We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best overnight stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Black Bear Inn and Conference Center
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Orono
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 29 May 2013

The hotel was very clean. Very friendly and helpful employees greeted us. Hotel offered wine and cheese and and also had the best gourmet food around. Very pleasant stay all around

I needed help printing a boarding pass and the desk person helped me get it all printed and also was very helpful in helping us find where we could find a certain place in Bangor.

I will make sure I use this hotel in the future. My roommates also agrees with this. Good place to stay.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gert B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thpalmer3, Front Office Manager at Black Bear Inn and Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2013

Thank you so much for staying with us. We appreciate you taking the time to write a review. We are so happy you enjoyed the food and your stay. We look forward to having you stay with us again. Take care.


Sincerely,


Amanda Schmidt
Front Desk Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (318)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

242 - 248 of 318 reviews

Reviewed 28 May 2013

I had a very good stay, even though I was visiting the Bangor area in the middle of a major convention, two statewide conferences, a HS Prom in our hotel, and a regional Bingo tournament! But the stay was quiet and went well.The staff was always friendly and upbeat, and the hotel had made some renovations since my last stay two years ago..Room had a large TV(excellent picture) and was quiet, comfortable, clean, and well maintained. Keurig coffee maker in room was a pleasant surprise, as was the apparently once weekly complimentary cheese and wine in the lobby. Breakfast was standard continental fare, with make your own waffles-plenty for my purposes. Enjoyed this stay and will definitely return in the future.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank patlu123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thpalmer3, Front Office Manager at Black Bear Inn and Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2013

Thank you so much for staying with us and for taking the time to write a review. We are so happy you enjoyed your stay, especially where we were so busy. We look forward to seeing you again in the future. Take Care and thank you again.



Sincerely,


Amanda Schmidt
Front Desk Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2013

We were working a meeting at the inn and stayed there the night before. The room was adequate, although a bit tired. It seemed a bit overpriced [$160 plus tax] for the quality [and smell...musty].

We had some problems with program materials, and the staff were wonderful at trying to help. They just didn't have much to work with. Their copier was old and slow, as was their computer system. The meeting room sound system hummed loudly every time we plugged it into my computer [one of the staff said the problem had to be my Mac computer since the sound system worked fine on his smartphone]. So each time I wanted to show a video clip, I had to plug in the sound line. The electricity in the entire hotel went out halfway through the day. You get the picture.

If we were here for vacation rather than to conduct a conference, this might've been a much different experience.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank peebs777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thpalmer3, Front Office Manager at Black Bear Inn and Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2013

Thank you so much for the feedback. We appreciate you taking the time to write a review. This lets us know the areas we need to improve on and the areas we are doing well. Take care and thank you for staying and having your meeting here.



Sincerely,


Amanda Schmidt
Guest Services Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2013

Great stay. Staff was top notch. Always greeted with a smile by everyone from the front desk to the housekeepers. Beds were comfortable with nice pillows. Breakfast was basic but nice and the coffee was great. Loved having a Keurig in our room. Will stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Neil788
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thpalmer3, Front Office Manager at Black Bear Inn and Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2013

Thank you so much for staying with us and for taking the time to write a review. We appreciate that. Congratulations to your graduate! We hope to see you again next time you are in the area. Take Care.


Sincerely,


Amanda Schmidt
Guest Services Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2013

Staff was wonderful and very helpful - my husband loved that coffee is available at any time, room was nice sized, beds very comfortable, large tv was a nice addition to the room. We had dinner here the first evening and it was really good. Breakfast offerings were a nice choice also. If in area would def. recommend to anyone here for vacation or visiting the college. Thanks You!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank emtromano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thpalmer3, Front Office Manager at Black Bear Inn and Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2013

Thank you so much for staying with us and for taking the time to write a review. We really appreciate it. We are happy you enjoyed your stay, and hope to see you again next time you are in the area. Take Care.


Sincerely,


Amanda Schmidt
Guest Services Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2013

My family stayed here while we were visiting U Maine. It was close to the campus and the towns of Orono and Bangor. The staff was very pleasant and helpful. We found the room to be clean and well-appointed. The TV was huge, the beds were larger than normal and very comfortable, and we were surprised to find a fridge and microwave in our room. Parking was free, easy, and accessible, and there wasn't a charge for unlimited internet. The continental breakfast was huge and extensive, and there was something for everyone, including waffles, hard-boiled eggs, tons of cereal, pastries, ect... The atmosphere of the hotel was warm and friendly, and the whole building was very clean and attractive. Excellent value. We will be back!

Room Tip: First floor is most convenient. The closer to the lobby, the better, because the side doors are onl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Laurie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thpalmer3, Front Office Manager at Black Bear Inn and Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded 3 May 2013

We are so happy to hear you had a great stay! Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review for us. We appreciate your feedback. We hope to see you again next time you are in the area. Take Care.



Sincerely,


Amanda Schmidt
Guest Services Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2013

Very friendly, very helpful staff. Great breakfast offered in the lobby (Green Mountain coffee, bagels, muffins, pastries, cereal, yogurt, etc., and a make your own waffle station that was very popular.) Rooms were beautifully decorated, large and clean. I met a woman in the lobby over breakfast who had a suite and she was raving about it. I would highly recommend the Black Bear Inn if you're visiting UMO or just spending some time browsing through the cute little town or Orono.

Room Tip: We had a standard room, but a woman traveling with her 17 year old son and a friend had a suite-type...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Colleen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thpalmer3, Front Office Manager at Black Bear Inn and Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded 3 May 2013

We are so happy to hear you enjoyed your stay! Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review for us, we appreciate it. We look forward to seeing you again next time you are in our area. Take Care.



Sincerely,


Amanda Schmidt
Guest Services Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Orono
5.1 mi away
Hampton Inn by Hilton Bangor
5 mi away
The Country Inn at the Mall
5.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Bangor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.3 mi away
Best Western White House Inn
5.4 mi away
Comfort Inn Bangor
Comfort Inn Bangor
#3 of 26 in Bangor
654 reviews
8.8 mi away
Vacationland Inn
Vacationland Inn
#1 of 5 in Brewer
726 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Black Bear Inn and Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Black Bear Inn and Conference Center

Address: 4 Godfrey Dr, Orono, ME 04473-3610
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maine > Orono
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Orono
Price Range: £73 - £111 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Black Bear Inn and Conference Center 2.5*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Black Bear Inn Conference Center & Suites is an award-winning hotel conveniently located at exit 193 of I-95 and minutes from UMaine campus. The hotel is 100% non-smoking and the popular choice for UMaine visitors, conference attendees and tourists from all over the world. Each room offers a refrigerator, microwave, and Keurig coffee maker. Guests can access our free high speed-Wi-Fi. While you're here, enjoy a delicious meal from our on-site cafe, open for dinner from 5-8pm, Monday-Saturday. With 7,560 square feet of conference space, we are the area's premiere destination for weddings, banquets, and corporate events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Black Bear Inn and Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Black Bear Hotel Orono
Best Western Orono
Orono Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing