We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A tired motel on a lovely beach”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Copley LaReine Motel
Ranked #25 of 44 Hotels in Old Orchard Beach
Reviewed 14 July 2014

We were very disappointed when we entered our room - it had been advertised as a one-bedroom suite, but we found one large hotel room with two double beds and a sofa bed - no separate bedroom anywhere. The bathroom and the room had a distinct seventies quality - paneling, plastic flooring, thin towels, minuscule pieces of soap. The one redeeming quality of the hotel was its closeness to the beach - our second-floor room was less than ten yards from the beach and had a magnificent view. Kitchenette was helpful but minuscule, with only three plates, and other equipment lacking. We had a good time as we spent most of our time on the beach. Would we go back? Not sure. Also there was no pool, unlike other hotels and motels.

Room Tip: If you go here make sure you have a sea-view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank waltertoronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (98)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

39 - 45 of 98 reviews

Reviewed 25 June 2014

Brought my 12 year old daughter here for a weekend away. We both LOVED the location of the Copley LaReine. Not only was it right on the beach, but it was a short walk to the pier and everything that goes along with it. Although we did drive to go to a restaurant in Scarborough, we really didn't have to- there were many options within a 5-10 minute walk.

Our room was not on the beach side but with the bathroom window open, we could hear the waves crashing on the shore. Simple but clean, the good sized room contained 2 beds, tv, an armchair, table/chairs, microwave, mini-fridge, sink, 2 burner stove along with a small closet and bureau for clothes.

We arrived about 15 minutes before the posted check in time and had no problems getting right into our room. Checkout was a breeze as well. The man working was very pleasant.

If you're looking for a place in a fantastic location for a decent price, this may be the one for you. We will return to the Copley LaReine for sure!

Room Tip: Go for a room on the ocean side! There are chairs to sit in and enjoy the lovely view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
6  Thank nichole1207
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2014

The location of this hotel can't be beat. It's less than a 5 minute walk to the pier and there was lots of parking. However, we weren't lucky and ended up having a room without seats outside and facing the parking lot. Ask to have ocean side.
The rooms are very simple, but have everything you need. Microwave and fridge, air conditioner.
My only complaint is that they didn't change our bedding at all during the 3 nights we were there (I know because we took one of the middle blankets to the beach and they just made the bed without replacing it. No big deal for us, just hope they change it after the guests leave! Beds were hard but we aren't fussy, that wouldn't bother us but thought it was worth mentioning for others.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank torimarr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2014

This is a classic mom and pop style motel just steps from the beach.

The pros: Just steps from the beach with a covered porch for relaxing.
The rooms were spacious (we had a kitchenette)
In the heart of old orchard beach. Walk to everythjng in less than 2 minutes.
Staff and owners are very pleasant and accomodating.

The cons: The rooms need updating
The kitchenettes are sparsely stocked and not enough to cook a traditional meal. But to
Be fair it was opening weekend for the season.

The beds are very firm. The rooms are clean. Sometimes its not just about the room, its about bthe overall experience. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sheila N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2014

Year after year we rent the oceanfront room. We love that place it´s close to everything.Close ,to Harold´s, Mario pizza, the Pier, you can't go wrong with Copley la Reine! Paul take care of the parking and anytime you need him he's there.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
4  Thank bellevueOttawa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2013

Love this hotel because of the location and it's casual enough that you don't feel guilty tracking sand in BUT please get rid of the germ/dirt/sand holding carpets and replace with tile or even a cheap Pergo...also, a thin bedspread will do...those bulky, dirty, floral comforters are dirty, ugly, outdated and I'm sure cost a lot more for the hotel to wash. Using clean sheets, a thin blanket, and a thin, easily washable bedspread will make it so much cleaner and summerlike.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank hikn2peak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2013

Have stayed at this hotel twice in the past 3 years. Always a parking lot view room (I hear the oceanfront rooms are much nicer, particularly with the views). But for the price, you can't go wrong. Rooms are clean but dated (should really get rid of the old carpetting which is stained and replace it with tiles). Rooms not facing the ocean are rather dark (no sun), but are the cheapest. Walk to the pier is about 5 mins. Good local eateries for breakfast are nearby. The "kitchenette" we got was just a small counter with a sink, mini-fridge and microwave; adequate for our needs, but certainly not enough to cook meals on a regular basis. Would be an effort to spend more than 1 week here, unless you had one of the upgraded oceanfront rooms with full kitchen.

Room Tip: Spend the little extra for oceanfront. It will be worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Janet C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Old Orchard Beach hotels
0.3 mi away
Americas Best Value Mt. Royal Inn
Americas Best Value Mt. Royal In...
#34 of 44 in Old Orchard Beach
169 reviews
0.5 mi away
Old Colonial Motel
Old Colonial Motel
#20 of 44 in Old Orchard Beach
199 reviews
0.1 mi away
Crest Motel
Crest Motel
#7 of 44 in Old Orchard Beach
200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Ocean Walk Hotel
Ocean Walk Hotel
#13 of 44 in Old Orchard Beach
213 reviews
0.8 mi away
Sea Cliff House Motel
Sea Cliff House Motel
#23 of 44 in Old Orchard Beach
197 reviews
0.4 mi away
Alouette Beach Resort
Alouette Beach Resort
#17 of 44 in Old Orchard Beach
454 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Copley LaReine Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Copley LaReine Motel

Address: Harrisburg Street, PO Box 328, Old Orchard Beach, ME 04064
Region: United States > Maine > Old Orchard Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Old Orchard Beach
Price Range: £83 - £219 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Copley LaReine Motel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Your Vacation...on Old Orchard Beach's seven miles of beautiful surf and sand is at the Copley LaReine Motel.We have fifty four deluxe units in walking distance to restaurants, shops, and the amusements. Some of our rooms are fully equipped with kitchenettes and microwaves. All rooms have refrigerators, air conditioning, heat, cable TV, Wireless Internet, and in room telephones. Fully furnished cottages and apartments are available to rent by the week. The ambiance of the beach and the location of the Copley LaReine Motel make it the perfect place for a summer get-away.We look forward to serving you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Odigeo so you can book your The Copley LaReine Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Copley Lareine Hotel Old Orchard Beach
The Copley LaReine Motel Old Orchard Beach, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing