We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“2nd visit”
Review of Beau Rivage Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Beau Rivage Motel
Ranked #18 of 44 Hotels in Old Orchard Beach
canmore
Level 6 Contributor
136 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“2nd visit”
Reviewed 16 May 2013

The off season can be quite quiet and finding an open (affordable) property can be challenging. This family owned business had very friendly staff and great prices. Close to all the attractions in town (walking distance). Given it was the off season not every room was available. We had a room on the second floor. There was a small fridge and microwave. Although it over looks the tracks in the back, so do the majority of properties on this side of the (non beach front) road. Pretty hard to get away from. If you are a light sleeper this is probably not for you. Make sure to ask for the breakers to be turned on for the hot tub. Super nice patio on the roof of the spa and sauna, great when the beach is too windy.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank canmorebackpacker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

238 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    119
    70
    18
    14
    17
See reviews for
107
57
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Troy, New York
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 December 2012

Family sized suites are available.
They have many choices for layouts and beds.

Weather can get a little cool in Maine...
That's why we like Heated pool, whirlpool and steam room.

We'll be back to Old Orchard Beach every year,
and stay at The Beau, Crosswinds Cottages, or Sea View
depending upon prices and availability!

Big thanks to the staff for a pleasant visit to 'The Beau'.
:-)

Room Tip: Kitchenettes and larger rooms are available across the street from the beach (same side as the poo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank wblais1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JoAnn L, Owner at Beau Rivage Motel, responded to this review, 29 December 2012
Happy New Year and thank you for your review of our property. We sincerely appreciate what our guests think about us and happy that you enjoyed our Amenities. Hope to see you in 2013 !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saratoga Springs, New York
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2012

We have been staying at the Beau Rivage for several years and every year it is just as good as the year before. What really impresses me is that we always see the owner taking an active role in the hotels upkeep. Everything is always clean. The room is always fresh and everyone is always very helpful. Just give them a try and I'm certain that you won't be disappointed and will become "regulars" like we are every time we visit.

Room Tip: We have actually stayed in all of their rooms, but one word to the wise. If you are not prepared, th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KiaTy625
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JoAnn L, Owner at Beau Rivage Motel, responded to this review, 10 September 2012
Thank you for your nice review of our property. We are happy that you appreciate what we do. We always look forward to seeing folks like you year after year - that's what makes our business so much fun!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Billerica, Massachusetts
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2012

I have stayed here twice in the past 3 years and I love your motel it is the true picture of what Old Orchard beach is ... It's not the ritz or the plaza hotel .... It's a fun clean laid back motel with great amenities all around you (beach, amusement park etc...) don't change a thing everyone who gave you bad reviews have no idea the TRUE meaning of coming here !!!!! I have been coming to OOB since I was a kid ...... Late 70's early - mid 80's I'm glad it hasn't changed much since then including all motels on the strip......don't change a thing!!!!!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pmbruins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JoAnn L, Owner at Beau Rivage Motel, responded to this review, 31 August 2012
Thank you for your nice compliments, and our Staff truly appreciates them as much as we do!
We're not new, but we make up for that in all the ways you stated. And you want to know something? We also stay in local-owned properties when we travel and enjoy the personality of on hands-on owners and staff who recognize us; what we look for is a good sleep, clean place, and great folks! Hope we deliver all of those essentials to you when you stay with us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Edward, New York
Level 6 Contributor
83 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2012

stayed here several times . they have a motel at ocean side and across the street, I have stayed in both, I think the one across the street has bigger rooms the bathrooms have tubs, full kitchenetts, oceanside rooms only have showers, there is a large heated pool and a jacuzzi in a glass sunroom, and a sauna . there is an upper deck that you can sit and relax on.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank katydid8181
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JoAnn L, Owner at Beau Rivage Motel, responded to this review, 31 August 2012
Hello and thank you for your review, we appreciate your comments very much You are right, we have 3 buildings, and the kitchenettes located poolside have tubs, and in the building across the street, those kitchenettes have showers only (styles to keep everyone happy). Thanks again and
hope to " Sea U " next year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2012

My girlfriend and I are actually staying at this very moment and do not find many issues with the stay. The rooms and hotel are old but so isn't everthing else at oob almost no getting around that issue but the staff kept our room very clean and fresh. Rooms are small with old furnishings but again it's a motel and it's an oob so I will not be picky. The location was great very short walk to everthing. Overall I would come back friendly staff, clean rooms, great location, nice pool. You will not find much better in the area since all the properties are old it's a
Matter of locations,friendliness and cleanliness which this motel has.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cdutra89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JoAnn L, Owner at Beau Rivage Motel, responded to this review, 21 August 2012
Thank you for your review while staying with us! Your opinion matters and we appreciate that you like how our staff treats you and keeps everything fresh for you! Our family grew up in this Motel and has enjoyed the proximity to everything and so we are happy that you enjoy our location too !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miramichi
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2012

This marks our fifth year in a row staying at the Beau Rivage Motel. The first thing to understand and accept is that the price you pay ($160 a night for two doubles during peak season) does not reflect the quality of the room, but rather you are paying for the convenience of being right in the heart of the action. Many of the motels have been here for a long time and while there have been upgrades, they are not up to the standards of modern hotels, and nor do they pretend to be. It will cost about the same to stay at most motels along the "strip", as we like to call it. However, the rooms are functional, relatively clean and equipped with microwave and mini fridge. The beau rivage has a decent sized pool, hot tub and sauna and there are four barbecues and tables around back so you can prepare your own meals. The staff have always been friendly and helpful. They are also located right across the street from the beach (one minute's walk and you are on the beach) and within a couple of minutes you are in the central part of the town with all the restaurants and gift shops, the fair, and the Pier. We love just being able to leave our room to go to the pool, the beach or do some shopping or for a meal, all within walking distance from the Beau Rivage. If you like being in the heart of the action and don't mind paying a little more for the convenience, then the Beau Rivage is a great place to stay. We are definitely coming back!

Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Underduraltension
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JoAnn L, Owner at Beau Rivage Motel, responded to this review, 21 August 2012
Thank you so much for your nice review, and we are happy that you understand how peak season rates are to be expected in any beach tourist area; and as you said, we are not a new property, but we give our guests good value, great customer service, and cleanliness. Sea you next summer! Jo-Ann L.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Old Orchard Beach hotels
0.5 mi away
Americas Best Value Mt. Royal Inn
Americas Best Value Mt. Royal In...
#35 of 44 in Old Orchard Beach
159 reviews
0.7 mi away
Old Colonial Motel
Old Colonial Motel
#15 of 44 in Old Orchard Beach
171 reviews
0.1 mi away
Crest Motel
Crest Motel
#7 of 44 in Old Orchard Beach
191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Copley LaReine Motel
The Copley LaReine Motel
#28 of 44 in Old Orchard Beach
93 reviews
0.1 mi away
Biarritz Motel Suites & Apartments
Biarritz Motel Suites & Apartmen...
#19 of 44 in Old Orchard Beach
111 reviews
0.2 mi away
Seabreeze Motel
Seabreeze Motel
#41 of 44 in Old Orchard Beach
102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beau Rivage Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beau Rivage Motel

Property: Beau Rivage Motel
Address: 54 East Grand Avenue, Old Orchard Beach, ME 04064-2810
Region: United States > Maine > Old Orchard Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Old Orchard Beach
#12 Family Hotel in Old Orchard Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Beau Rivage Motel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience all Old Orchard Beach, Maine has to offer when you stay at the Beau Rivage Motel. With a variety of clean, comfortable rooms and suites, you're within a short walking distance (1/4 Mile) to the Pier and the Palace Playland Oceanfront Amusement Park. Even closer, 75 yards, the famous 7 mile long sandy beach located across the street. On your return, you can grill up your favorites in our BBQ area, relax by the pool or have a soak in the hot tub. With microwaves and mini-frigs' in every room, and complimentary wifi, our friendly staff will make you feel right at home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Beau Rivage Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beau Rivage Hotel Old Orchard Beach
Hotel Beau Rivage
Beau Rivage Motel Old Orchard Beach, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing