We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great time as always.”
Review of Old Colonial Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Old Colonial Motel
Ranked #20 of 44 Hotels in Old Orchard Beach
Reviewed 29 June 2014

We go to the Old Colonial every year and bring along a small dog. This motel is right on the beach. No need to find parking and carry all your umbrellas, coolers, chairs etc to the beach. I've been going here for well over 15 years. I recommend this motel to all my friends, plus they recently updated the rooms.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fran H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (199)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

140 - 146 of 199 reviews

Reviewed 29 June 2014

We enjoyed our stay at Colonial. The location was great. It's located within walking distance to the pier, shopping and dining. The owners and staff were very friendly. We loved the fact that it was a pet friendly motel.





  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MemG16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2014

Nice and clean . I'm going every year with my dog . I like this place right on the beach. Nice heated pool and hot tub . Quiet place and good price . Going again in July and August . Only 5 minutes walk to the Pier .

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Isabelle M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2014

We stayed there in October 2012. At that time, the rooms were clean but needed a little upgrade. It was a great spot to bring my dog. We had a lot of fun playing on the beach. At night it could be a bit noisy, I wasn't sure then if it was people from our hotel or the one next door. Actually, we had a fun getaway and would go back.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Linda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2014

The room was secured with a key on a knob that was not very good quality. The bed sagged like a waterbed, and all the furniture was quite worn. The blinds did not keep out the early morning sun, forcing my wife to buy a face mask if she wanted to sleep in. To their credit, the room was clean, though we found ourselves wading in several inches of water in the shower toward the end of showering. While this is the only property in town that we could find that accepted dogs, there is NO place to take your pet to do business. One block west there is a beautiful park that actually has a dog park at it, though it's a ten minute walk.
Found a nice dog friendly hotel in Wells (Sea Mist), that we wanted to spend our last evening in Maine at, but this property would not allow us out of our third night on our reservation.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mjal65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colleen D, Manager at Old Colonial Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2014

Hi I'm not sure when you stayed or what room but the furniture is new and the blinds we were unaware of the problem and are in the process of changing all the blinds in the motel as we speak. The shower draining slowly we were also unaware of during the stay and would have had the problem corrected right away. There is a small grass strip before the beach that dogs can go do there business unfortunately with the beach and dune grass right there at our property there is very little room to have a large grassy area for dogs

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2014

My stay at the Old Colonial Motel was a very comfortable and relaxing one. The environment was clean. At the front of the motel is a heated pool and a hot tub. I stayed in the ocean front room which has its private hot tub and a grill.The room was very clean and fresh. The workers were very friendly and helpful. I will definitely go back in august...

Room Tip: ocean view and ocean front rooms are the best. You are able to get a beautiful view of the ocean fro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank nickay c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2014

Great place to stay they had nice new furnitures the view is great especially at nite... the staff is friendly and professional.. I definitely would recommend anyone to stay there and I will stay there again

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kimmiboo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Old Orchard Beach hotels
0.9 mi away
Alouette Beach Resort
Alouette Beach Resort
#16 of 44 in Old Orchard Beach
455 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sea Cliff House Motel
Sea Cliff House Motel
#21 of 44 in Old Orchard Beach
197 reviews
0 mi away
Sea View Motel
Sea View Motel
#26 of 44 in Old Orchard Beach
138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
The Edgewater
The Edgewater
#4 of 44 in Old Orchard Beach
233 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Copley LaReine Motel
The Copley LaReine Motel
#25 of 44 in Old Orchard Beach
98 reviews
0.8 mi away
Normandie Oceanfront Motor Inn
Normandie Oceanfront Motor Inn
#3 of 44 in Old Orchard Beach
571 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Colonial Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Colonial Motel

Address: 61 W Grand Ave, Old Orchard Beach, ME 04064-2644
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maine > Old Orchard Beach
Amenities:
Beach Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Old Orchard Beach
Price Range: £70 - £199 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Old Colonial Motel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
30 Unit recently updated motel located directly on the beach with great ocean views. Within walking distance to the downtown area and arcade and amusement park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Priceline so you can book your Old Colonial Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Colonial Hotel Old Orchard Beach
Old Colonial Orchard Beach
Old Colonial Motel Old Orchard Beach, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing