We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (236)
Filter reviews
236 results
Traveller rating
183
42
7
3
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
183
42
7
3
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews beach chairs beachwood motel heated pool amusement park keurig coffee maker few steps never stay anywhere else palace playland pots pans labor day weekend clean bathroom a great stay beach side beechwood tubs stove kitchenette
Filter
Updating list...
108 - 113 of 236 reviews
Reviewed 30 October 2013

While the rooms provide a kitchenette and easy access to the beach, the location and service cannot be recommended. Yes, it is a beach town with a carnival atmosphere, but the room is literally 30 yards from the roller coaster. I would not stay here in season. The housekeeping varied from good to poor depending on the day. If you are not familiar with the area, the front desk is absolutely no help with recommendations or directions. Your price for the room will vary and, like an airline, you may be paying significantly more than the people in the room next to you. Be careful when booking should you insist on staying here. I would not return.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Scupper N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beachwood007, Owner at The Beachwood, responded to this reviewResponded 6 November 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We are sorry that you didn't enjoy your trip and wish that we could have done more to meet your needs. We haven’t been able to place when you came and which room you stayed in. This information would help us to dig a little further into what went wrong and to make any needed corrections.

As you mention, we are very close to the amusement park, which is open during the height of the season and normally closes on Labor Day (September 2nd this year). We believe that our central location is one of the attributes that our guests appreciate most. All that the town has to offer, the beautiful beach, restaurants, entertainment and local shops are all within a short walk.

We do not price like the airlines. We have always set our price based on the time of year and type of room. Of course we may evolve in the future, but that’s just the way it’s always been. We don’t have any hidden surcharges and we offer quite a few extras for no charge (i.e.: beach chairs, umbrellas, popcorn, dvd’s, free on demand, free long distance phone calls and a generous selection of keurig pods to choose from).

Our Housekeeping staff is very well trained and their work is typically inspected by a supervisor. We do have some days that are busier than others, which may have affected the consistency of your service.

Our Front Desk staff is local, and they are always happy to research areas of interest for a guest. While we will be working to improve in this area, we’re confident that they made every effort to steer you in the right direction.

Please feel free to contact us with any other areas of concern from your visit. We are always looking to improve, and we’re disappointed that your stay went so poorly.

Sincerely,
John & Shannon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2013 via mobile

We planned a trip to OBB and figured to stay on the beach we would be subjected to overpriced tired rooms, well we were blown away when we arrived at The Beachwood, it was very well priced (88) a nite in last week of Sept, very clean and directly on the beach. They had a pool which was clean and warm. The rooms were clean and updated. I fully plan on returning to this great spot. You can walk to all major downtown sites very easily. Highly recommend it

Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Wheelerg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2013

The title says it all about this amazing beachside hotel! Our room was very nice and clean. Lots of room! We had a good kitchen area with a stove, full size refrigerator, microwave and toaster. Dishes were provided (only thing I found lacking was that there were no pans to bake in, but we were able to get a package of pie pans at the grocery store that met our needs). The desk clerks we dealt with were friendly and helpful (Bree and I'm not sure the other young lady's name). The rooms have Keurig coffee makers and there are a variety of flavors of drinks for it available in the lobby. We were able to sit on the deck outside our room and enjoy our coffee and breakfast just overlooking the ocean! Although it was too cold to swim in the ocean, we were happy to have easy access to the beach just to walk there and one morning to get up to see the sunrise. We are hoping to return in a few years and will certainly try booking a room here again. Only disappointment was that there were problems with the pool so we weren't able to use it, but we were able to go in the hot tub.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Wendy Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2013

Yes, it's a beach motel, and yes I did rate it as excellent, because it is. My husband and I spent 3 nights at The Beachwood, and if I had it to do over, we would have spent our entire Maine vacation right in this spot. Of course it was after Oct. 1, so it was off season and very inexpensive, but oh what a surprise when we saw our little efficiency suite! It's like the perfect little beach cottage! And since we had room 121, on the 2nd floor, and a private balcony that overlooked the beach front, what more could one ask, especially at around $100.00 a night! Everything about the place was wonderful. It was immaculately clean, the decor was very cute, the furnishings and the beds (one queen and one trundle) were nice..not five star linens, but the quilts were bright, comfortable and warm for those cool autumn Maine nights. I loved the kitchenette, and the small remote controlled heat pump (warm or cool air) above the bed, was a nice touch. The tv had dvr like capacity and was also very nice. I can't say enough about the large, incredible deck we had to ourselves, and fortunately, there was a warm, sunny front during our stay, so we enjoyed very warm days on the deck. I'm not usually a beach motel kinda girl, but the minute I laid eyes on our suite, I was in love. This is the cutest, the coziest, just the best place on any beach I've ever stayed. The place was very modern, and offered two hot tubs, a pool and even a laundry. If I go back to Maine, I will definitely stay there again. Off season, it's very quiet and completely charming. I'm sure all the rooms are equally as nice. Several windows, all with wood blinds..it's just a beautiful little place.

Room Tip: Ask for the 2nd floor, and get a room with a private or even a shared deck overlooking the ocean. I think autumn travel is the best, not very busy, and very quiet since the amusement park is closed. It's a good "home base" to explore other parts of southern and lower mid Maine areas.
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kittehgrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2013

My husband and I wanted to get away for our anniversary. I googled Maine and this hotel popped up. I am so happy we chose this place. The rooms are very clean and a nice size with a kitchenette. We came to get away from it all and to relax and we were able to do that. The staff are amazing. I had an issue with a credit card and Bri went above and beyond to help me straighten it out. The whole stay she was there for any assistance we needed. Kyle was great at check in, showing us where our parking spot was and where our room was, where the hot tub was and told us about the dvd free rental and the coffee. We are hoping to go back next year for our 10 year anniversary. Would definitely recommend this hotel to all.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robbin J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews