotel
Ocean Walk Hotel
#11 of 44 in Old Orchard Beach
207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Crest Motel
Crest Motel
#7 of 44 in Old Orchard Beach
190 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Edgewater
The Edgewater
#4 of 44 in Old Orchard Beach
213 reviews
0.3 mi away
Echo Motel & Oceanfront Cottages
Echo Motel & Oceanfront Cottages
#2 of 44 in Old Orchard Beach
224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Friendship Oceanfront Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Friendship Oceanfront Suites

Property: Friendship Oceanfront Suites
Address: 167 E Grand Ave, Old Orchard Beach, ME 04064-3009 (Formerly Friendship Motor Inn)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maine > Old Orchard Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Old Orchard Beach
#16 Family Hotel in Old Orchard Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Friendship Oceanfront Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Friendship Oceanfront Suites accommodations are perfect for the entire family. Featuring 71 two room suites, all living rooms have a double sleep sofa with your choice of king or two twin beds in the bedroom. All rooms have private bath with stand-up shower. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Friendship Oceanfront Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Friendship Motor Hotel Old Orchard Beach
Friendship Hotel Old Orchard Beach
Friendship Motel Old Orchard Beach
Friendship Oceanfront Suites Old Orchard Beach, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing