We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Completely Enjoyable - Relaxed & Lovely!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Atlantic Birches Inn
Whitestone, NY
2 reviews
“Completely Enjoyable - Relaxed & Lovely!”
Reviewed 25 September 2013

My daughter and I took a trip to Maine for some R&R and we were not disappointed. The Atlantic Birches is beautifully appointed and very clean. The bed was extremely comfortable with good support. The breakfast muffins and coffee were delicious. The innkeepers even purchased gluten free cereal to accommodate my daughter. Old Atlantic Beach is within walking distance. We enjoyed the recommended restaurants. (Don't miss the Rising Tide for exceptionally fresh seafood - no reservations accepted and Belle Buoy for good local fare close to the pier and the seaside attractions of town.)

It was a great base from which to explore funky and functional Portland and also to head down the coast to Kennebunkport and Ogunquit. We didn't get to Freeport, but some people enjoy taking the scenic train ride there and back to do their outlet shopping. We'll do that next time! Don't hesitate to stay here. The price is right and you will feel right at home!

They have a lovely heated pool, by the way, but we were doing so many things that we never got to use it.

Room Tip: We stayed in The Fiske as it was one of two rooms left. My college student daughter and I had no pro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ElisaD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    59
    20
    9
    3
    0
See reviews for
25
47
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Augusta, Kansas
Level Contributor
160 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2013

We were so impressed with this property. Our friends and us had the 2 upstairs rooms, with a sitting room in between, of the cottage. Every thing was decorated so beautifully. The breakfast area downstairs had a blue bottle collection in the big bay window that was gorgeous. The breakfast included fresh fruit and melons each morning along with the blueberry muffins and other goodies. Very easy to walk to the beach and they provide beach towels. We wish we could have spent more time here.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joyce D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Altamont, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2013

Our stay at the Atlantic Birches Inn could not have been better. The rooms were very comfortable and the bathroom was spotless, with fluffy towels and high end toiletries. The house itself is gorgeous - circa 1902 construction. The property also had a pool, and a nice one at that, which is not often seen in the B&B world. Ray gave us some excellent suggestions for restaurants and activities for the kids. Breakfast was great - nothing beats waking up to the smell of freshly baked muffins. The inn is about two blocks from the pier and beach, so one can easily walk to all of Old Orchard Beach's attractions. Honestly, this was a bargain compared to the beach hotels, and much, much nicer. We will definitely stay here the next time we are in town.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stacy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Clarendon, Vermont, United States
Level Contributor
43 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2013

My Girlfriend and I stayed in the Gables Room in the Cottage House for 3 days and were very happy with our experience. The room was a little small but nothing to fuss over. The room was decorated nicely and very clean. We enjoyed the common areas around the property and found it to be very relaxing to hang out down stairs in the living room where they had comfortable couches and chairs as well another Flat Screen TV. The kitchen was located in the room adjacent to the living room. The front porch was among one of our favorite places as well. The pool was pretty much perfect size unless you plan on being an Olympic athlete who swims laps. The location was excellent, only about a 5 minute walk max to the pier and was far away enough to not be caught up in the hectic scene by the other hotels along the beach. Ray and Heidi were great hosts and are very knowledgeable about many sites and activities in and around the surrounding towns. Breakfast was always delicious, the muffins are to die for it was to hard to pick which was my favorite, and the fruit salad was also prepared fresh daily which seemed to be local produce, the freshness of the fruit was great. My girlfriend and I will definitely be returning in the near future and recommend anybody who is looking to stay in Old Orchard check this quant relaxing Inn out. I would even take this Inn over any of the old run down hotels along the beach even though I'd be missing the beach view it is still worth it.

Room Tip: Any of the rooms in the 2nd floor of the Cottage House are perfect for just a couple, the suites are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fall River, Massachusetts
1 review
Reviewed 16 August 2013

Ray welcomed me and my boyfriend as soon as we got there and checked us in. He got an idea of what we were looking to do during our stay and recommended a few restaurants and sightseeing ideas. He showed us to our Suite which we were very impressed with. What a great deal. We wished we were staying for the week! There is a small pool on the property but there were no children in it which was great! My last impression however was not so great. We went to the beach on our last morning and I called to double check on the check out time and received quite the attitude from Heidi acting as if she was worried that we would not be out of the room in time. I was not a fan of being treated that way. Upon check-out I shrugged off the fact that she was rude to me. I didn't let it ruin my beautiful morning at the beach! I'd still recommend this place to travelers.

Room Tip: Suites are the way to go!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Piccola9283
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hertford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
169 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2013

I can't understand the reviewers who whined about the breakfast in the main house - it was superb! Fresh fruit salad, home baked muffins, bagels, biscuits - how is that not adequate???
We really liked this place. The situation was great - just a couple of minutes from the main street and beach. It has a lovely little pool to sit round, as well as a porch and gardens.
The owners clearly love what they do - they were full of helpful information and ideas and nothing was too much trouble. Couldn't find them on a couple of occasions to ask for something; rang the bell but they can't have heard and didn't like to keep on ringing as what I wanted wasn't important!
Our room was lovely but a little small for the 3 of us - would have worked better if we'd had 2 cases instead of 3 - however, the room was our choice and it was very nice; the shower room was great - good lighting, huge shower and lots of room to dry off.
If you're looking for a big corporate place, this is not for you but if you want friendly, family place near to everything (which we did) then it's brilliant.

Room Tip: Atlanta room for 3 people a bit tight; good for 2 adults and a child. Better to choose the velvet fo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2013

We booked a room here at the last possible minute -- and what a find it was. Ray and Heidi welcomed us into their lives and care for a brief time and were completely gracious. Both gave us the best tips of things to do and places to visit-- all paid off. The location is great, the rooms are spotless and comfortable. The breakfast-- exactly as described and quite good.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cindyandbillm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Old Orchard Beach hotels
0.0 mi away
Old Orchard Beach Inn
Old Orchard Beach Inn
#1 of 25 in Old Orchard Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 116 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Edgewater
The Edgewater
#6 of 44 in Old Orchard Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 198 reviews
0.3 mi away
Atlantic Ocean Suites
Atlantic Ocean Suites
#4 of 25 in Old Orchard Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 38 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Alouette Beach Resort
Alouette Beach Resort
#10 of 44 in Old Orchard Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 427 reviews
1.2 mi away
Ocean Walk Hotel
Ocean Walk Hotel
#11 of 44 in Old Orchard Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 199 reviews
0.7 mi away
Crosswinds Motel & Cottages
Crosswinds Motel & Cottages
#33 of 44 in Old Orchard Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 22 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Atlantic Birches Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atlantic Birches Inn

Property: Atlantic Birches Inn
Address: 20 Portland Ave, Old Orchard Beach, ME 04064-2212
Region: United States > Maine > Old Orchard Beach
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Old Orchard Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Atlantic Birches Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Atlantic Birches Inn an elegant, luxurious yet casual romantic, historic Victorian Bed and Breakfast located in the center of town in the historic district of Old Orchard Beach Maine. The Inn is perfect for small weddings, honeymoons, wedding showers, vow renewals, anniversaries, elopements, marriage proposals, babymooner getaways, family reunions, ladies weekends, vacations, family holiday gatherings, and weekend getaways at the beach. Located on a quiet tree lined corner, guests can easily walk a minute to shops and restaurants and 2 minutes to the Pier, amusement area and 7 miles of white sand beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Atlantic Birches Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Atlantic Birches Inn Old Orchard Beach, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing