We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not sure it was worth it”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Normandie Oceanfront Motor Inn
Ranked #3 of 44 Hotels in Old Orchard Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Albany, New York
1 review
“Not sure it was worth it”
Reviewed 17 August 2013

The room was decent, clean, well kept, a little old. Parking on the other hand was HORRIFIC. Assigned parking, with VERY VERY TIGHT SPACES. We drove a small SUV couldn't get around the parking lot, and the had trouble getting in and out of the car.

Room Tip: I am not sure you could get a bad room, after all you are 50 feet from the beach and ocean. As I sa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank KJH220
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael B, Owner at Normandie Oceanfront Motor Inn, responded to this review, 27 April 2014
Thank you for your review we are always updating several rooms tear after year. And I will be the first to agree that my parking is tight .This is all because Oceanfront property is expensive but we do expand when we can for parking .All rooms do have a parking spot. I hope you will stay with us again and will make parking easier for you. Thanks Mike
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

531 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    281
    153
    45
    24
    28
See reviews for
261
159
15
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hermon, Maine, United States
1 review
Reviewed 15 August 2013

I use to bring my two children to OOB every summer while they were growing up. I felt very safe at the Normandie with Mike the owner being on site all the time. Our last visit was 10 years ago, up until this year. Mike, the owner is such a nice person. He actually remember us from 10 years ago. This place is even nicer than it was when we came here in the past. I highly recommend this place to anyone that is looking for a great place to stay that is within walking distance to the pier but yet far enough away to enjoy peace and quiet.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Theresa O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael B, Owner at Normandie Oceanfront Motor Inn, responded to this review, 10 October 2013
Well I am happy you and your daughter & grandchild had a great time staying with us .Now is the time to start the tradition again with her.It was nice seeing you again .Thank you for your kind words . Mike
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
billrica
2 reviews
Reviewed 14 August 2013

I have been reading all of these reveiws and let me tell everyone i have been coming to the normandie for over 10 years now and my kids were 13 and 4 and now 23 and 14 and they even cant wait for every summer to arrive so that we can stay at the normandie which is nothing but an awesome and incredibly great time rain or shine theres always something to do and for those that even have the nerve to say anything bad about mike is just telling me they are ignorant people who have no concept of life these folks are honest and entertaining and show us that its not just a business its a way of life you come to a nice beach and add a inn like this is again nothing but an awesome time , the only way to feel the expeirience is too come up and try it you cant go wrong . Mike shame on those people. all i know is im coming up end of august and cant freakin wait buddy . keep up the great work and screw the dingalings there loss not yours . see you in a couple weeks pal. jimmy Bright and family

Room Tip: i have tried the oceanfront but find its a bit more quiet on the inside rooms ,but all are fine room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BillricaBrights
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael B, Owner at Normandie Oceanfront Motor Inn, responded to this review, 10 October 2013
Thank you for the kind words . This is a way of life and our Family for 2 generations has been proud owner and love see new a previous guest like your self. Thanks for thinking of us .
Mike and Family .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 10 August 2013

We have been visiting the southern coast of Maine for about 30 years. This was our first stay at the Normandie. This was by far our best vacation ever. The location was so perfect and Mike the owner and his staff were awesome. We love the distance from the pier. Nice short walk and yet far enough away for some privacy. The Hotel was a last minute find and we couldn't of been more satisfied. The rooms we had booked were clean and well maintained. We loved it and can't wait for next year:)

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Artiku
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael B, Owner at Normandie Oceanfront Motor Inn, responded to this review, 19 August 2013
Well I am so happy you had a great time, And is a honor that you feel this way about The Normandie you and many other customers believe what you believe. Hope to see you again in the years to come . Mike
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shrewsbury, Massachusetts, United States
1 review
Reviewed 9 August 2013

Third year back with my family - four of us; me, my wife, and two kids (15 and 13). Normandie is always clean and well cared for. Beach-front is great, and pool and hot tub are always working (and clean). Mike the manager is a proud owner and diligent host. Great location, nice rooms, terrific beach, and just the right distance from pier. No need to look further.

Room Tip: Reserve early and choose waterfront.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael B, Owner at Normandie Oceanfront Motor Inn, responded to this review, 19 August 2013
Thank you for your review our family has been in business for over 40 years and just love having families coming back year after year. We are so happy you had another great time making memories for you and your family. Mike
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2013 via mobile

Overall my family had a great vacation, the beach is beautiful. The rooms are just ok. I think this motel is very overpriced. For almost $300 a night it should be clean and updated. The sheets were stained and dirty! We asked for new ones and received a sarcastic remark when they gave them to us. The sink was leaking but I definitely didn't want to complain after seeing some of the trip advisor comments from the owner. The sheets weren't changed again throughout our 3 night stay. Cleaning service kept it to the bare minimum of just giving us toilet paper and towels... No actual cleaning. They do have a outdoor area where you can grill by the pool which is a plus. The indoor pool is also a plus. The staff was friendly when you talked to them ... But the owner surprisingly was not. Rude and sarcastic is what he was. This place could be good if it was clean updated . The only reason they get away with charging this much is the location. My advice would be to find somewhere close to this place but don't sleep here.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alyssaalessi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael B, Owner at Normandie Oceanfront Motor Inn, responded to this review, 7 August 2013
First let me thankyou for writing a review. We are a Mom and Pop Motel.As all the motels in this area are owned by families.Our cleaning staff does a great job.Our sheets are changed everyday they are switched out on the 3rd day of staying . If your sheets need to be changed you must notify housekeeping if needed be changed.. My staff on a stay over cleans the total bathroom everyday of your stay over sweeps or vac's and will make beds.If there are items left on beds. They are told not to make beds. This might of been the issue. As me the owner not being nice that is not the way I run my business. I do alot to make sure things run smoothly.But if I did I totally say I'm sorry .I make sure my staff gives the my customers a great experience. Again I do run a clean place.And we are priced right for the room and location.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2013

It was our first time at this motel but our relatives are usual customers and we were not disappointed. I love the location and the view from the balcony. I took some pictures of the sunrise that I am sharing. Of course this is not perfect but what is? Next time we are planing to go to back and stay longer!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Frank0206
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael B, Owner at Normandie Oceanfront Motor Inn, responded to this review, 7 August 2013
I am so glad you had a great time and thankyou for the pics that other guest can see.Hope you will come see us again and stay longer if time let you.Till we see you again. Best wishes Mike
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Old Orchard Beach hotels
0.7 mi away
Americas Best Value Mt. Royal Inn
Americas Best Value Mt. Royal In...
#35 of 44 in Old Orchard Beach
159 reviews
0.1 mi away
Alouette Beach Resort
Alouette Beach Resort
#12 of 44 in Old Orchard Beach
436 reviews
0.7 mi away
Ocean Walk Hotel
Ocean Walk Hotel
#11 of 44 in Old Orchard Beach
207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Crest Motel
Crest Motel
#7 of 44 in Old Orchard Beach
190 reviews
0.1 mi away
Echo Motel & Oceanfront Cottages
Echo Motel & Oceanfront Cottages
#2 of 44 in Old Orchard Beach
224 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Edgewater
The Edgewater
#4 of 44 in Old Orchard Beach
213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Normandie Oceanfront Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Normandie Oceanfront Motor Inn

Property: Normandie Oceanfront Motor Inn
Address: 1 York Street, Old Orchard Beach, ME 04064
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maine > Old Orchard Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Old Orchard Beach
#8 Family Hotel in Old Orchard Beach
#8 Romantic Hotel in Old Orchard Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Normandie Oceanfront Motor Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the Normandie,we would to think we create memories.If you are looking to make an impression.Ask us about our motel rooms with or without kitchens even Jacuzzi Rooms. Condo Apartments,Townhouses and Beach House that have 2-3-4 Bedrooms.New for 2014 BBQ area with Gas grills.Weather your looking to bring the family or just a romantic getaway to the Beach.Then stay with The Bouffard Family At the Normandie. Open Year Round ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Normandie Oceanfront Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Normandie Oceanfront Motor Hotel Old Orchard Beach
Normandie Oceanfront Hotel
Normandie Oceanfront Motel
Normandie Oceanfront Motor Inn Old Orchard Beach, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing