We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“recent stay not quite as good”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
University Inn Academic Suites
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Orono
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 9 September 2013

love staying here as it is close to the u of maine where my daughter is,however,this time our room had a funky smell.I didnt report it because I was out most of the time but my husband suspects it was from a previous client who had a dog.( smelled like dog urine to him) Since I know animals are allowed I think it is a good idea to ask for a room where no animals are allowed to stay- especially if you are alergic.
Also the was a non working hair dryer which I did report and I was given a new hair dryer whichdid work well but the lady at the desk was a bit off putting and not the usual friendly staff type.
When I told her about the dryer she said she would look for one but if there wasnt an extra there was nothing she could do as the hotel was full.Just the way she said it and her attitude before looking was so unnecessary and not up to the usual friendly service I have come to expect from this inn.

Room Tip: if your allergic to dogs make sure to ask for a room that has not been previously occupied by an an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ladymax2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
traceywhitten23, Owner at University Inn Academic Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2013

Thank you very much for the feedback. The two negative items noted in your review are not acceptable for our normal standards. It would be very helpful if you could email us with either your name, room # and date of stay so we may address these issues. Earlier today, we did pull out a carpet in one of our dog rooms that had developed a bad odor that was untreatable. That room is being replaced tomorrow with a brand new carpet and what we found under the old carpet confirmed our suspicions. As for the unfriendly desk person, that is quite unusual and absolutely needs to be addressed. I am so sorry about that! Thanks for again for the feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (502)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

365 - 371 of 502 reviews

Reviewed 2 September 2013

We're from Ontario (Toronto area) and we've stayed at the Inn a couple of times while visiting the university. It's great to be so close to the campus. We enjoy sitting in the lounge with our coffee in the morning - feels like home. The pool is very nice and beautifully maintained and we enjoyed an afternoon by the pool with friends on our most recent visit in August 2013.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lori C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2013

Friendly staff clean rooms two min from university of Maine...
Free hot breakfast in the morning... Will be back again.... Soft bed great shower bathroom little small. Will be back again. Reasonable rates. Nice size rooms...

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ppiteo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2013

Room, breakfast and staff were to our satisfaction, however, housekeeping staff needs to be more alert to inform maintenance staff of tub drainage and mold found on the shower ceiling. What very discouraging to the cleanliness of the rooms. Although drain was unclogged no one ever came to work on the mold. We also found food packaging from the previous guest under the bed. Need to become more aware of such food items since they attract some unwanted creatures that are disliked by most humans.
Thank you

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Luis S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
traceywhitten23, Manager at University Inn Academic Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2013

Thank you so much for the feedback. Normally our staff is extremely conscientious of the fine details noted in your review. Could you please let me know the room number or your last name so we may follow up? The volumes of people this weekend certainly may have contributed to some missed details but ultimately there is no excuse. We hope you enjoyed your stay otherwise.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2013

We have stayed there a few times and have never been disappointed. The owners are friendly as well as everyone else there. The rooms are clean and the beds are comfortable. The hot breakfast included is great. Our daughter goes to UMaine and each time we go for a visit we will stay at the University Inn Academic Suites!

Room Tip: Ask for the riverside view. Beautiful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EIslip_NYRickster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2013

We recently stayed at the University Inn Academic Suites for a wedding. The rooms were spacious and clean. The service was first rate, and the staff was friendly and helpful. The hot breakfast was amazing, (Nice job on the bacon!) Rates were reasonable too. If we ever have to stay in the Bangor/Orono area, we'll be making reservations.

Room Tip: Poolside rooms have balconies. Nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Frank H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2013

Booked this hotel through Hotwire and was quite impressed. Our room overlooked the pool and river. The rooms were spacious and beds were comfortable. Large screen TV, mini-fridge and microwave a plus. Hot breakfast included (great selection). I really liked that the bathtub and toilet were in a separate room. This allows two people to get ready at the same time. Located less than 10 minutes from Bangor Mall. At night, we strolled across the bridge to go eat at a restaurant. I would most definitely go back and will recommend it to all my friends and family. You won't be disappointed.

Room Tip: Ask for room with pool view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank klcrossman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Orono
1.4 mi away
Black Bear Inn and Conference Center
4.8 mi away
Hampton Inn by Hilton Bangor
5.2 mi away
Comfort Inn Bangor
Comfort Inn Bangor
#3 of 26 in Bangor
654 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Bangor
4.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Bangor
8.2 mi away
Vacationland Inn
Vacationland Inn
#1 of 5 in Brewer
726 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to University Inn Academic Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about University Inn Academic Suites

Address: 5 College Ave, Orono, ME 04473-4400
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maine > Orono
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Orono
Price Range: £65 - £114 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — University Inn Academic Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking the Stillwater River in the charming college town of Orono, University Inn Academic Suites is committed to Downeast hospitality. We are within walking distance to some of downtown Orono's finest restaurants and driving distance to many attractions of Downeast Maine. Our property has access to the Stillwater River with some of the best fishing in Maine. Being only 1/2 of a mile from the University of Maine, we are the closest accommodations around, as well as also minutes from the Bangor Mall and LL Bean and many historic sites, including day trips to Acadia National Park , Baxter State Park and the Moosehead Lake Region. The University Inn is a family run Inn with a newly renovated building. All of our spacious rooms have private balconies with many of them overlooking the river, as well as a refrigerator, microwave and Keurig coffee maker. Our seasonal outdoor heated pool with bar service is the perfect way to relax or spend time with friends & family. We offer free wireless in all of our rooms, complimentary hot breakfast, fitness & recreation center, a smoke free and environmentally conscious building and limited pet friendly rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your University Inn Academic Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
University Hotel Academic
University Motel Academic

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing