We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pleasantly Surprised!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Royal Anchor Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Old Orchard Beach
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Royal Anchor Resort
Ranked #15 of 43 Hotels in Old Orchard Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Pepperell, Massachusetts
1 review
“Pleasantly Surprised!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2013

The Royal Anchor resort is a fabulous place to stay! Rooms as well as the grounds are immaculately kept, staff is friendly and accomodating and the ocean view can't be beat! Will definately visit again soon!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nancy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

176 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    119
    34
    12
    7
    4
See reviews for
94
49
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Andover, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
119 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 September 2013

The Royal Anchor Resort offers a wonderful view of the ocean and an outdoor pool ocean side making your day at the beach a great experience. Located a moderate distance away from the downtown area making your stay at the far enough away from the amusements and crowds. Guarantees a good night sleep listening to the ocean waves and feeling the nice sea breezes. Lots of great restaurant nearby.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Donna29727
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hyde Park, New York
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2013

Really enjoyed our time at the Royal Anchor. Nice clean rooms, well decorated and just far enough from the center of town. Continental breakfast was enough to start your day and the staff was friendly and accommodating. Pool was very warm and clean. As our room was on the second floor we were able to leave our patio door open and listen to the surf sounds at night which was very nice. Beach was never crowded and was very clean.
As for previous reviews which mentioned bathroom size, the bathroom is adequate for those of average stature. If you are a larger individual you will likely feel crowded. The bathroom however was spotless and more than adequate for our purposes. The wall mounted liquid soaps and shampoo were a great idea and of nice quality.
The only thing I would note is that if you are internet dependent the wireless was a bit spotty, sometimes good, sometimes not so plan accordingly.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LisaMS911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Hampshire
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2013

Had a fantastic week on the beach with our 2 year old grandson. Claire and Mark are always great hosts. This will be our 17th year visiting the Royal Anchor and we will be coming back for many more. The breakfast to start the day is a real plus and the rooms have great views of the ocean. The pool is a great relaxer after a brisk dip in the ocean. Walking the beach in the morning is the way to start the day. You are close to downtown OOB, but far enough away to miss all the busy traffic. Portland is a short drive to all it has to offer and of course L.L. Bean is only 20 minutes up I-295. A great location for all kinds of activities. If you looking for good seafood the Clambake is only 5 minutes away. We are looking forward to our next visit.

Larry and JoAnn Robinson

Room Tip: Rooms 214 and 314 are the premier rooms, but all rooms have great views of the ocean from their balc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lrob48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotia, New York
Level Contributor
27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2013

Extremely clean rooms, friendly staff, warm pool, adequate breakfast, great oceanfront location with your room just steps away. Near many good seafood restaurants (Rising Tide on Pine Point, Bayley's, Lobster Claw, Ken's). Convenient location on the main resort street of Old Orchard Beach (East Grand Ave), close to the beautiful residential area of Pine Point to the north and the Pier (amusement park, beach supply stores) to the south. Visited with my two sons, ages 19 and 21, and we all loved it. Will definitely be back! Great view of the ocean from the third floor (walk-up).

Room Tip: We liked room 307, the top floor corner room which faces East Grand Ave & the parking lot, as it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JosephineBreadBaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burlington, Connecticut, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2013

Our family has been going to OOB for 18 years and have stayed at many places up and down E Grand Ave. The Royal Anchor is by far the very BEST! We will never be happy anywhere else again. Our rooms were immaculate, the decor suburb, and everything was well updated. The pool was warm and the breakfast could not be beat. If your looking for the best of everything The Royal Anchor is the place to stay. The tennis courts new and renewed, with basketball court and small playground. The parking lot by far the best with its roomy spaces and added areas for children to skate board, ride bikes etc. Family friendly and also great for couples.


The Valois and Orschel family

Room Tip: We have had rooms on the first and second floor facing the beach and they were beautiful
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maryann V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pelham, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2013

This was our first year staying at the Royal Anchor Resort. We enjoyed the clean fresh decor, housekeeping did a great job at making our room like new each day. Bathrooms are very tight. The grounds keeper worked diligently and quietly every day. The grounds were spotless.

Breakfast was very nice and consisted of hard boiled eggs, cold and hot cereals, fruit, yogurt, bread, english muffins, sweet muffins, pastries, coffee, tea hot chocolate, and juices. You were able to eat on outdoor tables or inside.

The beach was amazing! Water brisk, blue skies, clean soft sand, waves to boogie board and body surf with, quiet place. They have volleyball net right on the beach.

Great location.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank christine f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Old Orchard Beach hotels
1.6 mi away
Old Colonial Motel
Old Colonial Motel
#14 of 43 in Old Orchard Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 158 reviews
0.7 mi away
Alouette Beach Resort
Alouette Beach Resort
#11 of 43 in Old Orchard Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 426 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ocean Walk Hotel
Ocean Walk Hotel
#10 of 43 in Old Orchard Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
The Edgewater
The Edgewater
#6 of 43 in Old Orchard Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 196 reviews
1.0 mi away
Crest Motel
Crest Motel
#8 of 43 in Old Orchard Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 179 reviews
0.4 mi away
Friendship Oceanfront Suites
Friendship Oceanfront Suites
#9 of 43 in Old Orchard Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Anchor Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Anchor Resort

Property: Royal Anchor Resort
Address: 203 E Grand Ave, Old Orchard Beach, ME 04064-3017
Region: United States > Maine > Old Orchard Beach
Amenities:
Beach Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Old Orchard Beach
#11 Romantic Hotel in Old Orchard Beach
#15 Family Hotel in Old Orchard Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 40
Also Known As:
Royal Anchor Hotel Old Orchard Beach
Hotel Royal Anchor
Royal Anchor Resort Old Orchard Beach, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing