We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointment for sure”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The 8th Maine Regiment Lodge and Museum
Ranked #1 of 3 Peaks Island B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 28 August 2013

We were greeted by darkness and a note by a phone written in sharpie. We called for assistance & were escorted to the cellar and through a small cluttered galley to a dark hallway with paint chipping and to our room which was small enough to fit an iron hospital-like bed with old chipped paint furniture, an open window at the foot of our bed, an electric fan on the floor, NO LOCK on the door, a shared bathroom with no shower (the shower was outside). I had to check and found a dead fly between the mattress & box spring. When we asked for ice we were offered 3 leftover ice cubes from a tray on the counter in the galley - UGHH! It was like a scene from a Freddy Krueger movie! We went outside to sit on the beach and were greeted by darkness and millions of spiders. There was no outdoor lighting to light our way. When we went back inside we asked for a cab and left. I could never have stayed in that room all night. It was terrible! The host never even came out to see us before we left. Be warned!!!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Nantz1259
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
8thMe, Manager at The 8th Maine Regiment Lodge and Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 9 February 2014

We are sorry that we were not able to meet your expectations on your visit to our facility on Peaks Island.

Our facility is pretty unique. It is not for everyone. We try to provide prospective customers with plenty of information, photographs and customer reviews, so people can be informed guests before they arrive at our door.

The staff was eating dinner in the dining room when you arrived. They did respond promptly to your call for assistance which is how we have handled customer arrivals while the staff is not available in the entrance area.

We would like to have sufficient staffing to have someone to greet all of our customer arrivals, but with limited funds and volunteers we do not have the luxury of full time greeters.

While the sign making you aware of how to notify the staff of you arrival was not professional it was functional as you did find it and were able to reach them as intended. We will set up better signage in the future.

Our dining room and kitchen area are in our typical window-lit basement that you find throughout New England. We do not leave all of our lighting on when most of the dining room and or kitchen are not in use. In fact we use motion detector controlled lighting intentionally to minimize our energy consumption and carbon footprint without inconveniencing our customers. Most customers are happy that we are conscientious about our environmental impact.

We do have exterior lighting at our entrances to the Annex hallway and the kitchen door that customers use. We also have flood lighting for our yard area that we rarely use because most people prefer to have a natural view experience without the interference of man-made light.

Our Annex bedrooms are smaller (10x12) and have only a single full bed or 2 twin beds in them. We try to keep most of our original furnishings including the original brass bed frames that were painted over the years. Most of our customers enjoy having the old furnishings including painted dressers in their rooms.

One of the nicest features of our Annex bedrooms is that they are right on our shoreline where folks can see the Atlantic right outside their window and enjoy the sounds of the surf and the salt air ocean breeze that they can enjoy with their screened window open. We do provide fans that folks like to use on the rare occasions when the shore breeze dies.

We do not have locks on our bedroom doors that can be used when you exit your room. Most rooms can be locked when you are inside them. We have talked to the directors about installing locks, but we have over 130 years of guests coming and going without losing anything not left behind by the owner, so it is not a priority on the list of things to do.

There is a half bath in the Annex itself and we have an outdoor shower stall that most of our customers love to use. It is great for cleanup when you get back from the beach. That way we don't get a lot of beach sand in the building and it has an ocean view while you are bathing. It has a small bench for ladies who like to shave in the shower. We have other showers in the men's room in the main hall entrance area and in the ladies' room on the third, main residential floor level.

We do no have an ice machine like the local Motel 6. We make ice cubes the old fashioned way with ice cube trays in your refrigerator. Each room is assigned to a refrigerator and there are fresh ice cubes in each unless someone has hijacked your cubes.

Spiders are natural residents on a rock shore beach like we have on the Atlantic shoreline here on Peaks Island. They are not interested in you and are happy to be on their way. They will scurry away when you approach.

I am sure the host would have been happy to speak with you before your departure if you had indicated that you were interested in speaking with them.

The lovely couple that was able to take the room you vacated were thrilled to have a shore view room thanks to your departure. Thank you for allowing someone who appreciated our facility to enjoy it even more.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (113)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

102 - 108 of 113 reviews

Reviewed 31 July 2013

The Eighth is a trip. Time travel back to the time when Civil War vets gathered here to experience the comradery forged on the battlefield. Lulled to sleep waves crashing and the salt air, a sure cure for insomniacs. You get your own refrigerator, dining table, and gas stove. No need to go to expensive island restaurants. Get your fixings at the grocery store on the island. Don't forget to chat with Dr. Adams, Peak's Island historian, veterinary professor emeritus and harness race driver among other things. His Yankee charm can't be missed.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TerryLeeH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2013

It is called a bed & breakfast..but no such thing..you have to bring your own breakfast..to cook it yourself...all they provide is a run down room with a hard mattress. ..woke up feeling like ive been hit by a truck...our room did face the ocean..gorgeous view...this place is for those who want or dont mind roughing it some...they assign you a room..a fridge to put your food in and a cooking station and table for all your own meals to prepare yourself...I think for the price you should at least get breakfast..it is a very rustic place...jus enough repairs to pass local inspection codes..I will not stay here again or recomend it to anyone..but if you want a tent like camping experience but in a house and experience a piece of history..this is the place for you..

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank beve1532
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2013

This place is not for everyone. It has a strong cult-like following of guests who've returned every summer for the past 30 years. Yes, there are shared bathrooms, but most people get past that after one night. The location couldn't be more perfect. Bedrooms face the ocean and you listen to the sound of the pounding surf and foghorn--if the humidity is high enough. The keepers of this place make it extra special. Richard and his son Stephen are there when you need them and invisible when you just want to soak up the atmosphere. The rooms are comfortable but certainly NOT the Hampton Inn in Portland...but they don't want to be! This is the best place to be on this Island if you really want to understand this special place and the people who make it so unique. You can save a ton of money by cooking for yourself in the "dining room" where each guest has their own table, cooking area,all utensils, pots, pans, plates and refrigerator. Stephen has the coffee available every morning just after 6 a.m. Bring you bicycle over on the ferry, leave your car in a lot in Portland and enjoy the magic of this enchanting Island gem.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank John K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2013

I have been coming to the 8th Maine every year for five years now, and it is one of my favorite places on earth. I would say that the reviews below are quite accurate, and fairly represent what you will find at this historic Civil War veteran's home. If you need to be "connected" at all times, and are picky about a little dust and chipped paint, this is not the place for you. If you want to stay in a classic, historic Maine building that has been run much the same way for 80 years or more, hear colorful stories about the history of Peak's and many other topics, listen to the waves crashing as you fall asleep, play non-electronic games with your family or other guests, walk or bike around this quiet little island, or read a book on the wrap around porch, this is your place.

Dick and his son Steve both grew up spending summers at the 8th Maine. Dick was there during World War II as a teenager, and can tell you all kinds of stories about how the war came very close to home in the harbor. He even had my grumpy teenage son fully entertained.

Dick is in his eighties, and while he is an incredibly entertaining host, his son Steve is the one getting most of the physical, inn-keeping work done. There are unspoken house rules that Dick and/or Steve will tell you about, without ceremony, once you have violated them, such not going barefoot in the common areas. They have been doing things the same way there for so long that it all seems very obvious to them. It's part of the charm of the place, and not something to take offense to.

The 8th Maine has a gorgeous main floor with tall ceilings and plenty of rocking chairs, a ping pong table, museum cases with Civil War artifacts, and a wrap around porch that is simply classic. The bedrooms are mostly up on the second level (some are in the walkout basement), on either side of a long hallway. Some of the bed linens look like they were purchased in the last decade, but most are classics that are probably 30 years old or more. It is all a bit worn down, but in a very charming sort of way.

Modernizing the Eighth Maine would be a tragedy. I am actually sad to hear that there is now a wireless password for guests, and hope I don't find guests sitting in the common areas on laptops or ipads. This is a truly authentic place, a place to take a step back in time, unwind, make small talk with fellow guests, listen to the waves from a rocking chair, and soak in the classic Maine atmosphere. Enjoy!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PaigeNE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2012

There is nothing like falling asleep to the sound of ocean waves. I flew into Portland from Denver, CO to go to a friend's wedding on Peaks. I loved everything about 8th Maine and they had to drag me to the ferry kicking and screaming (LOL!) It was quiet, comfortable, and there was fresh air coming in through every window. To think that I booked a room in Portland for my last night! I cancelled just so I could get one more night at 8th Maine. Dick Adams really made me feel welcome with his jokes and informative chats about the property and the island. He is a real character and I was sorry I didn't have time to take his tour. Yes--you have to share a bathroom at 8th Maine, but this is no big deal as the bathroom is large with stalls. It's kept clean and even on a busy summer weekend, I didn't have to wait to shower. And the other guests were very nice people. I am dreaming of going back next summer with my husband and our 7 year old.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kerry80026
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2012

The 8th Maine is one of my favorite places to stay, but it probably isn't for everyone. The rooms are lovely and breezy with quirky furniture and decoration. Bathrooms and showers are shared. The highlight for us was the enormous shared kitchen. Our table was already set for us when we arrived. The kitchen is fully stocked with pots, pans, silverware and every gadget you might need to make your own meals. You are assigned a refrigerator and pantry to keep your food. Chatting with other guests at adjacent tables is part of the charm. One of our favorite features was the new outdoor shower with a beautiful view of the ocean and islands.

Steven and Dick, the caretakers, are helpful and informative about the history of the lodge and the regiment. They got us set up and helped us find everything we needed.

The lodge has a huge wrap around porch and a sunny reading room for some quiet time. And there is a common room with games, puzzles and table tennis.

When you check in, make sure you ask to sign the guest register and flip back to the first pages. It dates back to 1924!!!

Room Tip: The rooms on the ground floor are adjacent to the kitchen, but have a fantastic view of the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ryan E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to The 8th Maine Regiment Lodge and Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The 8th Maine Regiment Lodge and Museum

Address: 13 Eighth Maine Ave, Peaks Island, ME 04108-1404
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maine > Peaks Island
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Peaks Island
Price Range: £85 - £143 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of Yankee Magazine's Top 12 Places to Stay on the Water, The 8th Maine Regiment Memorial Building is located just a short 15 minute ferry ride from downtown Portland. It is both an American Civil War museum and a Victorian era lodge overlooking the beautiful Atlantic shoreline. Come relax and enjoy the communal atmosphere that the veteran's created to share with their families and comrades in arms as well as the many recreational activities on scenic Peaks Island and in the Greater Portland Maine area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The 8th Maine Regiment Lodge and Museum reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The 8th Maine Regiment Lodge And Museum Peaks Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing