We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another Great Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Atlantic Birches Inn
Reviewed 4 January 2013

Spent the Christmas Holiday visiting family in OOB. What a wonder place to stay and enjoy the holidays. Snow storn after Xmas day was delightful wife and kids enjoyed walking on the beach during the snow storm. Fireworks on New Years Eve and a the Polar plunge on New Years Day were the highlights. The Inn was the perfect place centered arounded around for our family and freindsed to visit. The breakfast was excellent and the dining suggestions were right on. Rooms were spotless and warm and inviting for us to enjoy the holidays. We will be back next year.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lapddect
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (103)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

51 - 57 of 103 reviews

Reviewed 4 November 2012

First trip to Maine for us and we were not disappointed. The Cleaves Room was clean and nice, and the breakfast muffins were out of this world! It was our first B&B experience. Location was great for what we needed. Ray and Heidi were great. Gave us directions for things we wanted. Leaves were colorful and weather was chilly. Just what we wanted visiting from Florida. It was off season in Old Orchard Beach, but that was fine with us. I was there to do genealogy research, and Ray and Heidi were excited I found a lot of information. Thanks for a Great visit! The Valliere's

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jim V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2012

We only stayed one night in this B&B in late September, but it was delightful. We stayed in the cottage. It is so charmingly decorated - very clean. We enjoyed sipping our wine on the front porch lounge chairs before a short walk for dinner to a restaurant recommended by the owner. (Landmark) Breakfast was continental style but they offered tasty muffins, fresh cut up fruit, breads, cereal, coffee, tea and juice. Per request, Heidi made decaf coffee just for us and iced coffee for another guest. This would be an excellent place to stay with a family in the summer with the beach, shops. and amusement park nearby, and pool on the property. The town practically closes up after Labor Day and definitely shuts down after Columbus Day. Owner Ray recommended places to visit on our way to Bar Harbor and we saw some beautiful sites that we would have missed if not for his recommendations. This was the best value for the money of all 5 B&B's we stayed in on our way up the eastern coast. I will admit that the potpourri in a dish in our room was overpowering, but only because my husband doesn't like smells - we removed it from our room and it was fine. Tom and Theresa

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank theresaod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2012

The location is great, but I would not stay here again (nor would my husband). The inn has a strong smell of cheap air fresheners/potpourri, both in the hallways and in the rooms. The bed in the Fiske room was very comfortable. The room was clean, as was the bathroom (not Marriott clean, but clean enough for a beach-town location). The bath towels were a low quality poly-cotton blend.
Our major issue was with the breakfast. It was just cheap sliced wheat bread, white English muffins, white bagels, pasty muffins, low quality cereal and a fruit salad. No complaints about the fruit salad, it was made with high quality ingredients and there was plenty of it. The muffins tasted like they were full of preservatives and cheap oils. If the muffins were homemade then I wish they had been purchased at the grocery store. The bread/bagels were low quality, and mostly lacking in nutrition. The tea was low quality. The coffee was "fine," reports the husband.
If you consider breakfast part of what you are paying for, look elsewhere. Or eat out (though, the in-town options for breakfast are not great).

Room Tip: The Fiske room has a very firm (good) king bed. It has a tub/shower in-room. No good view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank boughington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
themeinnkpr, Owner at Atlantic Birches Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2012

Thank you for your review. It’s been a long season and maybe I should accept your review with a grain of salt and we should have learned something from it, but we are still trying to figure out what it is that we should have learned and tried to remedy. This is our dilemma we and our guests are very happy with the breakfasts that we serve in both buildings. We serve breakfast to over seventy couples and families a week and have never heard a complaint about the quality of breakfast items served. Our day starts at 5am each morning to prepare the continental breakfast that we to serve our guests each morning. We are happy you enjoyed the fresh fruit salad and your husband enjoyed his coffee and very sorry you didn’t like anything else, the wheat bread is 100% stone ground whole wheat is a major brand (Pepperidge Farm) not a store brand, as for the white English Muffins we serve (Thomas’s) what our guests eat, like and have no complaints about. The bagels that you consider low quality are not store bought they are N.Y. Style bagels that are par baked fresh each morning and again we serve what our guests eat, like and have no complaints about. The low quality cereal is Kellogg’s corn flakes and General Mills cheerios not store brands. We are very sorry you did not like the muffins they are baked fresh daily with fresh fruit ingredients, no preservatives, no oil and they are made from scratch with a high end mix (Krusteaz). The low quality teas you mentioned are Lipton, Bromley and a vast assortment\varieties of Bigelow teas. The scent in the Inn is actually a scent from Yankee Candle (Sand and Sea) not the Airwick air fresheners you must have smelled else ware. As for the bath towels they are a high quality American made at the same mills that the hotels (Marriott & Hilton etc) use.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2012

My family and i visited old orchard beach and stayed at our very first bed and breakfast . It was absolutely beautiful there . The rooms were very clean and spacious for our family of 4 . The breakfast was fantastic love the muffins . Ray and Heidi were very helpful at providing us with maps for sightseeing places to eat and the wonderful attractions in the area . We will most definatley be returning to the Atlantic Birches Inn on our next stop through Maine . Great ,Great Place ..
Thank you
The Muchie 's

Room Tip: The old orchard room was my favoroite very beautiful great for honeymooners .The suites are a great...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hope M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2012

We (wife, two kids) hav never stayed in a b.b. nor have we ever been to the East coast. Always went west! Not anymore. Ray and Heidi were excellent hosts and made our stay both enjoyable and affordable!! they suggested places to visit and eat, and boy were they right. We found the people in Maine and Boston, our day trip, to b some of the most friendly people u will ever meet. If u have never been, we all agree that it is worth the trip.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Springteacher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2012

My husband, 9 year old and I spent a week at the Atlantic Birches Inn recently. The graciousness of the owners, Heidi and Ray, began the moment we checked in. They are an endless fount of great information for things to do, where to eat, rainy day ideas... on and on. They really care about their guests, and their inn, and it shows. I walked in with iced coffee one afternoon, and Ray (who is a fan of iced coffee himself) made sure there was one waiting for me every morning at breakfast. It's the little things like that that keep you coming back. We had a little housekeeping problem at the beginning, but as soon as I mentioned it to them it was rectified; as a matter of fact, I witnessed Ray following the maid around the next day!! MINOR niggle: landscaping was a bit unkempt... there were some bushes etc that made it hard to walk along the path, a little weedy. But TRUST ME... this is a great place to stay, right near the heart of the action, but quiet, and with a pool!!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank amgboop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Old Orchard Beach hotels
0.6 mi away
Alouette Beach Resort
Alouette Beach Resort
#17 of 44 in Old Orchard Beach
455 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Edgewater
The Edgewater
#3 of 44 in Old Orchard Beach
233 reviews
0.3 mi away
Atlantic Ocean Suites
Atlantic Ocean Suites
#7 of 25 in Old Orchard Beach
44 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Sea Cliff House Motel
Sea Cliff House Motel
#21 of 44 in Old Orchard Beach
197 reviews
0.3 mi away
Crest Motel
Crest Motel
#7 of 44 in Old Orchard Beach
200 reviews
1.1 mi away
Wild Acres RV Resort and Campground
Wild Acres RV Resort and Campgro...
#4 of 23 in Old Orchard Beach
195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Atlantic Birches Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atlantic Birches Inn

Address: 20 Portland Ave, Old Orchard Beach, ME 04064-2212
Region: United States > Maine > Old Orchard Beach
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Old Orchard Beach
Price Range: £96 - £117 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Atlantic Birches Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Atlantic Birches Inn an elegant, luxurious yet casual romantic, historic Victorian Bed and Breakfast located in the center of town in the historic district of Old Orchard Beach Maine. The Inn is perfect for small weddings, honeymoons, wedding showers, vow renewals, anniversaries, elopements, marriage proposals, babymooner getaways, family reunions, ladies weekends, vacations, family holiday gatherings, and weekend getaways at the beach. Located on a quiet tree lined corner, guests can easily walk a minute to shops and restaurants and 2 minutes to the Pier, amusement area and 7 miles of white sand beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Atlantic Birches Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Atlantic Birches Inn Old Orchard Beach, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing