We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Today's kids need to experience this step back in time!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The 8th Maine Regiment Lodge and Museum
Ranked #1 of 3 Peaks Island B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 19 July 2012

I stayed at the 8th Maine Memorial Lodge when I was a child, 5 different summers in the 70's, from the age of 6 to 10. The place is just as wonderful now, as it was then. Flew up from Dallas last year (2011) to show my own kids the Peaks island/8th Maine experience ... and they loved it so much that we are going back again this year. We love the deep roots historical feeling of the place, and my kids think the kitchen in the basement is the coolest thing ever!! We left all their "techno toys" at home ... and my boys enjoyed the sweet simplicity of putting together jigsaw puzzles, reading books on the breezy back porch, playing pool with Mr. Adams, playing music on the beautiful old piano, riding bikes down to the old-fashioned soda shop to get an ice cream cone, hiking on rocks and sand, and kayaking around the island. Richard and Steven Adams are wonderful men who take good care of this quirky sweet home, and are such gracious and friendly hosts to all. Be sure to ask Mr. Adams lots of questions about the war, the lodge, and the island... he is so charming, and so wise!! I recommended the place to some Dallas friends a few years ago ... they took their family of 4 kids there, and couldn't thank me enough for telling them about it!! Yes the place is quirky, but that is part of it's charm ... you can get a fancy hotel anywhere, but this is a historical experience with breathtaking views that today's generation of kids NEED to see. The lodge is truly a step back in time ... and a National Treasure in my humble opinion!! Most Sincerely, Vickie

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank patriotmom64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (113)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

110 - 113 of 113 reviews

Reviewed 4 July 2012

This is a place for the more adventurous and relaxed traveller. It's a bit like a youth hostel for grownups (you cook your own meals, interact with your fellow travellers, share the showers/bathrooms) or maybe it's more like a summer getaway for families from the 1940s. The place feels preserved in amber in the most unselfconscious and charming way. There is even still a chamber pot in the bathroom! (No worries, there's a toilet, too.) Perfect Maine views of cliffs, lighthouse, crashing waves, and mama birds feeding hungry little ones—views at a very reasonable price for summertime in Maine. Skip your car and rent a bike; it's the nicest way to get around the island, and the lack of traffic is part of what makes Peaks Island so nice. This is a getaway in a real sense, to an island and to a place that feels from another time. And I haven't even mentioned the museum plus the guest book (still in use) that dates back to the 1920s! It'd be a great place to go with a group of girlfriends, say, or extended family (but not for older folks, lots of stairs to navigate). But if you are the sort of traveller who needs constant connectivity and up-to-the-minute, posh accommodations, you probably won't appreciate its friendly quirkiness.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EllenG4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2011

So first and foremost, this is not a bed and breakfast, it's a bed and "bring your own breakfast." There's a communal quality to it that was expected for the most part, so we weren't bothered, but it is note-worthy that there is one shower for all of the women, and two bathroom stalls.

The biggest problem, however, was the welcome we received, or lack there of. I called for directions and the person who answered the phone was incredibly unhelpful. "Get off of the freeway and come to the water." were the instructions offered. It turns out it's far more complicated than that. If you choose to try this place out, make sure you press for more details.

The B&B is run by a father/son pair and the father is kind - a sweet man who loves to talk. The son, however, seemed bitter about being there and started off lecturing us about our luggage. Not the best beginning. The B&B had wireless internet, but the son bolted before offering the password when his father arrived and the father didn't know the password. The son left the State shortly thereafter, so the wireless internet was rather pointless as we couldn't connect.

Also, be forewarned that you cannot bring your car over without a substantial fee. Parking in Portland is also pretty expensive if you leave the car there and ferry over for approx. 8 round trip.

The island was adorable and the people on it, with the above mentioned exception, were wonderful. The "B&B" itself though was unwelcoming, awkward, and unfriendly. I would look elsewhere for lodging.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank platupii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
8thMe, Guest Relations Manager at The 8th Maine Regiment Lodge and Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 30 March 2012

We thank you for your feedback and deeply regret that our services did not meet your expectations.

We always strive to please our customers and the vast majority of our reviews reflect the success our efforts. In order to make sure we are successful and address customer needs and issues, we provide customer satisfaction surveys in our rooms for all guests to complete. We actively solicit their input to rate our services, record complaints and make suggestions for improvements.

We always try to provide a lot of information to guests who contact us and provide access to the same for guests who only visit our website. We provide information on our facility and visiting both Peaks Island and the greater Portland area.

I apologize that you found our driving directions delivered to you over the phone while you were in-transit inadequate. We have posted more complete directions near our office phone to avoid problems in the future. Of course, we always recommend that you pull off the road and take the time to be able to record and review instructions without endangering yourself or others sharing the road with you.

We do have 3 shared bathrooms at the Memorial - one on each level of the structure. There is a men's room on the main floor with a shower; a ladies' room on the residential floor with a shower and clawfoot tub; and a half bath on the dining room level along with an outdoor shower with a great ocean view. Sharing bathrooms is a unique part of the communal living experience at the Eighth Maine and while it is different, we manage our reunion crowds of up to 70 overnight guests and events with up to 150 visiting guests without problems.

We also were concerned that you found it difficult to obtain the WiFi password which we use to control access so our customers can enjoy the best internet experience. We will be posting it now in each room along with frequently used phone numbers in addition to the office and registration desk locations.

I am sure that you appreciate that we cannot have guest luggage blocking the main fire exit of our facility and that our employee was acting responsibly in moving it. As you noted he was in a rush to make the next ferry, but he could have done it in a more welcoming and courteous manner. He of course apologizes for not making you feel properly welcomed.

We sincerely appreciate the opportunity to improve our services and make every customer's stay a great memory and one that they would recommend to their friends and families.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2011

A very special place, living American history with a captivating view. Sitting on porch overlooking the bay, watching boats and birds from a front row seat filled our day. Night time, cooking our dinner on a 1910 gas burner and sharing our table with new friends. Walk or ask for a ride to market or ferry, the Inn keepers seemed only to happy to oblige. Our best tour of this beautiful island was given to us by the keeper, who shared his long history with Peaks. The sitting room on the first floor, the back private yard that touches the ocean, a great room gave us what we hoped for, and will be back

  • Stayed: September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank annerich1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
8thMe, Manager at The 8th Maine Regiment Lodge and Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 30 March 2012

The Eighth Maine Regiment Memorial is a living example of the unification of the populace that the Civil War created. Today it provides a unique escape from the daily hustle of modern living in a wonderfully scenic location where you can commune with both nature and your fellow guests. We provide history packed tours of the building daily and hold contra-dances and entertainment events throughout the season. And if the "real" world beckons, you can still enjoy access to modern conveniences like our business center, free domestic calling, Time Warner cable programming, and free WiFi access for your personal or business needs.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Peaks Island
2.3 mi away
Inn At Diamond Cove
Inn At Diamond Cove
#12 of 21 in Portland
117 reviews
2.9 mi away
Residence Inn Portland Downtown/Waterfront
0.3 mi away
The Inn on Peaks Island
The Inn on Peaks Island
#2 of 3 in Peaks Island
90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The 8th Maine Regiment Lodge and Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The 8th Maine Regiment Lodge and Museum

Address: 13 Eighth Maine Ave, Peaks Island, ME 04108-1404
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maine > Peaks Island
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Peaks Island
Price Range: £84 - £139 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of Yankee Magazine's Top 12 Places to Stay on the Water, The 8th Maine Regiment Memorial Building is located just a short 15 minute ferry ride from downtown Portland. It is both an American Civil War museum and a Victorian era lodge overlooking the beautiful Atlantic shoreline. Come relax and enjoy the communal atmosphere that the veteran's created to share with their families and comrades in arms as well as the many recreational activities on scenic Peaks Island and in the Greater Portland Maine area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The 8th Maine Regiment Lodge and Museum reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The 8th Maine Regiment Lodge And Museum Peaks Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing