We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What We Expected” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Black Bear Inn and Conference Center

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Black Bear Inn and Conference Center
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Orono
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Land O Lakes, Florida
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“What We Expected”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2014

My friend and I stayed here when we visited the University of Maine in mid-June 2014. We are both alumni and wanted to go back to see how the campus had changed or stayed the same. The Black Bear Inn was conveniently located for our purposes. The room was a delightful surprise, with cover quilts that were anything but the usual (what I affectionately call) "cootie blankets." They were beautiful quilts with black bears and forest scenes. The tv was updated and there was also a microwave and refrigerator in the room. The bathroom was nice and the shower head was very clean with excellent water pressure. The Wi-Fi was excellent and easily accessible.. The Inn as a whole was a very quaint, Central-Northern Maine Inn that is what you should expect when heading to Bangor or Orono.

However, please note that the "wine and cheese reception" that runs from 5-6pm and is free for guests is basically a bunch of cheese on one normal sized dinner plate that all guests must share from. This is not a small buffet or more professional setup that you might expect at other hotels. The wine was delicious though. On the same thread, the continental breakfast was not very impressive. You would be better off taking the short drive to Governor's Restaurant up the road to get a wholesome breakfast for a reasonable price rather than trying to make a breakfast out of the free offerings at the Inn.

Despite the culinary offerings, I would highly recommend this Inn to anyone staying in the University of Maine area. The staff was very friendly and accommodating, the rooms cozy and comfortable, and you should be out eating at the local restaurants like Pat's Pizza and Governor's anyway, so don't worry about the food. :-)

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mrsnissen2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tom P, Front Office Manager at Black Bear Inn and Conference Center, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
Thank you for your review. So glad to have alumni return for a visit. We are glad you found our recent room upgrades to your liking, Our bear quilts have been very popular. We hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

268 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    126
    105
    24
    11
    2
See reviews for
130
43
11
46
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Sabattus, Maine
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014

I have never had a bad experience at the Black Bear. The value is amazing! Spacious rooms! It's right off the highway with easy access to Bangor, Old Town and Orono. The air conditioning is whisper quiet; slept like a baby. Free wine Reception on Friday nights, free cookies and complimentary breakfast! The desk staff is extremely welcoming. I ALWAYS stay there when I'm up north.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Legionnaire207
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tom P, Front Office Manager at Black Bear Inn and Conference Center, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
Thank you for the awesome review, we appreciate all your kind words. So glad you feel we are your "home away from home" as we strive hard o make all our guest feel at home. It is wonderful to hear you feel the value is great and our amenities are just a wonderful. We look forward to your next stay with us. See you soon for a glass of wine.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
55 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014

Yes, a fine choice for visiting the University of Maine. Handy to the campus, and local amenities. WiFi strong and easy-to-use. Good breakfast. Governor's Restaurant is a good choice for dinner, about a mile straight down the street.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank StuieC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tom P, Front Office Manager at Black Bear Inn and Conference Center, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
Thank you for your review. We appreciate your kind words. We are glad you found our amenities and breakfast to your liking. We hope you can stay with again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2014

The hotel staff were extremely helpful and friendly. The rooms are clean and inviting. The black bear motif was adorable. The property is in a great location and the rooms were very quiet. We had a great stay here.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tripsAustin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tom P, Front Office Manager at Black Bear Inn and Conference Center, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
Thank you for the great review. We love to hear from our guests, and appreciate your kind words. Glad you had a great time and hope you can stay with again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangor, Maine
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2014

We spent 1 night at the Black Bear Inn. Cookies awaited us at the front desk when we arrived. We were greeted by friendly staff, and spent a relaxing evening in a spacious, clean room. We will definitely stay again. Orono is a very charming town.

Green Features: The hotel seems very environmentally conscious. They have suggestions posted in each room indicating options for how frequently you want the bedding and towels washed.
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank J F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tom P, Front Office Manager at Black Bear Inn and Conference Center, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
Thank you for the great review, we appreciate your great feedback. Glad to hear your stay was relaxing, we look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath, Maine
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2014

The room was clean and reasonably priced - staff friendly and very helpful with dining suggestions and an overall briefing on the area and nearby towns. I would wholeheartedly recommend the Inn for anyone staying in the Orono - Bangor area.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Thomas W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tom P, Front Office Manager at Black Bear Inn and Conference Center, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
Thank you for choosing The Black Bear Inn for your trip to Orono. We appreciate the great review. So glad you found our staff friendly and helpful. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Augusta, Maine
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2014

Not one staff member asked if I had been there before. I was not invited to the wine/cheese reception in the evening, nor told about any features the facility had. Upon departure I was not asked how I enjoyed my stay - apparently nobody cares at that facility.

Room Tip: avoid rooms with lower numbers which are closer to the highway and further away from the one elevato...
See more room tips
Green Features: cards give directions regarding linens and washing to save energy. However, the K-cups coffee makers produce a lot of waste as do the packets containing sugar,creamer, and sugar-sub. If you open it for one item, the rest is tossed into the garbage.
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeffrey Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thpalmer3, Front Office Manager at Black Bear Inn and Conference Center, responded to this review, 24 May 2014
Dear Guest,


I am so sorry you were disappointed with your stay. We have signs telling guests about our Wine and Cheese Reception from 5 to 6 pm each evening and all of our registered guests are invited. We use the signs as a back up in case it slips the Guest Service Agents mind at check in. We try very hard to remember to tell everyone, but on occasion we do forget. We do care and we do strive to make our guests feel welcome. I apologize that this was not the case for you. Thank you for making us aware so we can fix this. Take Care.



Sincerely,



Amanda D. Schmidt
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Orono
5.0 mi away
The Country Inn at the Mall
5.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Bangor
4.0 mi away
Milford Motel on the River
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN White House Inn
5.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Bangor
Hampton Inn Bangor
#1 of 26 in Bangor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 958 reviews
5.1 mi away
Bangor Inn & Suites
Bangor Inn & Suites
#5 of 26 in Bangor
4.0 of 5 bubbles 417 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Black Bear Inn and Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Black Bear Inn and Conference Center

Property: Black Bear Inn and Conference Center
Address: 4 Godfrey Dr., Orono, ME 04473
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maine > Orono
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Orono
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Black Bear Inn and Conference Center 2.5*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Black Bear Inn Conference Center & Suites is an award-winning hotel conveniently located at exit 193 of I-95 and minutes from UMaine campus. The hotel is 100% non-smoking and the popular choice for UMaine visitors, conference attendees and tourists from all over the world. Each room offers a refrigerator, microwave, and Keurig coffee maker. Guests can access our free high speed-Wi-Fi. While you're here, enjoy a delicious meal from our on-site cafe, open for dinner from 5-8pm, Monday-Saturday. With 7,560 square feet of conference space, we are the area's premiere destination for weddings, banquets, and corporate events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Black Bear Inn and Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Black Bear Hotel Orono
Best Western Orono
Orono Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing