We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendliest Hotel EVER!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Black Bear Inn and Conference Center
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Orono
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Friendliest Hotel EVER!”
Reviewed 15 June 2013 via mobile

This is a GEM of a hotel. From the minute we walked in we were greeted by a genuinely friendly front desk staff.
The hotel is impeccably maintained. We booked the double suite (for $10 more) and our room was freshly updated, spacious and included a fridge, microwave, a Keurig Coffee Maker and large screen HD TV.
We were traveling with pets and the grounds were perfect for a nice stroll after a long 12 hour trip.
But what really made this place special were the staff. The lady at the front desk could not have been more helpful. It is obvious she really enjoys her job making sure every customer is well taken care of.
We ordered room service, AN EXCELLENT BURGER AND FLATBREAD, and it was delivered by a young lady quickly, with a smile and made sure we had everything we needed.
I hope the management team recognizes these valuable employees. This kind of service and dedication is rare, and it is folks like these who give the hotel a special feel, and sets it apart from the rest.
We travel north for the summer to Nova Scotia and usually bypass the Bangor area. Not any more! This hotel is worth rerouting your trip for!
Attention Pet Lovers- THIS IS YOUR PLACE - a first class hotel that embraces our well behaved furry kids!

Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Teri C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thpalmer3, Front Office Manager at Black Bear Inn and Conference Center, responded to this review, 18 June 2013
We are so happy to hear you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to write a review. We love hearing your feedback. We look forward to seeing you again the next time you are in our area. Take care.


Sincerely,


Amanda Schmidt
Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

276 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    128
    111
    24
    11
    2
See reviews for
134
44
11
49
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Scarborough, Maine
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 June 2013

Each year my husband and I attend the Special Olympics in Orono to honor my brothers. We have a 4 hour drive from our home - although the drive is not too long it still takes its toll on us physically. Friday nights we are exhausted after attending the opening ceremonies and look forward to sleep. This year we did not get to check in until after 9:00 p.m. - tired and hungry the staff was awesome. They had a list of easy to find restaurants and even recommended a few. Our room was clean and large. We did not hear the other guests in the hallway (coaches of S.O. participants). Not only did we sleep well each night - but when entering the building we did NOT have to walk through cigarette smoke. If you are looking for a family friendly, quiet atmosphere with beautiful quaint rooms to relax in this is the best hotel.

Room Tip: The king bed suite is large and not over pricey - especially if you have AAA or an AARP discount car...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dsmith9184
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thpalmer3, Front Office Manager at Black Bear Inn and Conference Center, responded to this review, 15 June 2013
Thank you so much for staying with us and for taking the time to write a review. We really appreciate your feedback. We are happy that you enjoyed the Special Olympics and your stay. I wish we could have made the weather better for everyone. Take care and we look forward to seeing you again in the future.



Sincerely,


Amanda Schmidt
Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fredericton, Canada
Level Contributor
121 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2013

You know, we have driven past this place for years, and so yesterday evening I decided to head on in and see what they had to offer. We were not disappointed. While we did not try the restaurant, which we have heard good things about, the rest of the property is certainly clean, tidy, and safe. The staff were all friendly, welcoming and anxious to make sure we had a good stay. We left our bikes outside with no worries at all. Our room was clean, quiet and well-appointed. I especially liked the Keurig coffee maker in the morning. The breakfast is just a little better than most, due to the better than normal selection and to the friendliness of the staff. Pictures and sculptures of bears abound everywhere (hey, check the name of the place...) so if you have a bear phobia, keep your eyes closed! This was a very enjoyable stay and we will happily return.

Room Tip: Highway (I-95) side is a bit noisier, but not excessively so.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PKinNB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thpalmer3, Front Office Manager at Black Bear Inn and Conference Center, responded to this review, 1 June 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review. We appreciate your business and your feedback. We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay and we hope the rest of your motorcycle trip goes well! Take care and thank you again.


Sincerely,


Amanda Schmidt
Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bowling Green, Ohio
Level Contributor
156 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 171 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2013

There aren't many places to stay in this part of Maine so the Black Bear Inn should be getting a lot of business. The hotel is clean and situated close to a number of restaurants. The staff is fine. The only downside of the hotel is that it was not built well. Some of the hallways creak as you walk on them and the walls are thin. There were a couple hockey teams staying at the same time as I and you could hear everything. It is a good enough hotel whether you are passing through or staying a couple of days. Just make sure you ask for a room away from any hockey teams.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dr T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thpalmer3, Front Office Manager at Black Bear Inn and Conference Center, responded to this review, 1 June 2013
Thank you so much for staying with us. We appreciate you taking the time to write a review. Your feedback is very helpful. So sorry about the noise, in the future please let us know and we will try our best to quiet other guests. Take care and thank you again for your business.



Sincerely,


Amanda Schmidt
Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manitowoc, Wisconsin, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2013

The hotel was very clean. Very friendly and helpful employees greeted us. Hotel offered wine and cheese and and also had the best gourmet food around. Very pleasant stay all around

I needed help printing a boarding pass and the desk person helped me get it all printed and also was very helpful in helping us find where we could find a certain place in Bangor.

I will make sure I use this hotel in the future. My roommates also agrees with this. Good place to stay.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gert B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thpalmer3, Front Office Manager at Black Bear Inn and Conference Center, responded to this review, 30 May 2013
Thank you so much for staying with us. We appreciate you taking the time to write a review. We are so happy you enjoyed the food and your stay. We look forward to having you stay with us again. Take care.


Sincerely,


Amanda Schmidt
Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2013

I had a very good stay, even though I was visiting the Bangor area in the middle of a major convention, two statewide conferences, a HS Prom in our hotel, and a regional Bingo tournament! But the stay was quiet and went well.The staff was always friendly and upbeat, and the hotel had made some renovations since my last stay two years ago..Room had a large TV(excellent picture) and was quiet, comfortable, clean, and well maintained. Keurig coffee maker in room was a pleasant surprise, as was the apparently once weekly complimentary cheese and wine in the lobby. Breakfast was standard continental fare, with make your own waffles-plenty for my purposes. Enjoyed this stay and will definitely return in the future.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank patlu123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thpalmer3, Front Office Manager at Black Bear Inn and Conference Center, responded to this review, 30 May 2013
Thank you so much for staying with us and for taking the time to write a review. We are so happy you enjoyed your stay, especially where we were so busy. We look forward to seeing you again in the future. Take Care and thank you again.



Sincerely,


Amanda Schmidt
Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus. Ohio
Level Contributor
326 reviews
121 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2013

We were working a meeting at the inn and stayed there the night before. The room was adequate, although a bit tired. It seemed a bit overpriced [$160 plus tax] for the quality [and smell...musty].

We had some problems with program materials, and the staff were wonderful at trying to help. They just didn't have much to work with. Their copier was old and slow, as was their computer system. The meeting room sound system hummed loudly every time we plugged it into my computer [one of the staff said the problem had to be my Mac computer since the sound system worked fine on his smartphone]. So each time I wanted to show a video clip, I had to plug in the sound line. The electricity in the entire hotel went out halfway through the day. You get the picture.

If we were here for vacation rather than to conduct a conference, this might've been a much different experience.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank peebs777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thpalmer3, Front Office Manager at Black Bear Inn and Conference Center, responded to this review, 28 May 2013
Thank you so much for the feedback. We appreciate you taking the time to write a review. This lets us know the areas we need to improve on and the areas we are doing well. Take care and thank you for staying and having your meeting here.



Sincerely,


Amanda Schmidt
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Orono
5.0 mi away
The Country Inn at the Mall
5.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Bangor
5.4 mi away
Comfort Inn Bangor
Comfort Inn Bangor
#3 of 26 in Bangor
590 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.3 mi away
Best Western White House Inn
5.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Bangor
Hampton Inn Bangor
#1 of 26 in Bangor
1,013 reviews
10.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Bangor-Odlin Road
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Black Bear Inn and Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Black Bear Inn and Conference Center

Property: Black Bear Inn and Conference Center
Address: 4 Godfrey Dr, Orono, ME 04473-3610
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maine > Orono
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Orono
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Black Bear Inn and Conference Center 2.5*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Black Bear Inn Conference Center & Suites is an award-winning hotel conveniently located at exit 193 of I-95 and minutes from UMaine campus. The hotel is 100% non-smoking and the popular choice for UMaine visitors, conference attendees and tourists from all over the world. Each room offers a refrigerator, microwave, and Keurig coffee maker. Guests can access our free high speed-Wi-Fi. While you're here, enjoy a delicious meal from our on-site cafe, open for dinner from 5-8pm, Monday-Saturday. With 7,560 square feet of conference space, we are the area's premiere destination for weddings, banquets, and corporate events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Black Bear Inn and Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Black Bear Hotel Orono
Best Western Orono
Orono Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing