We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awful Place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Normandie Oceanfront Motor Inn
Ranked #3 of 44 Hotels in Old Orchard Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 August 2008

The Normandie Motel should be compared to The Battle of Normandy… Devastating! Our room was the size of a boxcar providing little to no ventilation. The bathroom door would not shut without force, the tub would not drain properly, there was mold in the shower, and the air conditioner was loud and did not provide any relief from the heat. The door to the adjoining room did not lock, which is a huge security issue. The walls were paper thin. You could hear the conversations going on in the next room!
Upon check in we were not told about the assigned parking. We tried to move our large truck to a spot that would be not only provide better access for us to get in the car, but also make it easier for the people on either side of us to get into their vehicles. Once the car was moved we received a phone call from the owner telling us to move the car back, reprimanding us like naughty grade school children. We would have to crawl into the back of our truck just to leave the motel.
The owner clearly spoke both English and French, which is a wonderful aspect for French speaking travelers. Unfortunately, it seemed as though he catered specifically to the travelers from Quebec even though we are from French-Canadian decent.
The cost was outlandish for the size and quality of the room. Clearly you are paying for the proximity to the ocean, which was the only redeeming aspect of the place. After traveling 1,000 miles, we felt uncomfortable, angry and let down. As someone who works for a large chain hotel, I can see the massive amount of codes that are being broken. I cannot believe that they do not receive more complaints. Housekeeping was friendly. They did make the beds and give us fresh towels daily. BUYER BEWARE!

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Manda3eb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (571)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

491 - 497 of 571 reviews

Reviewed 12 August 2008

Well, OK, I admit that the last two places I stayed were a four seasons and a ritz carlton. This hotel was sub-par under any standard of hostelry. There were hockey gear and clothing in bags down the hallway to step over and I guess they were too smelly for the rooms. At 8:45 PM we were asked to move our car to the street as supposedly the parking spaces were "assigned" although no one had told us that when we checked in and they weren't marked. We turned on the AC and dirt blew in the room where it apparently had never been dusted. The bedding was thin, the towels were thin, everything was second rate, at best. No shampoo and a skimpy little soap bar. The beach was nice, the only redeeming aspect of the place.

Mike's daughter told us we could stay around the day we checked out, but Mike told us we needed to leave by noon. Not the hospitality the previous reviews indicated. I would never ever recommend this to anyone. We used tripadvisor to vet it and it is the first time I have felt let down.

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank lilylouky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2008

We came back to Maine after not being there for 8 or 9 years and realized how much we truly missed it. Our vacation was last minute and we were unable to find a place to stay in either Ogunquit or Kennebunkport, so we decided to try Old Orchard Beach. As luck would have it, Mike at the Normandie had just received a cancellation and we hopped on it. We had no idea what we to expect. We were so stressed we just wanted a nice place right on the beach where we could relax and that is exactly what we got. Our oceanside room on the first floor was 4 steps down to the beach. We heard the waves breaking thru our window. We sat at the beach by day and walked on the beach at nite. The rooms are kept very clean with maid service every day. All rooms have color TV, a/c, refrigerators and some have kitchenettes. There is an indoor pool also. Mike is very helpful and friendly and runs a tight ship. There is a food concession right outside the rooms which is open everyday from 7 until 3:00. They serve great food including pancakes, french toast, eggs, bacon and have hamburgers, lobster rolls etc for lunch. You can walk to the famous pier from the beach but you are in the quiet section of the beach. We were so relaxed when we left we just wanted to turn back and stay some more. I highly recommend The Normandie to anyone who loves the beach and needs to relax. Its a great place to stay with very friendly people. We shall return.
Linda and Howie

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Linda09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2008

My husband and daughter stayed here with my in-laws in the apartment across the street. It was very clean but a little too small for all of us. It was a 2 bedroom and there was no room to put an air mattress. We tried to stay on the pull out sofa but it was very uncomfortable. The most annoying thing was the train. It went all night long and woke us all up every couple of hours. It was extremely close to our place and we did not get to sleep through the night. Not once! We came home from vacation exhausted. If we go there next year we will stay across the street and try to get closer to the ocean. For the price we could have stayed right on the beach.

Stayed: July 2008
Thank Sarge1580
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2008

Just back from another great summer vacation at Normandie!!!! You can't say enough! The location is perfect! We walked everywhere which is the best part! We had a queen bed with a kitchenette. Every morning my husband and I bought an ice coffee at the outdoor grille and made our breakfast on our griddle in the room. We brought our own grill which Mike is kind enough to let us do. We ate on the oudoor patio most nights. There is nothing like sitting having dinner watching the sunset. My husband & I can't say enough about Mike(the owner) he has his finger on the pulse of the place. He knows everyone by name and is so friendly. Our housekeeper was phenomenal! She was so nice and there was never even a bit of sand in our room! The entire staff is always pleasant and helpful. The best part is that on a rainy day theres an indoor pool with a hot tub! We did eat out at a great place we always go back to. The Barefoot Boy it's about 3 blocks down the street towards the Pier on the same side as the Normandie a great meal!! Well we just rebooked for next year and he is already booking up don't miss out this is great for families

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank krisandtom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2008

We have stayed here for the last 4 years in a row for a full week in July, but in the townhouse apartments and not the hotel. The townhouses were completely redone two years ago, and are gorgeous and roomy. Mike is always very accomodating with our family, as we have different people coming and going all week long. The rates have gotten pretty high, but there aren't many places we can find right ON the water to accommodate so many people. We are on the beach from first thing in the morning right up until supper - the little snack bar is the best, for both breafast AND lunch. there's a full kitchen in the townhouse but who wants to cook on vacation?!
In the townhouses you have to bring your own towels, etc, and there is no housekeeping except in between checkout/checkin, so I really can't speak for the service. There is a coin operated washer and dryer in the room which makes it SO convenient, and enables us to pack lighter since we can just wash as we go!

At the end of the stay each year we book the week for next year. There are many happy memories for our family at Normandie and hoepfully many more to come!

  • Stayed: July 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank Momtotwokids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2007

Love the normandie the rooms are clean the service is great cant wait to book again for next year

  • Stayed: July 2007, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank kshill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Old Orchard Beach hotels
0.1 mi away
Echo Motel & Oceanfront Cottages
Echo Motel & Oceanfront Cottages
#2 of 44 in Old Orchard Beach
243 reviews
0.1 mi away
Alouette Beach Resort
Alouette Beach Resort
#17 of 44 in Old Orchard Beach
449 reviews
0.7 mi away
Ocean Walk Hotel
Ocean Walk Hotel
#13 of 44 in Old Orchard Beach
213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Beau Rivage Motel
Beau Rivage Motel
#19 of 44 in Old Orchard Beach
243 reviews
0.4 mi away
Friendship Oceanfront Suites
Friendship Oceanfront Suites
#8 of 44 in Old Orchard Beach
174 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Edgewater
The Edgewater
#4 of 44 in Old Orchard Beach
229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Normandie Oceanfront Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Normandie Oceanfront Motor Inn

Address: 1 York Street, Old Orchard Beach, ME 04064
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maine > Old Orchard Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Old Orchard Beach
#2 Best Value Hotel in Old Orchard Beach
#8 Romantic Hotel in Old Orchard Beach
#8 Family Hotel in Old Orchard Beach
Price Range: £73 - £86 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Normandie Oceanfront Motor Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the Normandie,we would to think we create memories.If you are looking to make an impression.Ask us about our motel rooms with or without kitchens even Jacuzzi Rooms. Condo Apartments,Townhouses and Beach House that have 2-3-4 Bedrooms.New for 2014 BBQ area with Gas grills.Weather your looking to bring the family or just a romantic getaway to the Beach.Then stay with The Bouffard Family At the Normandie. Open Year Round ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Normandie Oceanfront Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Normandie Oceanfront Motor Hotel Old Orchard Beach
Normandie Oceanfront Hotel
Normandie Oceanfront Motel
Normandie Oceanfront Motor Inn Old Orchard Beach, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing