We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gem on the Beach”
Review of Aquarius

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Old Orchard Beach
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Aquarius
Ranked #20 of 44 Hotels in Old Orchard Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 July 2014

I love this place and want to keep it a secret! Small quaint, clean motel right on the Beach. A few blocks from the Pier. We have stayed in three different rooms, April, June and August. All are clean. The beds are comfortable. Some rooms have a kitchenett, complete with dishes, pots & pans etc. All rooms look out to the Ocean. We like to sit on the Patio near the beach at night. Patio has table & chairs and BBQ's. Owners are friendly and have such lovely hanging plants everywhere!! They keep the Motel clean and updated. Can't wait for our next stay!

Room Tip: Any room is good! All look out to the Ocean. Some have kitchens.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank sharls08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (61)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

30 - 36 of 61 reviews

Reviewed 28 June 2014

What an unexpected find in Old Orchard Beach! We were in the area for the day and decided to spend the night. An inquiry at a hotel near the Amusements was extremely expensive and not ocean front. We headed for the opposite side of the pier and just happened upon the Aquarius. What a gem! We were able to get oceanfront at a very reasonable rate. The room is basic, but spotless. The whole place was clean, well kept, beautiful flowers and plants on the patios and balconies, and the staff was so friendly and welcoming. Hotel is right there at the beach. Patio tables and grills are available. Easy walk to the pier and shops. We were out for the evening and walked back to our room near midnight, and the area was quiet and for two women traveling, we felt safe. Would definitely stay again and would recommend to others.

Room Tip: Room 17 is above the office. It's very quiet and oceanfront.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank D W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2014

This summer marked our 15th year at the Aquarius. Right on the beach. Easy walking distance to the festivities at Old Orchard. Mitch and family have made improvements every year. I really appreciated the new patio. We signed up for the same week next year. Quiet, clean, friendly. Can't get better than that.

Room Tip: We usually stay in #2 -- upstairs on the end with an unobstructed view of the water. But, the knees...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank MrBillinVT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2014

This is a small motel right on the ocean near the pier. The rooms we were in were very small, but being in the room was not the reason we opted for this motel.There is a patio literally steps from the beach access that has tables and barbecue grills. Although I imagine there might be times when you couldn't get a table there, we were there in early June, and there always was one of the three tables available. The property is a riot of color what with the beautiful and varied flowers that the owner lovingly cares for each morning. The absolute only complaint I have-----there is no smoking permitted in the rooms, but outside on the decks directly outside of the rooms many of the guests go out to smoke. We unfortunately were sandwiched between two rooms where heavy smokers were staying, and since it was lovely weather we had our windows open, and the smoke came right in. The owner was sympathetic to our plight, and for next year we have reserved a room that is not only larger, but the last room and near the stairwell which will protect us from the smokiness.I would, however, wholeheartedly recommend this property, if the small room is OK. The location is within easy walking distance to the shops and eating establishments (not to mention that many rooms have cooking facilities), so the need to use the car is eliminated.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank marigail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2013

We have been meeting friends at The Aquarius for the past 8 years and none of us would even consider staying anyplace else. The family owned and operated business is very clean, management is extremely accommodating to any and all of our needs and treats us like part of their family. They are always more than happy to see us. The flowers are absolutely beautiful and carefully maintained and it's literally right on the beach. No need to travel by car to anything you might care to do at Old Orchard. The same people stay at The Aquarius each year booking their rooms upon arriving because if you don't book it then, you won't get a room for the following year because it fills up that quickly. Someone wrote a review stating that they were treated rudely; my guess is that they were the ones who were rude when they learned that they could not put 4 people into a room set up for 2. Some people just try to break rules and when they can't get their own way, they throw an adult temper tantrum and write bad reviews toward good people. It's a great place, great owners, great sunrises, beautiful flowers, clean accommodations and all at a great price.

Room Tip: An all around great experience with outstanding customer service.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank momofdogs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2013

We have been going to OOB beach for over 20 years. We have stayed at the Aquarius for over 10 years. It is a family run hotel. The location is great directly on the beach and close to the pier. Great for families with little ones. There is an ocean front patio with grills to use. The owners take very good care of the grounds with beautiful flowers everywhere. Each year the owner will improve on something. This year they had the patio done over. The rooms are typical Maine beach rooms. Not to big but clean and everything you need. There are a few bigger units for those who need them: a lot with kitchenettes too. Rooms have fridges and very nice tvs (in case it rains). They also sell bags of ice for coolers right at the hotel. There is morning coffee in the office. They have a book library in the office with books to borrow. My little girl loves this. We go back every year. There is no pool but this is not a problem for us.

Room Tip: all rooms are very good. Upstairs rooms will offer a better view of the beach and water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Pinehurstt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2013

Checked in at 6PM and paid $149 plus tax. The room had no windows so requested another. Addional $40 charge. Tried to cancel but told $20 charge. Seems like a bait and switch scam. $190 for a basic room but we stayed. Have spent two weeks traveling the coasts of Maine and Canada and this is the most we have had to pay. Great location but terrible management. Allen. August 1, 2013.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank reiseha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Old Orchard Beach hotels
0.5 mi away
Sea View Motel
Sea View Motel
#26 of 44 in Old Orchard Beach
138 reviews
0.6 mi away
Crosswinds Motel & Cottages
Crosswinds Motel & Cottages
#35 of 44 in Old Orchard Beach
28 reviews
0.4 mi away
Alouette Beach Resort
Alouette Beach Resort
#15 of 44 in Old Orchard Beach
455 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Edgewater
The Edgewater
#3 of 44 in Old Orchard Beach
233 reviews
0.9 mi away
Sea Cliff House Motel
Sea Cliff House Motel
#23 of 44 in Old Orchard Beach
197 reviews
0 mi away
The Copley LaReine Motel
The Copley LaReine Motel
#25 of 44 in Old Orchard Beach
98 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aquarius? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aquarius

Address: 1 Brown Street, Old Orchard Beach, ME 04064
Region: United States > Maine > Old Orchard Beach
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Old Orchard Beach
Price Range: £45 - £80 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 14
Also Known As:
Aquarius Old Orchard Beach, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing