We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Only Place to Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Black Bear Inn and Conference Center
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Orono
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Portland, Maine
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Only Place to Stay”
Reviewed 21 October 2013

This is the only place we will stay when visiting the area. Great location to visit Students at University of Maine. Attending hockey games, football only a 5 minute drive. The rooms are always clean and updated. The front desk staff are very helpful and full of ideas of things to do in the area and places to eat. It is very nice to have a good variety of foods for breakfast included in the room rate, which can not be beat,

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mkshoppers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thpalmer3, Front Office Manager at Black Bear Inn and Conference Center, responded to this review, 22 October 2013
Congratulations on having a student at the University of Maine. We appreciate your repeat business and thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are happy that you find our location convenient and our rooms clean and updated. We are glad you take advantage of our complimentary continental breakfast also. Take care and thank you again.


Sincerely,


Amanda Schmidt
Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

288 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    138
    113
    24
    11
    2
See reviews for
141
44
11
53
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
Reviewed 17 October 2013

I stayed here for one night, simply as a place to stay for the night while on a roadtrip. overall, it was satisfactory. The room was big, pleanty of room for three of us. They provided us with a roll-out bed for our extra person which was convienent. I was pleased with the TV size and the selction of channels. Th room was lacking light, though, and there was no lamp or any sort of light near or above the desk in the room, which could see being a problem since this is also a conference center and desks are often needed for business etc. We ate dinner at the hotel that night in their small dining area, which was actually quite nice. I ordered the maple chicken with mashed potatoes. The chicken was quite good, although the mashed potatoes were not. They were stone cold and full of hard lumps of uncooked potatoe. This was simply a minor fault, but just a word of advice, I wouldn't order the mashed potatoes. The next morning we had their comlimentary continental breakfast, which was very good. The best part for me was the waffles that you got to make yourself. They were delicious. We left early that morning to continue driving. I had a very pleasant stay, and if I were in the area again, i would certainly stay here.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alexis L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thpalmer3, Front Office Manager at Black Bear Inn and Conference Center, responded to this review, 22 October 2013
Thank you so much for staying and for writing a review. We are happy to hear you found your room spacious and your Television size and channel selection satisfactory. We appreciate your feedback on the lighting and the mashed potatoes. We are always looking to improve. We are happy you enjoyed the waffles and the chicken. Take care and thank you again.


Sincerely,


Amanda Schmidt
Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangor, Maine
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2013

We have used the Black Bear Inn's conference services for the last 4 years and have never been disappointed. We have hosted events for gatherings of from 25 to 125 participants and the service has been excellent. The staff is attentive, the food (2 catered meals per conference) has been perfect and the facility is spotless.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thpalmer3, Front Office Manager at Black Bear Inn and Conference Center, responded to this review, 22 October 2013
Thank you so much for having your Conference with us. We really appreciate your repeat business, and your taking the time to write a review. We are glad you have enjoyed your meals and found our facility nice and clean. Take care and thank you again.


Sincerely,


Amanda Schmidt
Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houlton, Maine
2 reviews
Reviewed 15 October 2013

Well, almost anyway. After missing flights from Seattle to Bangor causing me to be 48 hours longer than expected, I was glad that I had reserved the room at Black Bear. It was excellent room and loved the rustic decor including the bear quilts. Breakfast room was cramped, but otherwise a welcoming place. Staff very helpful.

Room Tip: Other guests roamed the halls in the middle of the night (2-3:00 AM) and doors do not shut quietly.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JAF04730
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thpalmer3, Director of Sales at Black Bear Inn and Conference Center, responded to this review, 16 October 2013
We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay! Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to review. Glad to hear you liked our rustic décor, our bear quilts are very popular.
Hope to see you the next time you visit our area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, New Hampshire
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2013

We stay at the Black Bear Inn about four times a year since 2009 when we visit family in the area. From calling to make a reservation to check-out, the staff at Black Bear Inn do everything they can to make our stay excellent. We haven't met a staff member yet who doesn't offer a friendly greeting or an upbeat chat.

Black Bear Inn is easy to find, just off Exit 193 of I-95. It has an on-site restaurant for breakfast and dinner, easy access to Old Town, Orono and Bangor.

We return over and over because the rooms are clean, comfortable and quiet. The amenities are up to date. Bonuses: free breakfast (a wide variety of choices), warm cookies at check-in, a wine reception at certain hours, Welcome-Home club loyalty program. Our stays at Black Bear add to the enjoyment of our family visits.

Room Tip: Let the front desk attendant know your preferences and they'll match you with a good room. We p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wishniki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thpalmer3, Director of Sales at Black Bear Inn and Conference Center, responded to this review, 16 October 2013
Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to review. We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay! We enjoy hearing that you enjoy all our great amenities and that our staff make your stay enjoyable. We look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 October 2013

Stayed at the black bear inn the night of my wedding, the staff was amazing. The food was amazing. And the blue room was more was more then enough room for me and my guest. And we would stay there again. And the honeymoon suite was more then worth it.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Justmarried072713
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thpalmer3, Director of Sales at Black Bear Inn and Conference Center, responded to this review, 16 October 2013
Congratulations on your wedding!! We were so happy to help you celebrate your special day and make it a day to remember. Thank you for the kind words about our staff. Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We look forward to having you stay with us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rothesay, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 October 2013

Went to bangor to do a little shopping and get away from the thanksgiving festivities. We were winging it for hotels. When we arrived first went to Holiday Inn and they told us it was booked solid for every hotel in the area. We had stayed at the Black Bear before and enjoyed our stay so decided to call. We were in luck 3 rooms left booked without asking price. When I arrived a nice girl at the front Samantha was friendly took my info and i asked how much it was and i was quite surprised at price. I told her i was a welcome home member but probably no longer since it had been a while. She said she could see what she could do. I ended up getting a much better rate. She was very helpful as well when trying to get my prepaid phone working. She deserves a raise.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RestedTraveller1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thpalmer3, Director of Sales at Black Bear Inn and Conference Center, responded to this review, 16 October 2013
Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to review. We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay! Thank you for your kind words about Samantha. We hope you can stay with us again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Orono
5.1 mi away
Bangor Inn & Suites
Bangor Inn & Suites
#5 of 26 in Bangor
459 reviews
12.3 mi away
Best Western White House Inn
5.0 mi away
The Country Inn at the Mall
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Bangor
5.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Bangor
Hampton Inn Bangor
#1 of 26 in Bangor
1,031 reviews
5.4 mi away
Comfort Inn Bangor
Comfort Inn Bangor
#3 of 26 in Bangor
602 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Black Bear Inn and Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Black Bear Inn and Conference Center

Property: Black Bear Inn and Conference Center
Address: 4 Godfrey Dr, Orono, ME 04473-3610
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maine > Orono
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Orono
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Black Bear Inn and Conference Center 2.5*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Black Bear Inn Conference Center & Suites is an award-winning hotel conveniently located at exit 193 of I-95 and minutes from UMaine campus. The hotel is 100% non-smoking and the popular choice for UMaine visitors, conference attendees and tourists from all over the world. Each room offers a refrigerator, microwave, and Keurig coffee maker. Guests can access our free high speed-Wi-Fi. While you're here, enjoy a delicious meal from our on-site cafe, open for dinner from 5-8pm, Monday-Saturday. With 7,560 square feet of conference space, we are the area's premiere destination for weddings, banquets, and corporate events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Black Bear Inn and Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Black Bear Hotel Orono
Best Western Orono
Orono Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing