We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“you could smell the fiflth as soon as you open the motel door!!!!!!!!!!!!”
Review of Norman's Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Norman's Motel
Ranked #44 of 44 Hotels in Old Orchard Beach
ma.
1 review
“you could smell the fiflth as soon as you open the motel door!!!!!!!!!!!!”
Reviewed 17 August 2009

we stayed for one night 8/15/09 me, my friend , & two and a half yr old grand daughter. my grand daughter took off her shoes and from cleaned shower feet to just a matter of 3 min. walking on that field that looked like a carpet once, her feet were black. we should have known from when we walked into our room from the horrible, strong, stink in there. wouldn't even pass as a kennel. there is more to tell, just by that one night stay. do yourself a favor pass by and keep looking!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank abby1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    0
    1
    13
    3
    26
See reviews for
19
10
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
montreal
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2009

I slept into many hunting and fishing shacks those past years and they were much better and cleaner than the room we rented. The main office tells a lot about the whole thing: It smells like hell, something between dog urine and dead fish...but I didn't see any roaches hopefully (maybe they can't stand it). The carpet in our room was old and was smelling bad, the bed sheets were stained, The ceiling tiles were spotted by old rain infiltration, The dishes in our kitchenette were not washed properly, dust everywhere etc.
But, this is the ideal location, not to far from the beach, the restaurants, the grocery. Norman should put a bulldozer on it and hire and architect, a contractor and start it from scratch. It surely would become the hottest spot in Old Orchard. But as it is now, it's the worst place I've been to.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank boubouMontreal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Old Orchard Beach hotels

Chicago
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 17 August 2008

My friend picked this place because of the price and I was horrifed when we arrived. The lobby smelled of cat urine and the our room was dark, dreary and smelled bad. I was afraid to walk on the carpet barefoot and the bathrooms were tiny. The bed was the most uncomfortable I had ever been in. We sprayed the whole room (including the beds) with Lysol. This is the worst place I ever stayed and I would sleep in a field before I stayed again. Spare yourself.

Stayed August 2008
Helpful?
Thank winky97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, Maine
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2008

Look, I think that Norman is trying hard. The bushes are trimmed, the paint is fresh enough, and the parking lot has been sealed. However, the rooms are old, tired, and cramped. The towels are miniscule, and have been through the wash about 900 times. One of the blankets had cigarette burn holes, and the kids were thoroughly skeeved by the bathroom. As mentioned in another review, the lobby is used by a cat(s) as a urinal. The woman staffing the front desk upon our arrival would not get hired by the Hyatt, but the other folks were well meaning. Nevertheless, I have seen worse, and the price is not out of line. That said, nearby comparable motels looked more up to date, and were just as handy to the beach. Try one of those first.

  • Liked — It is near the beach and amusment parks.
  • Disliked — It is old, tired, and cramped.
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank sonoftwig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quebec
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 August 2008

This place isn't the best place to stay at OOB, I was looking too late in the season but for the price it really isn't too bad. The rooms are older and show their age but the beds were comfortable. The WIFI doesn't really work in all rooms (#4) so you will have to sit out in front of your room to surf the net or get email. I brought this up to the owner but he didn't seem to be too worried. Anyways I was on vacation so I let it go. Bathrooms are very small with just a shower. Not a big deal also. The room was clean for its age and it was quiet (except for the a/c.) And for the price, having to drive to the beach wasn't a too bad. The only gripe I had was the motel office smelled like cat urine, this should have been addressed. Would I stay there again, probably. But given the chance to book earlier and closer to the beach, I probably will. I do have to say though it does have a friendly look to it.

  • Liked — The price
  • Disliked — Poor internet in rooms
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank atlanticghost
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quebec
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2007

This was my worst stay at an Hotel / Motel ever. The room was dark, old and not very clean. The carpet was disgusting. We fond ants before we went to sleep the first night and found bugs all over the place in the morning. When confronted with the problem, the owner would not refund my second night as it was paid in advance. I decided to leave this place. The owner was not friendly. The reception smelled cat urine as the owner lets his cat loose.

Worst Stay ever...

  • Liked — nothing
  • Disliked — bugs and the cleanliness (or lack of) of the room
  • Stayed July 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank IxE78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 21 August 2005

Great service, the room is clean, and not too expensive! I will come back again:)

  • Stayed August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Old Orchard Beach hotels
1.5 mi away
Americas Best Value Mt. Royal Inn
Americas Best Value Mt. Royal In...
#35 of 44 in Old Orchard Beach
159 reviews
1.4 mi away
Old Colonial Motel
Old Colonial Motel
#15 of 44 in Old Orchard Beach
171 reviews
1.9 mi away
Moby Dick Motel
Moby Dick Motel
#39 of 44 in Old Orchard Beach
16 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Marvin Gardens Motel
Marvin Gardens Motel
#32 of 44 in Old Orchard Beach
38 reviews
0.6 mi away
Marcotte Motor Court
Marcotte Motor Court
#21 of 44 in Old Orchard Beach
31 reviews
2.0 mi away
Biarritz Motel Suites & Apartments
Biarritz Motel Suites & Apartmen...
#19 of 44 in Old Orchard Beach
111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Norman's Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Norman's Motel

Property: Norman's Motel
Address: 205 Saco Avenue, Old Orchard Beach, ME 04064
Region: United States > Maine > Old Orchard Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#22 On the Beach Hotel in Old Orchard Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Norman's Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Normans Hotel Old Orchard Beach
Norman's Motel Old Orchard Beach, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing