We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great for Families!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Royal Anchor Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Old Orchard Beach
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Royal Anchor Resort
Ranked #15 of 43 Hotels in Old Orchard Beach
Certificate of Excellence
canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great for Families!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2008

We stayed at the Royal Anchor because of the tripadvisor reviews and the hotel lived up to expectations. We stayed for two days with our three children (under 10).The hotels on Old Orchard beach directly are crammed together with not much parking etc. The Royal Anchor is a refreshing change from that. We were assigned our own parking spot and the property was open and spacious. Our rooms were very clean, the property was immaculate (the cleanest freshest smelling lobby I have ever been in for some time!), and they even put a cot in the room for our 4 year old at no extra cost. The breakfast was excellent, and we ate beside the pool everyday. There is lots to do in Old Orchard beach and I would recommend funtown/splashtown USA. Plus, on a rainy day you can drive 30 min and go to freeport for some shopping. We are planning to return next year. One negative was the price, I know we went during high season but compared to the other hotels we stayed during our 2 week roadtrip (comparing amenities) I felt the Royal Anchor was overpriced. However, I would return again another year simply because of the spaciousness of the rooms, the property and the area of the beach it is located on. Thank-you tripadvisor members for an accurate description of this hotel!

Stayed July 2008
Helpful?
1 Thank busymomCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

176 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    119
    34
    12
    7
    4
See reviews for
94
49
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
hamburg,NY
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2008

We just returned from our stay at the Royal Anchor..what a perfect small scale motel for families with children. Everything was unbelievable clean! Nice size heated pool with the ocean a few short steps away. The beach is beautiful and again a very clean area...perfect distance away from the crowded area up the beach. The staff were very friendly and accommodating. Overall, a great place to stay if you visit Old Orchard, Maine.

  • Liked — cleanliness and location
  • Disliked — if you have a ground floor room people were always walking past ...privacy issue
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kittyandjim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albany, NY
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2008

My husband, myself and two kids (14 and 11) just got back from our four day vacation in Maine. We absolutely loved the Royal Anchor hotel. The staff was always friendly and helpful, but never overbearing. Rooms were immaculate (bathrooms were small). We needed a cot, and were not charged extra for it. We love to buggy board, and voted the beach as one of our favorites EVER!

  • Stayed July 2008, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank BuggyBoarder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Connecticut
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2008

I have been comming to Old Orchard Beach since I was a kid. This year my wife and I took our children, son in-law, and two grandchildren for a couple of days at the Maine shore. We stayed at the Royal Anchor Resort, right on the beach. It was perfect for us. The rooms were great. The ocean views from private balconies, the ceiling fans, refrigerator, very comfortable beds, pool, convenient trolley to downtown and continental breakfast made for just a terrific time for all. We loved playing in the surf with grandkids, picnic lunches with the whole gang by the pool and quiet walks on the endless beach. Many thanks to the wonderfull innkeepers Mark and Claire Bureaux and their most helpful and friendly staff. See you next summer for sure.

  • Liked — Right on the beach
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BarneyConnecticut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Massachusetts
Level Contributor
126 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2008

After reading all the other rave reviews, we booked for a two night stay with our 11 and 6 year old grand-daughters. We booked well in advance, but didn't have to as there were openings that week. The Royal Anchor lived up to the fine reviews: the staff was freindly and efficient, the facilities were spotless and the pool was well maintained and warm -- a plus as the weather was chilly. The continental breakfast was above expectations, with the standard bagel, danish and english muffin assortment, along with fresh strawberries, hard boiled eggs and cold cereal. The website says one mile to the OOB pier -- it is a long mile! -- but it is a pleasant walk and there is a trolley for those so inclined. Great place, and we all agreed we would recommend.

  • Liked — Pool and convenince to beach.
  • Disliked — Small bathroom.
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank DickandDolly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
62 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2008

My h and I stayed here at the very beginning of the season.
Because it was so early, I was able to book a room at a
discounted rate. We did not have an ocean view but the
hotel itself is on the ocean. Since it was off season, the
pool was not open yet and it was extremely quiet. The
room we had was very clean and they provided a generous
continental breakfast. It was great being right on the ocean.
If you have never travelled here off season, I recommend it.
There is nothing to do except walk the beach. I walked
and hardly saw anyone, far different from peak season when
it is wall to wall people. The hotel at that time was not
fancy but clean and a beautiful location. The year was more
like 1994 since that is not available to pick for the purposes
of entering this.

  • Liked — Location, location. Right on the beach. You can walk out onto the beach.
  • Disliked — I'm not that fond of Old Orchard Beach, it's a bit tacky and I prefer other Maine locales.
  • Stayed May 2004, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank singingsurf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
n12550ewburgh
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 October 2007

The royal anchor is a great place to stay. This year was our first time and we cant wait to go back this summer. The staff was very helpful and friendly. It was very clean and the rooms where nice.

  • Liked — access to beach and pool.
  • Disliked — bathroom was small
  • Stayed August 2007, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank beachcrazy0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Old Orchard Beach hotels
1.6 mi away
Old Colonial Motel
Old Colonial Motel
#14 of 43 in Old Orchard Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 158 reviews
0.7 mi away
Alouette Beach Resort
Alouette Beach Resort
#11 of 43 in Old Orchard Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 426 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ocean Walk Hotel
Ocean Walk Hotel
#10 of 43 in Old Orchard Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
The Edgewater
The Edgewater
#6 of 43 in Old Orchard Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 196 reviews
1.0 mi away
Crest Motel
Crest Motel
#8 of 43 in Old Orchard Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 179 reviews
0.4 mi away
Friendship Oceanfront Suites
Friendship Oceanfront Suites
#9 of 43 in Old Orchard Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Anchor Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Anchor Resort

Property: Royal Anchor Resort
Address: 203 E Grand Ave, Old Orchard Beach, ME 04064-3017
Region: United States > Maine > Old Orchard Beach
Amenities:
Beach Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Old Orchard Beach
#11 Romantic Hotel in Old Orchard Beach
#15 Family Hotel in Old Orchard Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 40
Also Known As:
Royal Anchor Hotel Old Orchard Beach
Hotel Royal Anchor
Royal Anchor Resort Old Orchard Beach, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing