We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place for our family!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Beachwood

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Old Orchard Beach
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Beachwood
Ranked #3 of 43 Hotels in Old Orchard Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great place for our family!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 September 2013

We had a great time at the Beachwood! Very impressed with the cleanliness of the hotel and the service was impeccable! So glad we stayed here! Thank you Beachwood for a wonderful vacation! Hope to come back next year!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michelle S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

211 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    167
    34
    6
    3
    1
See reviews for
87
86
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Chicopee, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
88 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 September 2013

We stayed this past weekend at the Beachwood hotel because I read the reviews on Trip Advisor like I always do before I stay somewhere. We had a death in the family and the funeral was in Biddeford ME. so I wanted to stay close by and make a long weekend out of the trip since we were already in Maine. I will start by saying the place itself is in a great location near the beach and center of Old Orchard, and the hotel was clean and the people that worked their were very nice, after that, the review goes downhill unfortunately. When we arrived we were early and the girl at the desk told us they were still making up the room, so we went to the store to get some breakfast stuff because this hotel does not serve breakfast. When we got back we again went to check in and she told me she tried calling me to let me know that they cleaned the carpets and the room wouldn't be ready for at least an hour, I really couldn't say anything because we were still before the check in time, but I was wondering why they would shampoo the carpets when we were an hour away from checking in? So we took advantage of that time to go get something to eat. When we came back for the second time we noticed that the room still had the fans in the doorway and the door was open, it was 20 mins past check in of 3:00 pm so I put down all our bags and food to go talk to the front desk again and 2 girls came running over and said they were sorry and ran up the stairs to make up the room and take the fans out that were drying the rugs. I should have asked for another room but it seemed like they had a lot of people checking in so I gave it a shot. The room was on the second floor at the top of the stairs, another bad mistake on my part because you get the traffic of people walking by to get to their rooms. The first night the rugs were still partial damp and walking on them cause your feet to feel wet, the people that stayed next to us were up until 1:00 am partying and talking right outside our door since the rooms are so close together. They do have a posting for "quite" time after 11:00 pm but I guess they didn't see that. The second night was very similar to the first night as far as the partying people, but this time I think it was maybe 1:30am when it sounded like someone came out and told them to quite down. The parking was very tight so if you had a big car it would be difficult to pull in and out of your assigned space. I wouldn't have expected this from the reviews I read, but this place seemed to have the feel of a party hotel where people stay up until late night and did whatever without any question. I don't have a problem with people having fun on their vacations but having a little consideration of others would have been nice, not everyone stays up until 1-2am in the morning. Those days are gone for us and we really enjoy having a relaxing time when we call it a night. I think the hotel should maybe police the " quite time" a little better. I wouldn't recommend this place if you want to have a quite evening but if your just there to be next to the beach and center of town it would be great.

Room Tip: Don't get a room by the stairs, ask for a room towards the end of the hotel where the ocean is.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JOHNNYB17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beachwood007, Owner at The Beachwood, responded to this review, 22 September 2013
Please accept our sympathies for the loss of your loved one. We sincerely wish that we had done a better job of hosting your stay. We dropped the ball in a few areas, and I will review your comments with staff (including night watch) to ensure that we get better.

We had steamed the carpets in the morning, before you arrived. The front desk forgot about it when you initially came in, thus the voicemail to let you know that it may be longer than she had told you. Unfortunately we didn't have any other rooms available for the 2 nights your were with us.

We do employ night security to monitor noise levels, and they did warn your neighbors a few times on Friday (beginning at 10:00pm). We apologize for this situation. It is very frustrating for us as well. On Thursday night we had an abnormal number of late check-ins which may have contributed to your discomfort.

We appreciate that you took the time to share your feedback. We truly rely on customer input (good and bad) to help guide our operations. We hope that you had a safe trip home.

Sincerely,
John & Shannon Cloutier (Owners)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. John's, Canada
Level Contributor
74 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2013

Old Orchard Beach has seen better days. The summer carnival environment is dated and cliche. However, if you go there, the Beachwood is a good place to stay. The price is right. The rooms are well equipped for those wishing to do it yourself. Compact and efficient, the accommodations are quite functional. Free coffee and good service from the friendly staff make it an enjoyable place to stay. A family atmosphere exists with the table and chairs outside your door - great way to meet the other guests. Soundproofing would be nice as the noise of other rooms can carrry to adjacent rooms.

The beach itself is huge and pretty nice (other than the unknown reddish brown sludge washing up on the shore which is easily avoided when walking the beach).

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hurls55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmondville, NY
Level Contributor
23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 September 2013 via mobile

We booked this place on the reviews on Trip Advisor. The reviews were right on with the management being friendly and helpful. The room was equipped with everything one would need. We came on motorcycle and was glad to hear there was a washer and dryer to use on site.

There was a Kerig coffee machine in our room. We were told if we wanted a different flavor, we could switch it out from a selection in the lobby. The pool was clean and the beach right near by. There were great places to eat just a block or two away. I would definitely stay here again.

Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Vicki07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sioux Falls, SD
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2013

We spent four days on a schooner in Maine and on the way back we needed a nice place to clean up and relax. We drove into Old Orchard, pulled up TripAdvisor and called the Beachwood based on the ratings. Checked in five minutes later. The ratings were right, this place is great. The room is clean and pleasant and updated, Keurig coffee maker and a big variety of cups in the office, complimentary. Nice clean bathroom, high def tv, everything you need for hanging out on the beach -- complimentary; good A/C, grounds well kept, and the other reviews are right too on the friendliness of the staff. We can throw a baseball to the beach and the amusement park, walk to lots of places for dinner, nice laundry room for all our clothes that smelled like "schooner," nice kitchenette with new appliances and slate tile backsplash, real cream and ceramic cups for the coffee, free wifi. They even leave you a folded towel swan or monkey or bird on your bed like a cruise ship. It's true that most rooms don't actually face the beach, but close enough -- we can still see it through our window. They even have a raised table and chairs outside the room --comfortable and you can hear the ocean. There are lots of tired, kind of worn out motels at OOB but this is not one of them. Excellent choice, we got lucky.

Room Tip: Second floor is nice, views a little nicer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kthoennes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Ipswich, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2013

I think from the extensive research and seeing in person other properties on the beach, the Beachwood is by far the best. Its updated, modern and clean. It also offers lots of amenities that other properties do not: Keurig brewers in each room, beach towels, beach chairs, umbrellas, boogie boards and sand toys to use during your stay. Also, the office has additional k-cup varities, newspaper, DVDs to borrow and popcorn. Our reservation was for Labor Day weekend, which we made almost 2 months in advance and the only room that was available was a double with limited view. It was room 101, and it was in the back corner of one of the buildings. That in itself wasn't bad because you didn't get as much as the amusement park and street noise, but it was bad because it is right behind the stairs for the upstairs units and all you hear is people stomping up and down on the stairs until very late at night and into the early morning hours. For our next 2 nights we were able to switch rooms into a queen & twin trundle and it was much better in terms of noise factor. Although in both rooms it appears that the walls are quite thin and you can hear your neighbor doing the dishes, opening and shutting cabinets and flushing the toilet, but I think for this type of motel that isn't uncommon. It was only an inconvenience when we were sandwiched between two rather loud groups of people who were traveling together, and would also congregate outside the room and were loud. But that isn't the fault of the Beachwood, but just of inconsiderate fellow travelers.

Each and every staff member we encountered were very friendly, helpful and had a smile. I am truly impressed at the level of service that the mostly young staff gave, they are well selected and well trained and it shows. The rooms were clean as were the grounds, pool and parking lot. The location was perfect as well, a short 5 minute walk down to the pier area attractions. The other thing that I noticed is the room description of the views are a little exaggerated...there are really only 2 rooms that have a good view of the ocean and those are the two on the end...the others you would have to leave your room, go onto the deck outside and turn your left or right to get a view.

We will definitely be staying there again, just hope next time we have more considerate neighbors :-)

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rachelhale821
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
knowlton qc canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2013

August 2013 - our first visit to OOB - choosing the Beachwood put us exactly where we wanted to be --- steps from everything -- the Pier, shopping, restaurants, entertainment, amusement park -- and the most amazing beach! The Beachwood has clean updated rooms - perfectly furnished with all you will need -- free use of beach chairs, umbrellas and beach towels. A heated pool - two hot tubs -- plenty of sitting area. Room has a flat screen TV, stainless appliances, dishes and a Kerig coffee maker. Coffee supplies from the office - wonderful thoughtful touch. Staff is friendly and helpful - ready to answer all your questions. Our only regret -- that we waited so long to visit Old Orchard Beach -- it was a great stay. Just a note about the amusement park next door - we were never bothered by any noise -- the pool closed at 10:00 P:M and the park closed by 11:00 P:M -- plenty early enough. Never an issue.

Room Tip: All rooms are only steps from the gorgeous beach but the second floor rooms will give you a view of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CHARBY'S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Old Orchard Beach hotels
0.2 mi away
Old Colonial Motel
Old Colonial Motel
#18 of 43 in Old Orchard Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 159 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Edgewater
The Edgewater
#6 of 43 in Old Orchard Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 196 reviews
0.7 mi away
Alouette Beach Resort
Alouette Beach Resort
#11 of 43 in Old Orchard Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 427 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Ocean Walk Hotel
Ocean Walk Hotel
#10 of 43 in Old Orchard Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 196 reviews
0.4 mi away
Crest Motel
Crest Motel
#8 of 43 in Old Orchard Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 179 reviews
0.7 mi away
Normandie Oceanfront Motor Inn
Normandie Oceanfront Motor Inn
#2 of 43 in Old Orchard Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 510 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Beachwood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Beachwood

Property: The Beachwood
Address: 29 W Grand Ave, Old Orchard Beach, ME 04064-2633
Region: United States > Maine > Old Orchard Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Old Orchard Beach
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Old Orchard Beach
#3 Family Hotel in Old Orchard Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:1.5 star — The Beachwood 1.5*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Beachwood is a family friendly ocean front lodging establishment located in the heart of Old Orchard Beach, Maine. Each unit is newly remodeled and offers a full kitchenette, Keurig coffee machine, DVD player, flat screen television and a fresh beach decor. We provide complimentary coffee, newspapers, beach chairs and umbrellas, long distance telephone calls are free as is quality wifi access and we provide onsite coin operated laundry for our guests. Our beachfront pool is heated with plenty of seating and our front lawn has a barbeque area with 3 Weber grills for guests to use and additional lounge chairs. Our prime location offers spectacular ocean views and a very short walk to area attractions, restaurants, entertainment and amusements. We are an eco-friendly establishment that has invested significantly to reduce our impact on the environment. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Beachwood Old Orchard Beach, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing