We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Always fun at Green Dolphin!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Green Dolphin Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Green Dolphin Motel
Ranked #20 of 43 Hotels in Old Orchard Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Quebec City, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Always fun at Green Dolphin!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2014

My family and I went to the Green Dolphin Motel for more than 10 years! Each summer, we're going at this motel, the staff : Randy (the motel owner) and Linda are so kind and friendly with their customers, this is what we like! They take time to answer your questions! It's a good motel for family! The place is fun and its situation is very close to everything! It's only 2 minutes from the beach and about 5-6 minutes by foot from the dowtown! I recommand this motel to everyone +++ !

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jue596
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    44
    15
    6
    3
    2
See reviews for
37
12
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Quebec City, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2014

In my opinion, The Green Dolphin Motel is the best choice if you want to spend a nice vacation in a clean room, at a good price. I stayed there two separate times (2 nights each time) and some people in my family go there every summer. The staff is always friendly and thoughtful. They make sure you have everything you need. The beach is right across the street and the other services (restaurants, stores, amusement park) are only a few steps away. Are the rooms romantic? I don't know. But is it cheap, clean, convenient and fun? Absolutely. Enjoy your stay!

Room Tip: Rooms with kitchenettes are very convenient if you're with your family or if you stay for a week...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JMBF2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newport, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2014

Super clean and friendly. Pool was one of the cleanest we have experienced at a motel. Close to the beach and amusements but not so close that it kept us up at night. A great balance of location, service and price. We will be back next year for sure.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Millers39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, GA
Level Contributor
61 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 January 2014

We stayed here in August, in one of the Jacuzzi suites. I believed the reviews that it would be fun and romantic, and we were on a trip celebrating our ten year anniversary. This would only be considered romantic if you also think staying in your parents' basement is also romantic. The room was very dated. It had an acoustic tile drop ceiling with stains on it, a rickety full size bed, an old floral couch, and a small TV. There was a lally column in the middle of the room. And then there was the fancy fairly new double Jacuzzi tub installed in the bedroom. The bathroom was very small, had terrible water pressure and only came with soap - no other toiletries.

The wifi internet in the room was basically non-existant - we could not get enough signal to connect. We had to go outside to be able to get onto the internet. I know it is a vacation, but we have to be able to check work email when we are out of town. When I complained to the management about it, they said that they provide wifi as a courtesy and don't guarantee it. However their sign on the street touts that they have free wifi.

Even though the room was not the room of our dreams, we tried to make the best of it and enjoy the two nights that we had prepaid for. We went out to the Pier and out to dinner. Old Orchard Beach is a very different beach that what we are used to in the South. So crowded and busy.

After dinner, we returned to our room and so started the worst night of vacation ever. My husband had gotten food poisoning from dinner, so he was sick all night in the tiny awful bathroom. The person upstairs walked around all night long, so we could hear the ceiling creak above us. My husband got shocked trying to plug his phone charger in. And the air conditioner (a wall unit) wasn't cooling the room.

The next day we decided that we really just wanted to go and tried to convince the management to refund us for the unused night. They refused. The owner didn't seem to care about our problems with the room and seemed more interested in countering with how hard it is to run an independent lodging.

We decided that we would rather forfeit the night's stay ($150 - 200 for that dump!) than be miserable, so we went back to Portland and found a place to stay there.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank onlyaymie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
randy t, Manager at Green Dolphin Motel, responded to this review, 27 March 2014
We apologize that you did not enjoy your stay. It's certainly difficult and frustrating when a family member gets ill while traveling. We do care about all of our guests and if you return to Old Orchard Beach, we would like the opportunity to make it up to you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rumford, Maine
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2014

During the summer's of 2012 & 2013 my daughter and I spent 5 nights at the Green Dolphin we had an amazing vacation both times. From Randy, Linda, and the housekeepers your made to feel totally welcomed. The atmosphere is very laid back, and totally relaxing. I'm on oxygen 24/7 and at times require using a wheelchair the room certainly met all the needs that I had. The Green Dolphin was centrally located for easy access to shop's restaurants and the beach. We've had a wonderful experience both times. We will certainly be coming back this summer (2014) I can't imagine staying anywhere other then the Green Dolphin.

Room Tip: If you plan on eating in you would do very well with the kitchenette rooms. All the rooms are comfor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dianne L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2013

Thank you randy and your staff for a great experience!! Your motel is out of this world!!! From the time we got there to the time we left the staff was welcoming with open arms!! We will be back next year for even longer.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Grmr2119
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2013

had a great time 1st time staying here was reluctant about booking online not knowing anyone who stayed here, very clean room only issue i had was 2 of the blinds in the windows were broken. housekeeper did an awesome job

Room Tip: we had a queen room with a jacuzzi sooooooo relaxing
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Old Orchard Beach hotels
0.7 mi away
Old Colonial Motel
Old Colonial Motel
#14 of 43 in Old Orchard Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 158 reviews
0.5 mi away
Americas Best Value Mt. Royal Inn
Americas Best Value Mt. Royal In...
#34 of 43 in Old Orchard Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 155 reviews
0.2 mi away
Alouette Beach Resort
Alouette Beach Resort
#11 of 43 in Old Orchard Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 426 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The Edgewater
The Edgewater
#6 of 43 in Old Orchard Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 196 reviews
0.8 mi away
Marvin Gardens Motel
Marvin Gardens Motel
#31 of 43 in Old Orchard Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 38 reviews
0.9 mi away
Ocean Walk Hotel
Ocean Walk Hotel
#10 of 43 in Old Orchard Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Green Dolphin Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Green Dolphin Motel

Property: Green Dolphin Motel
Address: 62 E Grand Ave, Old Orchard Beach, ME 04064-2810
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maine > Old Orchard Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Old Orchard Beach
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Old Orchard Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Green Dolphin Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Green Dolphin Hotel
Green Dolphin Motel Old Orchard Beach, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing