We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
Fun on the pier

The pier is a nice place to take friends and walk around. Enjoy good food and drinks. Great place... read more

Reviewed 4 days ago
semperfi80
,
Old Orchard Beach, Maine
via mobile
Great place to visit during the summer

The pier has it all. Music, food, drink and shopping. It's a great place to spend an afternoon... read more

Reviewed 17 October 2018
PaulPanas
,
Lowell, Massachusetts
Read all 764 reviews
  
Reviews (764)
Filter reviews
764 results
Traveller rating
191
195
232
88
58
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
191
195
232
88
58
Show reviews that mention
All reviews amusement park steamers souvenir shops raw bar pier fries lots of fun seafood palace playland ocean stroll maine
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 764 reviews
Reviewed 18 September 2018

The OOB pier is like a trusted friend. Always there, year after year and doesn't let you down. We were there middle of September and enjoyed great beach weather. Although most of the restaurants were closed on the pier, a few bars and quick food options were still available. It appears as though they are repairing the roof every so slowly and have painted the outside of pier and added blue around the trim of all the windows. Good memories!

Date of experience: September 2018
Thank Kimberly W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2018

We attended a comedy show it was OK ( a bit over the top with the adult rating) The food at the end of the pier was OK nothing to complain about but nothing to rave over.

Date of experience: July 2018
Thank Vacation783275
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2018

My wife and I went here thinking that it was going to be much larger. This is a small pier with a few tee shirt shops and a few bars. The bars we dirty and the bathrooms stunk horrible! I think this place is better suited for some younger clientele that want to do a night out. I heard they had bands but didn't stay to listen.

Date of experience: August 2018
Thank Jack M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2018 via mobile

Typical beach pier extending over the ocean, full of rides, cheap shops, food and drink choices. I only spent a short time here, was simply not impressed.

Date of experience: August 2018
1  Thank PVonthemove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2018

When I was a little boy, the Old Orchard Beach Pier, with its very long promenade and excellent views of the sea, sat nestled among some of the great amusements on the East coast. Noah's Ark, Jonah and The Whale, one of the world's greatest merry-go-rounds and fabulous rides surrounded the pier, where Tommy Dorsey, Duke Ellington, Frank Sinatra, Glen Miller and Benny Goodman used to play. The pier was famous, grand, proud.
In 1968, a fire in the Noah's Ark funhouse started in the afternoon, and continued through the night, burning the Old Orchard Beach amusement park to the ground. I watched the whole thing. Thousands of us stood on the beach as Old Orchard went up in flames. It was awful. We cried.
The town of Old Orchard, short on funds and even shorter on vision, rebuilt the pier to half its former length. And then they filled the previously beautiful open ocean-viewing space with garbage shops that utterly obstruct any ocean view. Today the pier stands as sad evidence that Old Orchard, and those who run it, have no idea what they are doing.
Stand and look at the pier, with its shabby siding, its crappy shops, its peeling paint, and its utter lack of style, grace, or beauty, and you may not get any sense at all that this was once an elegant promenade where crowds strolled the evenings above the great Atlantic. The pier was at one time one of the great seaside destinations on the East coast. No more.
Today Old Orchard Beach charges 25 cents for seven minutes of parking, offers almost no decent food, and has managed to destroy any vestige of its former style and beauty. Sad to say, Old Orchard Beach now offers only one thing, a very crowded beach. The Brunswick sewage pipe runs not far enough out into the ocean, affording swimmers some nasty floaters. And the pier? The pier is just another sad piece of junk with no views of the ocean, just crappy shops on stilts.
With its perfect position overlooking Saco Bay, the Old Orchard Beach Pier could be magnificent, a real draw. But that would require a town council that cares.
Don't waste your time visiting the pier. It once was something. Now it's just a sad relic, rotting above the waves.

Date of experience: September 2018
1  Thank ShamanCuervo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews