We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful Surprise!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
University Inn Academic Suites
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Orono
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Southbury, Connecticut
1 review
“Wonderful Surprise!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

What a wonderful surprise it was to find the University Inn in Orono. Staff was very friendly and helpful. Rooms were exceptionally comfortable and clean. I felt right at home from the moment I arrived. The price was amazing and a free breakfast included. The view from my balcony was so pretty. Go there if you are ever in the vicinity of Orono, you will not be disappointed. I will definitely return again and again!!!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mar10n2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

436 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    226
    167
    31
    9
    3
See reviews for
219
73
31
60
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (184)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2014

I had a great stay at the University Inn in Orono. Some of the furniture is a little run down but there's a great breakfast and the location is amazing, with easy access to U of Maine and downtown Orono.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marina del Rey, California
Level Contributor
47 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2014

I've stayed at this hotel several times now as my daughter attended the University of Maine Orono. We just stayed for graduation weekend last week and had a truly wonderful time. The hotel was in gorgeous condition! The grounds had fresh flowers , daffodils and blue lupins. The beds were nice and firm and seemed pretty new. The bathroom had all the niceties. Everything was well stocked and worked great. It was too early in the year for the pool to be open or to use the canoes. But I was really happy with the renovations and the whole feel of this place.

Now I have to go on about the staff. I made my reservations for grad weekend last June 2013. The staff made sure that I had 3 river view rooms booked. Unfortunately, I had to cancel my parents' room due to their health. Tracey Whitten and her staff made that easy and refunded my deposit in full. The front desk, housekeeping, and the breakfast staff were all pleasant, knowledgeable and helpful. They were readily available and responded to everything we asked for.

If you are a UMaine Parent, you should stay here. You will be well treated. If you are in Orono for any reason, the University Inn Suites is the place. Book early as it fills up on big weekends, like graduation in May and move-in at the end of August.

P.S. the farmers market on Saturday mornings in "downtown" Orono is great! See you there.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank CatheLaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brunswick, Maine
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2014

I have stayed at the University Inn at least seven times in the past 14 years. In the past two visits they have renovated! The outside and inside look brand new! The pool looks great, although I have never been in it due to the weather when I visit.
The staff is accommodating and friendly. The location is great for walking down to the restaurants in town.
I'll be headed back again!

Room Tip: Stay poolside!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dvmurphy77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2014

Location can't be beat with easy walk to downtown restaurants in one direction and UMO Campus in the other. They have worked hard to upkeep this older independent property, and although you can see the signs of age if you look for them overall it is clean, bright, and comfortable. The full hot breakfast is definitely a plus, but it still feels a bit overpriced. Compared to the other choices in the area, though, the only way to stay less expensive is to get one of the cheap chain motels a 20 minute drive away by the Bangor airport. So considering everything (including convenience) they are "competitively priced". I cannot say I would go out of my way to spend a day at this property, but needing to be on campus the stay was "nice".

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lawrence Bean D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Danbury, Connecticut
Level Contributor
138 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2014

Great Inn next the river and by the University of Maine. We were on first floor and it looks like all was redone lately. New carpet smell in hallway and were pleasantly clean room.
Sliding glass door to either your car in parking lot or grass by the river.
Very good breakfast and excellent service.
Only draw back for being on the first floor you can hear people walking above.

Room Tip: Request the 2nd floor for quiter room
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nettuno07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2014 via mobile

There is no better location in the area. Walking distance to both the University of Maine campus and town. Half of the rooms have a great view overlooking the river and town. Seriously updated and renovated recently. Staff was friendly and efficient. I will definitely be returning with the family for future visits.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Glenn D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Orono
1.4 mi away
Black Bear Inn and Conference Center
4.9 mi away
The Country Inn at the Mall
4.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Bangor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Bangor
Hampton Inn Bangor
#1 of 26 in Bangor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 978 reviews
4.8 mi away
Bangor Inn & Suites
Bangor Inn & Suites
#5 of 26 in Bangor
4.0 of 5 bubbles 422 reviews
5.2 mi away
Comfort Inn Bangor
Comfort Inn Bangor
#3 of 26 in Bangor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 572 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to University Inn Academic Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about University Inn Academic Suites

Property: University Inn Academic Suites
Address: 5 College Ave, Orono, ME 04473-4400
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maine > Orono
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Orono
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — University Inn Academic Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking the Stillwater River in the charming college town of Orono, University Inn Academic Suites is committed to Downeast hospitality. We are within walking distance to some of downtown Orono's finest restaurants and driving distance to many attractions of Downeast Maine. Our property has access to the Stillwater River with some of the best fishing in Maine. Being only 1/2 of a mile from the University of Maine, we are the closest accommodations around, as well as also minutes from the Bangor Mall and LL Bean and many historic sites, including day trips to Acadia National Park , Baxter State Park and the Moosehead Lake Region. The University Inn is a family run Inn with a newly renovated building. All of our spacious rooms have private balconies with many of them overlooking the river, as well as a refrigerator, microwave and Keurig coffee maker. Our seasonal outdoor heated pool with bar service is the perfect way to relax or spend time with friends & family. We offer free wireless in all of our rooms, complimentary hot breakfast, fitness & recreation center, a smoke free and environmentally conscious building and limited pet friendly rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your University Inn Academic Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
University Hotel Academic
University Motel Academic

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing