We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden treasure!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Stonehouse Manor at Popham Beach B&B
Ranked #2 of 2 Phippsburg B&B and Inns
Reviewed 4 July 2011

This spectacular place stills seems undiscovered. As avid outdoor people, we fish,kayak,bike,and hike. One of us also loves to shop! Stonehouse had it all. I don"t sleep well, so I loved the tranquility. All I heard at night was the ocean and the faint sound of a foghorn in the distance. On the day of our chartered fishing trip, we were awaken at 3:45 AM and served an elegant breakfast to be on the dock at 5:00 AM! Saltwater fishing on the beach was a 10 min. walk with trout fishing on the premises. Outstanding food,the beauty of nature,great service, and an area rich in history; that's as good as it gets!

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DocT66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (40)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

23 - 29 of 40 reviews

Reviewed 28 June 2011

We travelled from our home in Halifax, Nova Scotia, to spend 10 days here...and it was everything we'd hoped and more. We had a Vow Renewal/25th Anniversary party (for those of you who didn't find this place BEFORE you got married!) and the memories will last for the next 25 and more. Jane and her amazing staff did an unbelievable job while we partied on: eating, dancing, playing croquet and horseshoes on the lawn, enjoying the bonfire (and NO mosquitoes!!!). My 102 year old friend said she had never had such service in her life. The staff had smiles on their faces and were cheerful despite a 14+ hour day and pouring rain for the setup. But that's not all. We had a week of relaxation before that, with trips to Spinneys, Anna's Water's Edge Restaurant, and Percy's for food and the lovely Lake View Room for reading and naps. The mackeral were biting and my husband spent lots of time down on the beach fishing. The other guests we spent the week with were delightful...and were all repeat visitors. We're getting in our reservation early for next year!!!! Oh, and Jane...that coffee outside the room in the morning and bathrobes and refrigerator in our room were so luxurious...thank you!!!

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank canaan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2011

our 13th year here and countless visits over those 13 years. If you are going to stay in the Bath area why would you choose any other place. Jane and Tim have perfected the art of the B&B. You will not be disappointed and you too will come away refreshed and relaxed.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pettithouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2010

My friends and I felt we had lucked out finding the Stonehouse Manor. We were made to feel so comfortable and at home. We loved our room and all the places in the Manor we had access to. Jane, Tim, and Rachel were fabulous hosts. The delicious breakfasts were endless and of the most wonderful quality and kept us full all day! I was sick one of the days of our trip, confined to my room and the sunny porch, and felt I had a lovely day! Popham Beach will be my destination in the years to come!

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bailey12_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2010

We have stayed at the Stonehouse several times over the years, with a variety of family members (children, older parents, spouses, etc.). The house and the rooms are charming and spacious, and Jane, the personable innkeeper, makes wonderful breakfasts from scratch. We always meet lovely folks at the breakfast table.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ReadAusten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2009

We came here by default, since our room at another B&B was double booked. WOW! sometimes you get lucky. The house and grounds are what you might dream about in wishing you could go back to the robber-baron days and be one of the elite. A wonderful shingle-style "cottage" from the 1890's, the Stone Manor has all of the great woodwork, leaded glass and fireplaces you could want, and a setting that cannot be equaled - on a lake just inside the barrier trees from the open surf of Popham beach, a quarter mile from the village of Popham, with it's old houses and the fort. The owners have lovingly restored the place, but with an eye to comfort and practicality. Low key, casual and very much like a home away from home, it struck us as a perfect place to spend as much time as you can get. Even with the beach and the surf calling, it was tough to get beyond the huge lawn, with it's comfortable adirondack chairs, copper beech tree and view of Silver Lake. The breakfast was spectacular as well. I only wish i was young and getting married again, so we could have the wedding there!

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank artczar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2009

We would like to extend a warm thank you to Jane for making our days at Stonehouse manor unforgettable. The property is exquisite, the house is warm and welcoming and the rooms are a perfect combination of luxury meets country. Oh, and the breakfasts are to die for!! Our family has been visiting Jane and her lovely home for nearly 10 years and we eagerly await our next visit! Even in a rainy summer, it is a beautiful spot for a relaxing getaway.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KateWooly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Stonehouse Manor at Popham Beach B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stonehouse Manor at Popham Beach B&B

Address: 907 Popham Rd, Phippsburg, ME 04562-4710
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maine > Mid Coast Maine > Phippsburg
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Phippsburg
Price Range: £246 - £276 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The only B&B within walking distance to Popham Beach with ocean, river and lake front water views from all rooms. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Stonehouse Manor At Popham Beach B&B Maine/Phippsburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing