We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great comfortable, friendly stay close to Umaine”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
University Inn Academic Suites
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Orono
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 4 February 2013

This was the first time we stayed at University Inn. I Will definitely stay here again when I come to visit my son at Umaine. The rooms are very nice and clean. The staff was very friendly and helpful. It is affordable, they serve free breakfast with many items. There have free WiFi and is within walking distance to Umaine. Thanks for the comfortable stay!

Tina

Room Tip: I stayed with my daughter and her husband and my son from Umaine. We chose a family suite which was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tina C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (491)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

409 - 415 of 491 reviews

Reviewed 10 January 2013

Great place to stay while visiting a University of Maine student or bringing one back and forth during breaks. We live 4 hours away and prefer to travel in the light hours, so it lets us stay later in the day and get a fresh start in the morning...it makes an inexpensive layover. Reservations are easy to make at the last minute and University of Maine students and their families get a discount!

Room Tip: You might want to stick to the second floor...first floor is a little noisy if you have a loud perso...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sharon P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 December 2012

We've stayed here several times in the past year and love it. The owners continue to make changes and upgrades. Our latest room had newly renovated bathrooms (sink outside of the tub and toilet area- a plus!), new towels and bed linens. The pool area is great in the summer. Free wifi also a plus. Finally, I have been blown away by the 'continental breakfast.' They always include a few hot items (today waffles, scrambled eggs and sausage), hot and cold cereals, apples, bananas, muffins, breads, toast, all the fixings, coffee, tea, juices, yogurt. They even have soymilk available!! So nice to have something like this in Orono that is convenient and cost efficient. Thank you!

Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
Thank M D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2012

We had stayed here a few times and plan on staying again, the staff is great and the property is well maintained and the Hotel is very clean. This is a great hotel and downtown is in walking distance, you can rent Canoes and Keyacks

Renee and Rich Pepperell MA

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank reneedann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2012

The University Inn has recently been updated. The rooms are clean, odor free and inviting. The beds were very comfortable with a down comforter and cotton sheets. They even provided pillows of different lofts. The room had a TV and a comfortable chair, as well as a desk and desk chair. The sink is outside the shower area allowing for ease in getting cleaned up with multiple guests. The Inn is located on the river with nice views. I also noticed a nice pool, but it was closed for the season. The breakfast was great and coffee is always available. Overall a great spot to stay.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MaineCaribbeansoul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2012

What a lovely place to stay, particularly if visiting U Maine in Orono. The inn was spotless, the room looked like it should have cost much more, the employees were pleasant, location right on the river is wonderful. My only 'complaint', and it is minor, is that the front desk person was not as knowlegable about the area as I needed, but this was a small point. Plus breakfast is included! I would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: 2nd floor, river side!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CrazyBells
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2012

The Universtiy Inn is a great little hotel, so very close to the UMaine campus. My husband and kids really enjoyed the breakfast...and trust me...my husband can be very critical. The pool was great...I was glad it was a nice weekend, my daughter couldnt get enough of the pool, which was beautifully maintained. Staff is so friendly, and I had the pleasure of meeting Tracy (the owner) both times that I have stayed there. A+. Will stay there again for sure!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Becky N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Orono
1.4 mi away
Black Bear Inn and Conference Center
4.8 mi away
Bangor Inn & Suites
Bangor Inn & Suites
#5 of 26 in Bangor
525 reviews
4.8 mi away
Hampton Inn by Hilton Bangor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Bangor
4.9 mi away
The Country Inn at the Mall
5.2 mi away
Comfort Inn Bangor
Comfort Inn Bangor
#3 of 26 in Bangor
645 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to University Inn Academic Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about University Inn Academic Suites

Address: 5 College Ave, Orono, ME 04473-4400
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maine > Orono
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Orono
Price Range: £61 - £117 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — University Inn Academic Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking the Stillwater River in the charming college town of Orono, University Inn Academic Suites is committed to Downeast hospitality. We are within walking distance to some of downtown Orono's finest restaurants and driving distance to many attractions of Downeast Maine. Our property has access to the Stillwater River with some of the best fishing in Maine. Being only 1/2 of a mile from the University of Maine, we are the closest accommodations around, as well as also minutes from the Bangor Mall and LL Bean and many historic sites, including day trips to Acadia National Park , Baxter State Park and the Moosehead Lake Region. The University Inn is a family run Inn with a newly renovated building. All of our spacious rooms have private balconies with many of them overlooking the river, as well as a refrigerator, microwave and Keurig coffee maker. Our seasonal outdoor heated pool with bar service is the perfect way to relax or spend time with friends & family. We offer free wireless in all of our rooms, complimentary hot breakfast, fitness & recreation center, a smoke free and environmentally conscious building and limited pet friendly rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your University Inn Academic Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
University Hotel Academic
University Motel Academic

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing