We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Off-season weekend in Maine” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Grand Beach Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Grand Beach Inn
Ranked #38 of 43 Hotels in Old Orchard Beach
Swampscott, Mass.
Level Contributor
52 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Off-season weekend in Maine”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2013

Found the Grand Beach Inn as a secret hotel on Hotwire. The rate was very good for a two-night stay. The room we had was a standard kitchenette. Two double beds, two-burner stove, microwave, mini-fridge and coffee maker. Flat screen TV on wall. Room was clean and comfortable. The suspended ceiling really needs to be replaced in the room and bathroom. As a home base for the weekend the Grand beach Inn did exactly what we wanted it to do. Nothing fancy, but decent and at a good price.

Room Tip: Had room 39 on the first floor in the corner. Very loud at night and in the early morning as guests...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Henry C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sean C, General Manager at The Grand Beach Inn, responded to this review, 21 September 2013
Thank you for your review. I am happy you enjoyed your stay with us. I have been able to review your concerns with our maintenance staff and have fixed the issues you mentioned. I appreciate the feed back and look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

329 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    51
    56
    52
    34
    136
See reviews for
150
70
11
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Thompson, CT
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2013

The outside looks a lot better than the inside. It may be clean (?) but who would know it. The rugs had holes in them, the furniture pretty beat up, was afraid to use the bed. The only redeeming thing about this inn is that it is right across the street from the beach. I say look for somewhere else.

Room Tip: I don't have a good tip for this motel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cecile M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sean C, General Manager at The Grand Beach Inn, responded to this review, 21 September 2013
Hello Traveler,
I am very unhappy to hear about your experience during your stay. But what saddens me most is that there was no communication with my self during your stay as I would have done everything possible to make your stay the best vacation ever. We take pride in our level of customer care and are always willing to help. If i can be of any assistance please reach out to me. You can contact me at (207)934-4621.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Old Orchard Beach hotels

Scituate, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2013

At the very last minute in early September, we decided to do a weekend getaway to the southern coast of Maine. After a search by town, I found the Grand Beach Inn and discovered that they also manage a beach house.....right on the beach in Pine Point!!

I sent an inquiry and was responded to almost immediately. I had a few questions about the house since it was sight unseen and, every time, my questions were answered promptly and completely. Great customer service!!

When we arrived, the house was clean and neat.....and what a location!! Adding to the great customer service theme, we had a question while we were there and the property manager (Sean C.) came by in person to answer it. Now THAT is customer service!!

We were very happy with the overall experience. Keep up the good work!!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bmingels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sean C, General Manager at The Grand Beach Inn, responded to this review, 9 September 2013
Thanks for the review. It was my pleasure meeting you during your stay with us. I hope to see you again next year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rochester ny
Level Contributor
37 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2013

Friendly staff but they need to be trained properly. No attention to detail in every aspect. Burn holes in chair, broken chair on balcony, bed throw was filthy. This place could be great with a little work. Entire property needs an update.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank foody52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sean C, General Manager at The Grand Beach Inn, responded to this review, 6 September 2013
Hello. Thank you for your review. We are in the middle of updating our rooms some have been done and some are being done this winter. I look forward to you seeing the changes when you visit next year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilmington, Massachusetts
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2013

We decided last minute to go to OOB for Labor Day weekend - shame on me for not reading the trip advisor reviews on this place - what a dump. We didn't arrive to the hotel until late evening otherwise I would have demanded a refund and stayed somewhere else. The pictures on their website are extremely mis-leading. It looked clean and newly renovated - well don't be fooled it was dirty, it smelled, electrical outlets were scarey. I truly did not feel safe staying there with my family. Myself and my husband did not get any sleep I still can't believe I actually stayed there. Do yourself a favor do NOT stay at this place.

Room Tip: Don't stay here !!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Niamh D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sean C, General Manager at The Grand Beach Inn, responded to this review, 6 September 2013
Hello Traveler, I am very surprised to see this review. After seeing this I went right up to your room (49) to see the issues. I found nothing in that room that would warrant your flagrant remarks. The room has a nice flat screen 32" TV on the wall, new light fixture in the bath in conjunction with a new vanity. If I can be of any assistance please contact me directly. (207) 934-4621.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester, Massachusetts, Usa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2013

The inn is very out dated. The owner must be really cheap. The place smells in the halls and in the rooms. Walls are dirty, lamp shades stained. Our tv had a dent in it and a chip in the screen. All the rugs need to be replaced. Our door to the room id compete crap. It doesnt even shut right bc it is rotted on one side. It seems to be a hotel that if you were a kid it would be the best hotel to h
ave a crazy party at and no worries about brraking anything and worry about someone throwing up in the hotel bc noone would notice. Nasty place. Dont recommend it at all. Total rip off and Sean in the office was not helpful at all. Talked to much [--]. Was not happy.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jenn D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haddonfield, New Jersey
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2013

Stayed at Surfside rooms 24 and 25. I have only one good thing to say: it was oceanfront. Bed was extremely uncomfortable and there was no mattress cover. Floor slopes - clothes cabinet had broken drawers. Kitchen was deplorable - pots were rusty, oven not cleaned, yuk.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NJCritique
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sean C, General Manager at The Grand Beach Inn, responded to this review, 4 September 2013
Hello thank you for your review. First I would like to say that both beds are were new this year. The one in unit 24 is a Tempapedic queen size bed. And 25 is a new Serta bed. I am sorry you felt uncomfortable but there was nothing wrong with the beds. It is an older building that is right on the beach, the building has settled a little leaving a slight slope in the floor. That is out of the hotels control. I am sorry to see this review as nothing was said to me or my during your stay with us as we would have gone above and beyond to make the situation right. If you would like to contact me directly please feel free to do so. (207) 934-4621.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Old Orchard Beach hotels
1.5 mi away
Americas Best Value Mt. Royal Inn
Americas Best Value Mt. Royal In...
#34 of 43 in Old Orchard Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 155 reviews
0.8 mi away
Alouette Beach Resort
Alouette Beach Resort
#11 of 43 in Old Orchard Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 426 reviews
2.1 mi away
Sea Cliff House Motel
Sea Cliff House Motel
#23 of 43 in Old Orchard Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Crest Motel
Crest Motel
#8 of 43 in Old Orchard Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 179 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ocean Walk Hotel
Ocean Walk Hotel
#10 of 43 in Old Orchard Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 194 reviews
1.8 mi away
Marvin Gardens Motel
Marvin Gardens Motel
#31 of 43 in Old Orchard Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 38 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Grand Beach Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grand Beach Inn

Property: The Grand Beach Inn
Address: 198 E Grand Ave, Old Orchard Beach, ME 04064-3066
Region: United States > Maine > Old Orchard Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#20 On the Beach Hotel in Old Orchard Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Grand Beach Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Beach Inn provides spacious accommodations with direct access to 7 miles of sandy beach. We offer deluxe rooms and suites with fully equipped kitchens, private balconies, air conditioning, heat, extended cable television, telephones and much more. Located in the most beautiful section of Old Orchard, you'll enjoy the finest beach in Maine. Take a relaxing stroll along the waters edge to the town center where you will find the famous Old Orchard Pier, Palace Playland amusement park, along with many shops and restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotel.de, Priceline, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your The Grand Beach Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Beach Hotel Old Orchard Beach
Grand Beach Old Orchard
The Grand Beach Inn Old Orchard Beach, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing