We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“University Inn” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of University Inn Academic Suites

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
University Inn Academic Suites
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Orono
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Brunswick, Maine
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
“University Inn”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2014

I have stayed at the University Inn at least seven times in the past 14 years. In the past two visits they have renovated! The outside and inside look brand new! The pool looks great, although I have never been in it due to the weather when I visit.
The staff is accommodating and friendly. The location is great for walking down to the restaurants in town.
I'll be headed back again!

Room Tip: Stay poolside!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dvmurphy77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

433 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    224
    166
    31
    9
    3
See reviews for
217
73
31
59
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (183)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2014

Location can't be beat with easy walk to downtown restaurants in one direction and UMO Campus in the other. They have worked hard to upkeep this older independent property, and although you can see the signs of age if you look for them overall it is clean, bright, and comfortable. The full hot breakfast is definitely a plus, but it still feels a bit overpriced. Compared to the other choices in the area, though, the only way to stay less expensive is to get one of the cheap chain motels a 20 minute drive away by the Bangor airport. So considering everything (including convenience) they are "competitively priced". I cannot say I would go out of my way to spend a day at this property, but needing to be on campus the stay was "nice".

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lawrence Bean D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Danbury, Connecticut
Level Contributor
136 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2014

Great Inn next the river and by the University of Maine. We were on first floor and it looks like all was redone lately. New carpet smell in hallway and were pleasantly clean room.
Sliding glass door to either your car in parking lot or grass by the river.
Very good breakfast and excellent service.
Only draw back for being on the first floor you can hear people walking above.

Room Tip: Request the 2nd floor for quiter room
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nettuno07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2014 via mobile

There is no better location in the area. Walking distance to both the University of Maine campus and town. Half of the rooms have a great view overlooking the river and town. Seriously updated and renovated recently. Staff was friendly and efficient. I will definitely be returning with the family for future visits.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Glenn D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haverhill, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2014

Asked for a first floor for my puppy I was bringing. Room was perfect. Slide open the back door & had a patio & rolling green grass, woods, & the river along with geese. The pool area is fenced in so we had no issues trying to get in. He loved his first overnight visit in a hotel. Thanks for making him feel welcome!

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the back, And 2nd floor has great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Beth O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seaford, New York
2 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2014

The location was great because it was close to the UMaine. Need to Change the carpet in the room, there was an foul odor. The staff was pleasant and the breakfast was great. The beds were comfortable but needed better blankets.

Room Tip: Get the room with the view of the river on the first floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jan4661
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gray, Maine
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2014

This was our first visit to the University Inn. Our son attends the University of Maine, and we needed to spend the night this past weekend. We were so pleasantly surprised at this little inn! The room was cleaner than most large hotels, and the hospitality was second to none. We had a beautiful second-floor room with a balcony overlooking the river, and the view was beautiful. The inn is so convenient to campus - just around the corner. Most hotels offer a "continental" breakfast; this inn offers a full breakfast at no charge. Everything was wonderful, and we will definitely stay at the University Inn again at our next visit to Orono.

Room Tip: Rooms on the second floor overlooking the river have a beautiful view and are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Walter B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Orono
1.4 mi away
Black Bear Inn and Conference Center
4.9 mi away
The Country Inn at the Mall
4.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Bangor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Bangor
Hampton Inn Bangor
#1 of 26 in Bangor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 961 reviews
5.2 mi away
Comfort Inn Bangor
Comfort Inn Bangor
#3 of 26 in Bangor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 565 reviews
4.8 mi away
Bangor Inn & Suites
Bangor Inn & Suites
#5 of 26 in Bangor
4.0 of 5 bubbles 418 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to University Inn Academic Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about University Inn Academic Suites

Property: University Inn Academic Suites
Address: 5 College Ave, Orono, ME 04473-4400
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maine > Orono
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Orono
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — University Inn Academic Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking the Stillwater River in the charming college town of Orono, University Inn Academic Suites is committed to Downeast hospitality. We are within walking distance to some of downtown Orono's finest restaurants and driving distance to many attractions of Downeast Maine. Our property has access to the Stillwater River with some of the best fishing in Maine. Being only 1/2 of a mile from the University of Maine, we are the closest accommodations around, as well as also minutes from the Bangor Mall and LL Bean and many historic sites, including day trips to Acadia National Park , Baxter State Park and the Moosehead Lake Region. The University Inn is a family run Inn with a newly renovated building. All of our spacious rooms have private balconies with many of them overlooking the river, as well as a refrigerator, microwave and Keurig coffee maker. Our seasonal outdoor heated pool with bar service is the perfect way to relax or spend time with friends & family. We offer free wireless in all of our rooms, complimentary hot breakfast, fitness & recreation center, a smoke free and environmentally conscious building and limited pet friendly rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your University Inn Academic Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
University Hotel Academic
University Motel Academic

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing