We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Diamond in the Rough” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Echo Motel & Oceanfront Cottages

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Echo Motel & Oceanfront Cottages
Ranked #5 of 43 Hotels in Old Orchard Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Boston
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Diamond in the Rough”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2013

This place is wonderful. We were in town for a quick weekend away. It was supposed to be a kid free weekend, but unfortunately our plans changed last minute. Leslie and Paul were very accommodating, moving us to a bigger room and even dealt with our late arrival with a friendly smile.
We stayed in room #9. We found it very clean and suited our needs just fine. The pool is great and even though we didn't take full advantage of it, being so close to the beach is a huge plus. You can tell that they take pride in the place. It is updated with nice trex decking and weather proof vinyl fencing - no worries about splinters in little feet here!
We would love to return to the Echo next summer, maybe in a cottage next time!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank goRedSox1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

211 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    181
    20
    9
    0
    1
See reviews for
149
37
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Dartmouth, Nova Scotia, Canada
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2013

Have just spent three days in awe from sunrise to sunset at the breathtaking views from the veranda of cottage Echo 3 set on a private beach overlooking the sea grass and public beach.
The cottage, a home away from home, was just so bright, airy, warm, comfortable, spotless and provided all the amenities one could wish for.
And Leslie to say the least is the perfect hostess.
We look forward to returning.
Suzanne and Johanne

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Johanne R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lille
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2013

We are from northern Maine and found this years beach vacation wonderful, again, The Echo does not disappoint. We take room number 9, next to the pool, so we have instant access. Running from the pool to the ocean and back again thrills the kids. We also went to Aquaboggin on route 1 and found it is great for children who love the water.You can count on the Echo year after year providing the cleanest accomodations and this should put your mind at ease. The children love having their own beds. Be aware that these people clean. I read other reviews that comment on how clean this place is, but really, its unbelieveable. We will be back.

Room Tip: We don't take the kitchen units because there are so many good restaurants in the area but if yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Judy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingston, New York
Level Contributor
19 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2013

The Echo Motel was a hidden find in OOB. Very clean and well-maintained. We stayed in an efffiency which had all the typical feaures. The room had two twin beds in it. The convenience of having a 20 foot walk to the beach is always appealing. They have a heated pool as well. As pointed out previously, yes, the bathroom is small...but it is manageable. A good value for the money overall!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WTL2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orrington, Maine
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2013

I will only stay at the Echo Motel as it is the cleanest motel in Old Orchard. The rooms are fine and it is on the beach side of the street. The owners are very friendly and treat you like family. They go out of their way to accommodate their guests. I have stayed at several other motels in Old Orchard and they do not compare to the Echo Motel.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SusanK55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mechanicville N.y.
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2013

I chose the Echo motel because of the reviews I read on trip advisor. I don't normally stay in motels so perhaps my expectations were higher than others but there were many positives. It was on the ocean, the owners seemed like really nice people, they were very easy to do business with and the rooms were clean. So for most of the things folks said about the echo I agree. The major thing that I did not like was the tiny (3 Ft. wide) bathroom. It looked very new and modern, the problem was it was tiny for a large man like me 6' 1" 280 and even for my 5' 2" 115 wife. You could literally sit on the toilet and rest your elbows on the sink if you so desired. I think when they remodeled the bathroom, at least in our room, they should have allocated 1 more foot of space. My wife had to get out of the shower to pick up the soap when she dropped it because the shower was so tiny. Since it was off season the rooms were only $80 a night so I thought about just eating my 2 night loss and moving to the Hampton Inn for the larger bathroom, but we just sucked it up and stayed. It was OK as I said its a motel and we don't normally do motels so perhaps all the others reviews were correct and I am wrong so take my review as my opinion only and as a guide to help you ask the right questions. I also noticed after we arrived that checkout is at 10 AM, it didn't bother me because I wanted to leave the echo quickly, but had the place been more to my liking I would have thought that was abnormal.

Room Tip: As about the size of bathrooms and understand check out is at 10AM
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jjdfleet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2013

I've been vacationing in OOB for the past 4 years, all four of them at the Echo Motel. I love it here! It is like vacationing in your own home. Paul and Leslie are amazing and extremely accommodating to their guests and treat them more like friends than customers. I would recommend Echo Motel to anyone. Staying at Echo Motel truly enhances your vacation experience!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lauren A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Old Orchard Beach hotels
0.7 mi away
Americas Best Value Mt. Royal Inn
Americas Best Value Mt. Royal In...
#34 of 43 in Old Orchard Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 155 reviews
0.0 mi away
Alouette Beach Resort
Alouette Beach Resort
#11 of 43 in Old Orchard Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 426 reviews
0.7 mi away
Ocean Walk Hotel
Ocean Walk Hotel
#10 of 43 in Old Orchard Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Crest Motel
Crest Motel
#8 of 43 in Old Orchard Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 179 reviews
0.3 mi away
Friendship Oceanfront Suites
Friendship Oceanfront Suites
#9 of 43 in Old Orchard Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 156 reviews
1.0 mi away
Marvin Gardens Motel
Marvin Gardens Motel
#31 of 43 in Old Orchard Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 38 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Echo Motel & Oceanfront Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Echo Motel & Oceanfront Cottages

Property: Echo Motel & Oceanfront Cottages
Address: 8 Traynor St, Old Orchard Beach, ME 04064
Region: United States > Maine > Old Orchard Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Old Orchard Beach
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Old Orchard Beach
#12 Romantic Hotel in Old Orchard Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Echo Motel & Oceanfront Cottages 2.5*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Echo Motel & Cottages are centrally located and within walking distance to the pier. The Oceanfront Cottages are large with wraparound decks that offer incredible views of the beach and bay. Other cottages within feet of the ocean are also available. Clean and comfortable motel units with or without kitchenettes are located 50 feet from the ocean with no streets to cross. All accommodations are reasonably priced. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your Echo Motel & Oceanfront Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Echo Motel & Oceanfront Cottages Hotel Old Orchard Beach
Echo Motel And Oceanfront Cottages
Echo Hotel Oceanfront
Echo Motel & Oceanfront Cottages Old Orchard Beach, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing