We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Off the beaten path”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Stonehouse Manor at Popham Beach B&B
Ranked #2 of 2 Phippsburg B&B and Inns
Beaufort, South Carolina
Level Contributor
61 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Off the beaten path”
Reviewed 12 April 2014

My traveling partner and I haven't had a lot of inn or B and B experience, so I was somewhat anxious about how it would all turn out. After a tough winter, this trip was intended to shake off the icy doldrums and de-stress. Mission accomplished! A few minutes after entering the house and being warmly greeted by Jane, those doubts fell quickly by the wayside. Stonehouse Manor epitomizes the B and B setting in a well balanced manner. Beautiful grounds, lovely old house, friendly hosts, interesting fellow guests, tasty and filling breakfasts. Our room had a very homey feel (it was the size of a studio apartment) with a nice view of Silver Lake. Be forewarned however: there are no dining choices in early April on the peninsula, necessitating an 11 or so mile drive to Bath. That said, there is a decent selection to be had there. Jane and Tim recommended two restaurants. We tried both and very much enjoyed the meals.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Paul B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    35
    2
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
12
20
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2013

We had a wonderful stay at Stonehouse manor. The location can't be beat, the manor is elegant and yet cozy, the grounds quiet and inviting, Jane's hospitality was perfect...and the breakfast was amazing!!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2013

This was our second stay at Stonehouse Manor and definitely not our last. What a lovely place! Jane and Tim couldn't be nicer and more helpful, even packing up homemade blueberry muffins and peaches for us after breakfast to take to the beach, just in case we got hungry. Who could be hungry after such a huge, decadent breakfast?! The rooms are luxurious with wonderful linens and very amenity you could want/need. It is also spotlessly clean. Your room is magically made up during breakfast. The setting is really beautiful, with cared for gardens, sweeping lawn and one of Maine's best sand beaches a short walk away. Couldn't recommend Jane and Tim's hospitality enough. enjoy!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SusanWBoston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2013

A large, beautifully maintained home on a lovely site. The house includes a large front porch overlooking a lawn stretching down to a pond. The owners are accommodating in every way. The house is within walking distance of the beach, lobster restaurants and the town pier. The breakfast was so filling lunch was out of the question. As good as it gets.

Room Tip: We chose the front room which had its own bath and looked over the lawn. Very large room with cable...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BA_Ohio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brockenhurst, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2013

This solid but beautiful house is where we weathered Hurricane Sandy. We felt safe and cocooned here and surprisingly had a good nights sleep. No wonder this house is so popular for weddings - it is elegantly furnished but has a wonderfully homely feel. From the large proportioned rooms is the wonderful view of the gardens (10 acres) and the lake beyond. The breakfasts were the best we have ever had - fresh fruit, freshly baked cakes, muffins, pancakes which melted in the mouth, delicious eggs and bacon. Jane and Tim were the ultimate in hosts. Very caring and attentive and a delight to talk to. We loved our bedroom which was large and extremely comfortable and beautifully furnished in shades of pale green. We will certainly return for another holiday, as soon as possible, and would recommend The Stonehouse most highly.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravellingTs_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ipswich, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2012

This was our first weekend alone without our kids in 4 years so we decided to splurge on this place. It was very very nice and I would have given them more stars except we were mislead about the price of the rooms. If you book this place double check the room rates with Jane. The website that listed their rates (stonehousemanor.com) had old rates and peak season end dates. I was expecting our room to be $235 a night and it was $285 (they changed the end of peak season from Sept 8th to Sept 17th, so our Sept 14th weekend stay was unfortunately the last weekend of summer rates, not the first weekend of fall rates! We stayed 2 nights so our weekend was $100 more than I thought it would be. Had I known this we would have waited a weekend, or just stayed one night. Jane claims they can't edit the website, and I suppose I should has asked the rates when I booked. And I knew none of this until check out either. the place was very nice, the breakfasts were over the top but next time we'll stay at a cheaper hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank kate b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2012 via mobile

This b&b was gorgeous. It was obvious the owners take great pride in the house and grounds. Our room was lovely with water views. There is not much within walking distance but the location is incredibly picturesque and only a short drive from Popham Beach. The breakfast was delicious and the owners were more than happy to accommodate our baby, even providing a bouncy chair.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LilyPip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Phippsburg
7.0 mi away
Newagen Seaside Inn
Newagen Seaside Inn
#1 of 1 in Newagen
207 reviews
9.3 mi away
Ocean Gate Resort
Ocean Gate Resort
#1 of 3 in Southport
347 reviews
10.3 mi away
Beach Cove Waterfront Inn
Beach Cove Waterfront Inn
#4 of 13 in Boothbay Harbor
353 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.6 mi away
Tugboat Inn
Tugboat Inn
#5 of 13 in Boothbay Harbor
435 reviews
11.3 mi away
Residence Inn Bath Brunswick Area
3.9 mi away
Sebasco Harbor Resort
Sebasco Harbor Resort
#1 of 1 in Sebasco Estates
423 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stonehouse Manor at Popham Beach B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stonehouse Manor at Popham Beach B&B

Property: Stonehouse Manor at Popham Beach B&B
Address: 907 Popham Rd, Phippsburg, ME 04562-4710
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maine > Mid Coast Maine > Phippsburg
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Phippsburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The only B&B within walking distance to Popham Beach with ocean, river and lake front water views from all rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Stonehouse Manor at Popham Beach B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stonehouse Manor At Popham Beach B&B Maine/Phippsburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing