We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Popham Beach State Park

Popham Beach State Park
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: State park and beach area that is located on a peninsula near Bath, Maine.
Massachusetts, United States
Level Contributor
42 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Beautiful!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2014

Such a beautiful beach located in the perfect location. It's a wonderful place to spend a good few hours at. The beach has such nice clean white sand, the water seems much clearer. Very nice to take a long walk when the tide is out. Worth the trip!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Kelly Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

281 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    233
    39
    6
    1
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Breathtaking Scenery with Amazing Beaches”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2014

You'll need more than 2 hours to enjoy this beach. One gem of a location with clean white sand. I felt like we were in another time. Not nearly the same type of tourists as somewhere like Hampton Beach. Bathrooms were clean and up to date - No snack shack, so be sure to bring your picnic basket! I'm taking the extra time to drive an extra hour for now on, you'll think it's worth it too!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Lisellek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lewiston, Maine
Level Contributor
52 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great beach”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2014

One of the best beaches in Maine. I have been going there with my family since I was a little girl. Serious beach erosion but still a beautiful place to bring your family. Clean bathrooms, soft white sand. Great place for anyone who loves the ocean!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Maureen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florida
Level Contributor
32 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Best beach in Maine!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2014

I've been to most of the popular beaches such as Kettle Cove, OOB, Pine Point, etc… this beach takes the prize. It is very quaint and elegant and I think it shows more of Maine than any other beach. The water just seems bluer and cleaner here; seeing the harbor town across the way adds to it's quaintness.

Only downsides are that it is a good drive through Phippsburg and there is no frills here (no stores or places to get food) so pack something!

Tip: Try for free parking past the beach entrance and at the fort (it's a few miles down). Most of the time it is full but if you can get free parking there you are right on the beach. Park there and walk the beach. Saves a good amount of money.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Brandon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hartford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
228 reviews
85 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
“Kids enjoyed”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2014

Very small beach, but the kids enjoyed playing there. I enjoyed seeing seals playing in the water not far off-shore.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Wendy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Popham Beach State Park also viewed

Georgetown, Mid Coast Maine
 
Boothbay Harbor, Mid Coast Maine
Phippsburg, Mid Coast Maine
 

Been to Popham Beach State Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing