We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (233)
Filter reviews
234 results
Traveller rating
181
42
7
3
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
181
42
7
3
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbeach chairsbeachwood motelheated poolamusement parkkeurig coffee makerfew stepsnever stay anywhere elsepalace playlandpots panslabor day weekendclean bathrooma great staybeach sidebeechwoodtubsstovekitchenette
Filter
Updating list...
97 - 102 of 234 reviews
Reviewed 16 June 2014

My boyfriend and I were attending an open house at UNE in Biddeford, so we decided to make a long weekend out of it and stay in Old Orchard Beach. After looking at a ton of reviews, I decided to book two nights at the Beachwood. We were so happy with the accomodations that we decided to book an additional night.

We drove up Thursday night evening after work from Connecticut, where the combination of rush hour traffic and road work traffic had us running about ten minutes behind when their office closes. When we called, they were extremely understanding and told us they would see us when we arrived. We were checked in without any problems and with a pleasant attitude once we arrived.

The motel is right on the beach. The rooms have been updated with modern beachy style. There was a full-size kitchen/freezer, microwave, kitchen sink, oven/stove, and plates, cups, pots, pans, silverware, etc. There was a cute towel swan on the bed. The bathroom was small, but set up nicely and up-to-date. Within the basket of shampoo and conditioner, there were two bottles of lotion, two face towelettes, and a shower cap.

The courtyard of the motel has a pool with fountains and LED lights that can be turned on. It is enclosed by a tasteful black fence instead of a chain-link. There are two hottubs. Around the motel, there are ample tables and chairs of various heights and styles. There were even several grills for guest-use. There is a shed that contains beach chairs and umbrellas to be borrowed and used on the beach.

We had a really wonderful stay at the Beachwood, despite the crummy, cold, rainy weather. I highly reccomend staying here if you are looking for a place on OOB!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Allison E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2014

We choose this hotel because after looking at the pictures of several around the area, it seemed the most updated. It did not disappoint. The rooms were clean, newly remodeled, and offered a small kitchenette. However, the best part was the view!! We had a wonderful view of the ocean from right off the balcony. And not only that, there were small tables outside each room (or lounge chairs, if you wanted that) that you could sit and sip your coffee and watch the sunrise in the mornings! Or, you could take the short walk right out to the beach!

Another added bonus was how well kept and pretty the landscaping was around the hotel. We were told the pool was kept at a wonderful 85 degrees. Although we did not take a swim, it would have felt nice even in the 60 degree weather. One thing we did take advantage of was the grills on site. We had caught some fish that we didn't want to try to travel home with, so we cooked it right there at our hotel for lunch.

The staff was very friendly and helpful as well. Overall, we were very pleased with our experience at this hotel and would recommend it to anyone else looking to stay in Old Orchard Beach.

Room Tip: Try to get an ocean view room! It's worth it!
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kellyjean327
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2014

We stayed one night, a Saturday in June. Rooms were very clean, check-in was easy and friendly. The pool was fantastic- at night there are LED lights and water jets- kinda fun to watch. The landscaping is nice and the deck chairs/chaise lounges are clearly new and comfortable. The location is great and not too loud. You are steps from the beach and right next to the amusement park (which I guess is good and bad). I know we were't there in peak season, but it was actually pretty quiet after 10pm. The hotel has quiet hours then, and we didn't hear much noise from the pier area/downtown. The owner is on-site, so you know that things will be taken care of promptly (while we were sitting outside we saw him walking around and dealing with an A/C issue in one of the rooms at 9pm).

For coffee drinkers- there is a Keurig in the rooms. Much better than those tiny Mr. Coffee's you used to see in every hotel that made the worst cups of coffee ever.

My only criticism (and suggestion for the owner) is that the blinds on the window facing the courtyard, while lovely, don't block the light from outside (you have a light fixture right outside the room that stays on all night). It would be nice to have some kind of blackout curtain there.

Room Tip: Rooms on the left side (when facing the water) are closer to the amusement park. OOB is kinda loud this close to the pier, so if you like to go to bed early, this maybe isn't the place for you. (but it was pretty quiet after 10pm)
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Designade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2014

My husband and I stopped here this past week on our way to Acadia. We had MANY options up and down the main street in Old Orchard Beach, but without a reservation we had to just pick one. Based on the way the hotel looked from the outside, it was really nice, and the view to the beach was really what we wanted. We stopped in, it was about 9 at night, and were greeted with such a friendly employee! We asked for a second floor room with a view and she happily said they had one. She checked us in, showed us everything we needed to know, and within 10 minutes we were in our room. We stayed in room 150, and the view to the ocean was incredible. NO it wasn't overlooking the ocean, but sitting on the chair outside the room, it was perfect! Each room has a table and 2 chairs outside the door, which was pretty awesome. In the morning everyone was sitting outside drinking coffee and everyone said hello.

The room was wonderful. Super clean, comfortable bed, DVD player if you wanted one with TONS of movies to choose from, excellent little kitchen (including stove, oven, fridge, and microwave-- which would have been perfect if we were staying multiple days), really clean bathroom.

The pool outside had just been renovated for the season and was gorgeous! 2 huge hot tubs to relax in. They provided beach towels and chairs for the beach if you wanted them. The ocean itself was a mere 50 yards away. It was gorgeous.

There is a breakfast place in the parking lot that was super convenient to grab a bite before we left.

Over all a wonderful experience! I would stay here anytime. And I would recommend it to anyone! Thank you to all the staff for a great stay!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Margaret F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2014

stayed for one night and enjoyed ourselves so much can't wait to visit again! will always stay there on our visits! pool very clean and warm. 2 hot tubs gave plenty of room for all. rooms were very clean with small table and chairs outside room for more relaxing!

Room Tip: loved our room but would love an ocean front next! second floor had a great view!
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Donna B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews