We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Will NEVER go back!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Grand Beach Inn
Ranked #40 of 44 Hotels in Old Orchard Beach
Reviewed 20 August 2014

The place was so bad that we didn't even stay! The room smelled of urine, the toilet would not flush, the air conditioner was plugged into an extension cord and the room was filthy! We were there long enough to call and find another room near by. The girl at the front desk offered us a different room, I declined as I am pretty sure they are all the same.

I went into it knowing that it was an older place and was not expecting anything fancy but I also didn't expect to have it smell like an outhouse and have to tell my kids not to sit on the beds or touch anything! I would have slept in my car before I would have slept in that hotel!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Hollie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (347)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

118 - 124 of 347 reviews

Reviewed 16 August 2014

booked on line was told would not be charged until arrival. they took the payment 3 days prior to arrival then again after we checked out. Spoke to the hotel and was asked to call back when questioned again they denied the overage!!!!! By bank is now handling the double charge. buyer beware.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lyn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2014

We just got back. Room was not ready at check in....went for food came back, they said room was done. Got up there and roomwas not ready. Room smelled the whole time we were there. All 3 days the did not clean room before 7 pm and we had no towels. Had to go to front desk for towels and wash cloths. Last nite we were there they failed to clean room at all and no towels. Front desk said they could not clean because we were not there?....??? What? Poor front desk service. Phone in room did nt work....no hair dryer and no management to talk to. Not worth the time or money!!,

Room Tip: Dont go there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank Joanna M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2014

Me and my fiance are having a blast! This hotel is the cheapest on the strip! Im reading these reviews before me and OMG! For 149.00$ a night these ppl want the Ritz Carlton! Really?! Everyone here including the staff is so nice.. We are having a blast! I grew up in Old Orchard in the summer all my life and this is the first time I stayed here at Grand Beach Inn. The beds are made everyday and the rooms and Bathroom are clean daily! This is the most accomadating Hotel Ive stayed at here in Old Orchard for 42 years ALL MY LIFE! Yup im a lifer. So pls ppl dont listen to the ppl picking apart this Hotel. Im def coming next year and every year! Thank God I didnt listen to the bad reviews I read before coming here! This place is excellent with a great new manager named Art who answered all our questions including being resonable about check out and letting us leave at 11:00am instead of 10:00am. The parking lot was filled with cars of ppl that are staying here. Every other Hotel wants atleast 200$ a night. Old Orchard is what life should be and Grand Beach Inn does not deserve all those terible reviews.! If you want Ritz Carlton then stay there!!! Its quiet here, away from the noise of palace playland!and the breakfast cafe "Rizzo's" ( owners to the (Golden Roaster) is remarkable! Cant wait to come back next year!! Thank you Grand Beach Inn FOR EVERYTHING From Melinda White and Rob Davis

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Meli813
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2014

I have seen hotel in my life on the east cost, in the south! Cuba is a 5 star compare to this hotel.
Dirty all around the place, mold in the room, no towel, not sure on the cleanness of the sheets, carpet with stain etc
It was a last minute reservation, never again!
take the review seriously... it is that bad!

Room Tip: go to another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank suetreoda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2014

My husband and I stayed here on July 26th with our two daughters under the age of 6. We got the kitchenette so we could spend the afternoon on the beach and then make dinner for the girls. We arrived to a room at 3 pm that smelled of stale cigarettes and cologne. The room was picked up but was not clean. We had no towels or wash cloths. To top it off we had no power to the kitchen area or the TV. We requested a new room and was brushed off by the kids that are running the place. They were unable to restore our power and could not bring us towels until 7 pm "after they dried in the dryer" Close to 7pm an electrician came to our room to check the outlets. he quickly went down stairs and switched the popped breaker. Never once did we get offered a new room, an apology, or even a discounted rate. My complaints to the front desk were shrugged off, and 2 emails to contact the manager went unanswered. Very disappointing!!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Mooreheads
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2014 via mobile

Ac was broke guy had to come up with a wrench to turn it on. Had a horrible smell, and the maintance guy came up with drainO because I guess the tube was blocked. This was all right when we walked in the room. Pictures are not at all accurate. Don't waste your money!!

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Matthew P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Old Orchard Beach hotels
1.5 mi away
Americas Best Value Mt. Royal Inn
Americas Best Value Mt. Royal In...
#33 of 44 in Old Orchard Beach
169 reviews
1.3 mi away
Seabreeze Motel
Seabreeze Motel
#41 of 44 in Old Orchard Beach
108 reviews
1.1 mi away
Beau Rivage Motel
Beau Rivage Motel
#19 of 44 in Old Orchard Beach
243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Sea Cliff House Motel
Sea Cliff House Motel
#22 of 44 in Old Orchard Beach
197 reviews
0.5 mi away
Friendship Oceanfront Suites
Friendship Oceanfront Suites
#8 of 44 in Old Orchard Beach
174 reviews
1.7 mi away
Marvin Gardens Motel
Marvin Gardens Motel
#31 of 44 in Old Orchard Beach
39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Grand Beach Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grand Beach Inn

Address: 198 E Grand Ave, Old Orchard Beach, ME 04064-3066
Region: United States > Maine > Old Orchard Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#21 On the Beach Hotel in Old Orchard Beach
Price Range: £72 - £172 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Grand Beach Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Beach Inn provides spacious accommodations with direct access to 7 miles of sandy beach. We offer deluxe rooms and suites with fully equipped kitchens, private balconies, air conditioning, heat, extended cable television, telephones and much more. Located in the most beautiful section of Old Orchard, you'll enjoy the finest beach in Maine. Take a relaxing stroll along the waters edge to the town center where you will find the famous Old Orchard Pier, Palace Playland amusement park, along with many shops and restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd and Ebookers so you can book your The Grand Beach Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Beach Hotel Old Orchard Beach
Grand Beach Old Orchard
The Grand Beach Inn Old Orchard Beach, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing