We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“change this time wasn't for the better.”
Review of Aquarius

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Old Orchard Beach
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Aquarius
Ranked #22 of 44 Hotels in Old Orchard Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 31 August 2010

we have been going to old orchard for almost 20 years, usually stay at the same place but tried the Aquarius this year based on location and figured it was time for a change . While the room may have appeared to be clean it had a slight odor which I still am not sure of , but it almost smelled like someone forgot to wash the "pee' off the bathroom floor. We had beautiful weather so we didn't have to spend much time in the room and just left the windows open and tha fan going on the air conditioner in hopes to keep the air circulating. Only stayed 2 nights. the bed was located and I mean located right next to the air conditioner in the wall, the bed was very uncomfortable and it is time for new pillows they were flat and hard . Maybe if we got a room upstairs it would have been better just too noisy on the ground level.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mamdog1006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (61)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

48 - 54 of 61 reviews

Reviewed 21 September 2009

The Aquarius Motel is a fantastic place to stay in Old Orchard Beach, Maine. The owner keeps the grounds immaculate, the rooms spotlessly clean, & the gas grills ready to use on the outdoor patio. The motel is located right on the beach. There are fully equipped kitchenettes available. It's located a few blocks from downtown and 20 minutes from Portland. Getting up in the morning and opening the shades to see the most beautiful sunrise ever over the ocean -- is magical. We have been traveling to OOB for quite a few years to a car show that is held in Sept. by the Chamber of Commerce. Aquarius Motel will be booked that weekend for many years to come. The owners of the motel are like family and we look forward to visiting with them every year.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank juneol57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2008

we found this spot just by luck...stopped and we were lucky enough to get a room.....room was great,and the view from the deck even better!!!we will definately be returning again to walk on the beach and listen to waves.

Stayed: September 2008
Thank summergirl61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2008

We have stayed at the Aquarius for many years. The location couldn't be better as it is right on the beach. Perfect for families with small children to go back to the room for a nap, or for older couples who do not want to walk too far to and from the beach.
It is a short walk to the pier and the rest of the "OOB" experience. The Aquarius is clean but plain. The kitchenettes have all you will need for a stay. Each year we have stayed , there have been improvements made. The new owners are more stand-offish than The Carter's, who owned it for many years. All in all it is a nice motel with a beautiful beach and gorgeous flowers and a great value in the OOB area

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank djiboutiFortEdward
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2007

We wrote the owners in advance of our trip to confirm rates and availability. We have their response quoting a specific rate. When we got there, the owner, a rude man, said that the rate he quoted in the email he sent was not valid and tried to charge us substantially more. We looked at the tiny, old room and decided to leave. The owner was yelling at us as we left that we should have read their web site better. I replied that I relied on his quote in his email and left. We found a spacious room, on the beach with a great view and nice people at a comparable price.

  • Stayed: September 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank CharlieSnAZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2006

The Aquarius is very well located, quiet and clean. There is no outdoor pool but the motel is right on the beach and very close to the Pier. The owner is a very nive gentleman. We were a family of 4 with 2 children. It is an old but clean place. There are 2 bbq's to be used, and the kitchenette had everything available. Overall, an excellent motel, we would go back there.

  • Stayed: June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Melanie135
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2005

We stayed at the Aquarius Motel in Old Orchard Beach the weekend after Labor Day. If you are interested in taking in the activity of downtown and the Pier, this is a great location. It's only a few blocks (or a short walk down the beach) from the Pier. The motel is right on the beach, and we could see and hear the ocean from our room, which was lovely.
The room itself was plain, but clean. Other guests were mainly quiet and respectful. There is a mini-fridge, which we found useful. The bed was not comfortable, though--hard mattress and scratchy blanket. Make sure you bring your own shampoo, as they only provided a small bar of soap.
The price, especially at this time of year (the low-season starts after Labor Day for many hotels in New England tourist towns) is very reasonable, but as they say, you get what you pay for.
I'd recommend the Aquarius to travellers who are looking for an affordable place to stay, in a good location, and aren't expecting anything fancy.

6  Thank smile_sj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Old Orchard Beach hotels
0.5 mi away
Old Colonial Motel
Old Colonial Motel
#19 of 44 in Old Orchard Beach
200 reviews
0 mi away
The Copley LaReine Motel
The Copley LaReine Motel
#25 of 44 in Old Orchard Beach
98 reviews
0.1 mi away
Crest Motel
Crest Motel
#7 of 44 in Old Orchard Beach
200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Moontide Motel, Cabins and Apartments
Moontide Motel, Cabins and Apart...
#6 of 44 in Old Orchard Beach
173 reviews
0.9 mi away
Sea Cliff House Motel
Sea Cliff House Motel
#20 of 44 in Old Orchard Beach
198 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Edgewater
The Edgewater
#4 of 44 in Old Orchard Beach
232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aquarius? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aquarius

Address: 1 Brown Street, Old Orchard Beach, ME 04064
Region: United States > Maine > Old Orchard Beach
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Old Orchard Beach
Price Range: £44 - £79 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 14
Also Known As:
Aquarius Old Orchard Beach, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing